

Welcome to the 2022 Outstanding Student Awards Ceremony

Presented by: Laramide Chapter of the Association for Women Geoscientists

Saturday, April 30, 2022



Please visit <u>www.awglaramide.wordpress.com</u> to learn more about AWG and how you can stay involved with the Laramide Chapter.

2022 Outstanding Student Award Recipients

Carly Koppe–Fort Lewis College Nora Wynn– Colorado College **Nicole Salladin** – New Mexico State University **Jenelle Hansen** – New Mexico State University **Jessica Hiatt** – Colorado School of MInes **Meghan McCarroll**—*University of Denver* Krista Carstensen – Casper College Marli Crowther – Adams State University **Sydney Wiedeman** – *Adams State University* Krystiana Graham– Casper College Rayni Lewis – Western Colorado University NES **Chloe Riser** – Western Colorado University - NES **Katherine Thompson** – *University of Colorado* **Stephanie Plaza-Torres** – *University of Colorado Boulder* **Ara Metz** – *University of Northern Colorado* Sarah Hinshaw – Colorado State University **Isabela Arauz** – Colorado State University **Anna Childers** – *University of Northern Colorado* Marissa Muir – University of Wyoming Ellen Polites— University of Wyoming

Program Schedule

4:15 P.M. Food and networking reception

4:45to 4:50 P.M. Welcome by Laramide Chapter *President: Dr. Sharon Bywater-Reyes*

4:50 to 5:05 P.M. Presentation of Awards Outreach Coordinator: Erica Shivers

5:05 to 5:45 P.M. Panelist Discussions with Honored Guest: **Dr. Allison Baker**-Project scientist in the Application Scalability and Performance group at NCAR.

Hannah Peterson- Project Geophysicist at Condor Consulting, Inc.
Katelyn Griffee-Earth Scientist and Environmental Field Technician.
Shannon Wiley-Earth Scientist and Assistant Environmental Scientist at WSP USA
Marlena McConville – Hydrogeologist at Lytle Water Solutions

Remote:

Dr. Beth Wisely-Casper College, Department of Natural Science and Technology **Phd Candidate Danielle Mhaskell-**Marine Biologist Scripps Institute of oceanography **Anna Elgqvist-**Senior Engineer at Lytle Water Solutions, LLC

5:45 to 5:55 P.M. Live Performance: Keren Odinenu

5:55 to 6:00 P.M. Closing Remarks: President: Dr. Sharon Bywater-Reyes

Board

Chapter President: Dr. Sharon Bywater-Reyes, Professor of Environmental

Geoscience at University of Northern Colorado

Outreach Coordinator: Erica Shivers

Treasurer: Dr. Maura Metheny, Hydrogeologist at Geomega

Jon Schwenk,

Secretary: Madi Camp-Dress

Diversity Director: Dr. Elizabeth Williams, Soil Scientist at the USGS in

Colorado

Public Relations Coordinator: Caitlin Mercier, Water Utility Specialist and

Project Specialist, Colorado

Outreach Committee: Rose Borden, Geoscience Data Engineer Sandia

National Laboratories.

Outreach Committee: Sara Leventhal, PhD Candidate at CU Boulder in

Paleontology

Honored Guests

Dr. Mary Gillam, Aided in Founding AWG and former AWG president, expert in the Geology, Geomorphology, and hazards of the Western United States, Retired consultant.

Dr. Debbie Hanneman, Longtime AWG member and activist, Geologic consultant, Whitehall Group, Pioneer Woman in Geoscience