

May 2, 2023

Russell L. Moore, Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Tiffany Beechy, Boulder Faculty Assembly Chair University of Colorado Boulder CO 80309

Dear Provost Moore and Professor Beechy:

On May 4, 2022, you announced the formation of the Faculty Salary Procedures Working Group (FSPWG) and on September 6, 2022 you charged the FSPWG "to identify campus, college, and unit-level procedures and practices that contribute to faculty pay inequity, and to recommend actions to improve these procedures and practices."

Over summer 2022, Andre Grothe, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Planning, assembled a compendium of policy documents from nearly every unit on campus, including bylaws, salary committee procedures, and evaluation guidelines. In Fall 2022, the FSPWG began its work, meeting regularly to review and discuss these documents, and to use them as it considered potential drivers of, as well as strategies for addressing, faculty salary inequity on the CU Boulder campus. During the fall and spring semesters, the FSPWG met as a full Working Group. The FSPWG also divided into three Task Forces: Merit Review Practices; Hiring, Promotion, and Retention; and Salary Auditing Policies and Practices. The Task Forces conducted analyses in their areas, identified core issues, and produced recommendations to address these issues. In Spring 2023, the FSPWG published the first draft of its report, soliciting feedback from faculty across campus, and presenting to various faculty stakeholder groups. This feedback was then integrated by the FSPWG into the final report.

You will find attached the full report compiled by the FSPWG, broken into sections focused on hiring, retention, and promotion, merit review practices, auditing practices, and future work. Within the report, we have identified five essential guiding principles. We also identified 16 core issues that contribute to faculty salary inequity, and have associated recommendations for each.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your commitment to addressing salary faculty inequity, and hope that this report supports that goal. We look forward to seeing work continue in this area, and seeing steps taken that improve equity on our campus.

Sincerely,

The Faculty Salary Procedures Working Group:

Co-Chairs

Daria Kotys-Schwartz, Teaching Professor, Design Center Colorado Co-director, Idea Forge Director, Department of Mechanical Engineering Steve Vanderheiden, Professor, Department of Political Science Group Members
Ken Anderson, Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science
Russell Cropanzano, Professor, Leeds School of Business
Teresa Foley, Teaching Professor and Associate Chair of Undergraduate Affairs, Department of Integrative Physiology
Emily Greenwood, Teaching Associate Professor, Program in Environmental Design
David Hekman, Associate Professor, Leeds School of Business
Margot Kaminski, Associate Professor, Colorado Law
Lorrie Shepard, Professor and Dean emerita, School of Education
Julia Staffel, Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy
Tin Tin Su, Professor, Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
Tammy Sumner, Director, Institute of Cognitive Science, Professor, Department of Computer Science
Michael Thornton, Professor, University Libraries
Erin Willis, Associate Professor, Department of Advertising, Public Relations and Media Design

Co-Conveners

Katherine Eggert, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Planning and Assessment Michele Moses, Vice Provost and Associate Vice Chancellor for Faculty Affairs Ann Schmiesing, Vice Chancellor and Executive Vice Provost for Academic Resource Management