Published: Feb. 4, 2020

The Newton Endowed Chair in Leadership, currently held by Chancellor Philip DiStefano, recently presented the recipients of the 2019-2020 Newton Leadership Student Leaders of the Year Award. This program highlights the impact of leadership education at CU Boulder. By recognizing outstanding students, the Newton Chair rewards exceptional work and highlights leadership programs.

Morgan Krauss was recognized at Macky Auditorium the evening of January 30, 2020 during the marquee event of the Leo Hill Speaker Series. This year’s speaker was Pulitzer Prize winning historian Doris Kearns Goodwin. Morgan is a fourth-year student in the Engineering Leadership Program. She is originally from Cary, Illinois and is pursuing a degree in Mechanical Engineering. Morgan is the founder of Engineers in Medicine “in hopes of combining the analytical thinking of engineering with the empathy and perspective learned through patient relations.” Morgan is known for her tenacity in the face of adversity and her desire to better the lives of those who are challenged by issues of health and wellness.

The CU Boulder Student Leaders of the Year awards recognize those individuals participating in campus leadership programs who have demonstrated:
• Academic excellence and curiosity
• Extraordinary support to and innovation within campus leadership programs
• Exceptional service to the community, either campus or Boulder metro area
• Outstanding character and personal resilience
• Exemplary embodiment of the Colorado Creed