The mission of the Inclusive Culture Council (ICC) is to provide strategic leadership and transparency for cultivating an inclusive, equitable, interculturally competent, and supportive environment in the College of Engineering and Applied Science. The ICC strives to bring justice, equity, diversity and inclusion leaders within the college together for systematic, intentional and integrative planning and to formalize equitable and inclusive practices with established metrics. The council works closely with the college’s representative to the IDEA Council to ensure alignment with the university’s equity, diversity and inclusion overall goals.

The council has the following responsibilities:

  • counsels and makes recommendations to the dean and senior leadership 
  • acts as a catalyst for fostering cultural change within the units, departments and programs, for example by sharing a vision of equity, diversity and inclusion and recommending policy and practice changes 
  • identifies, gathers and openly communicates data outlining the state of equity, diversity and inclusion in CEAS 
  • monitors progress towards justice, equity, diversity and inclusion goals and recommends policies, procedures and accountability for results achieved 
  • amplifies evidence-based strategies to address equity, diversity, inclusion and justice to improve the recruitment, retention and overall culture for underrepresented faculty, staff and students 
  • supports and advises respective units, departments and programs and the college at large on justice, equity, diversity and inclusion actions and activities
  • serves as a communication and collaboration hub for all groups working on equity, diversity and inclusion efforts across the units, departments and programs 

ICC Leadership

PhotoNameContact Information
Amy Moreno-Sherwood Amy Moreno-Sherwood
ICC Council DEI Lead • Director of Inclusive Culture • Acting Director of the BOLD Center
Engineering Administration
Terri Wright Terri Wright
ICC Council Chair • Assistant Dean of Access, Inclusion and Student Programs
Engineering Administration

ICC Members

PhotoNameContact Information
Laura Devendorf Laura Devendorf
Associate Professor, Information Science
ATLAS Institute
Eric Frew Eric Frew
Professor • Associate Chair for Department Affairs • RESEARCH AND ENGINEERING CENTER FOR UNMANNED VEHICLES (RECUV)
Smead Aerospace Engineering Sciences
303-735-1285, 303-735-2116 (lab)
Kassadi Gabriel Kassadi Gabriel
Event Coordinator
Smead Aerospace Engineering Sciences
Mark Hernandez Mark Hernandez
Professor, Registered Professional Engineer (CA)
Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
Amy Javernick-Will Amy Javernick-Will
Nicholas R. and Nancy D. Petry Professor in Construction Engineering and Management
Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
Aju Jegessur Aju Jugessur
Director, Colorado Shared Instrumentation in Nanofabrication and Characterization (COSINC) Facility
Engineering Administration
Andrea Kowalchuk Andrea Kowalchuk
Teaching Assistant Professor
Herbst Program for Engineering, Ethics and Society
Jessica Rush Leeker Jessica Leeker
Faculty Director of Undergraduate Education and ESCEND • Stephen M. Dunn Professor of Engineering Management and Entrepreneurship • Scholar in Residence
Engineering Management Program
Chantel Lehl
Faculty HR Support Coordinator
Computer Science
Claire Monteleoni Claire Monteleoni
Associate Professor • Associate Chair for Inclusive Excellence
Computer Science
Katie Morgan Katie Morgan
Research Accountant
Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
Natasha Ouellette Natasha Ouellette
Engineering Project Consultant
Integrated Teaching and Learning Program
Prasanth Prahladan Prasanth Prahladan
Research Assistant
Computer Science
Fernando Rosario-Ortiz Fernando Rosario-Ortiz
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs for the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences • IDEA Council Representative • Professor
Engineering Administration
303 492 7607
Lou Rutherford Lou Rutherford
Associate Director
Engineering Management Program
Andres Schemel Andres Schemel
Senior Coordinator, Engineering GoldShirt Program
BOLD Center
Wilson Smith Wilson Smith
Associate Professor • Senior Scientist, NREL • RASEI Fellow
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Dana Francesca Stamo Dana Francesca Stamo
Graduate Student
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Janet Tsai Janet Tsai
Assistant Teaching Professor • Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Working Group Chair
Paul M. Rady Mechanical Engineering
Debbie Yeh Debbie Yeh
Area Director
Mechanical Engineering • Student Support & Advising Services
Mindy Zarske Malinda Zarske
Teaching Associate Professor • Associate Program Director
Engineering Plus

ICC Ex-Officio Members

PhotoNameContact Information
vanessa dunn Vanessa Dunn
Director of Analytics, Assessment and Accreditation
Engineering Administration
Ashley West Ashley West
Human Resources Coordinator
Engineering Administration