Economics Building in Side Window

CU Environmental and Resource Economics Workshop


Continue our tradition of excellence by considering a donation to the department. For more information about the department, the CU Foundation, and the support provided, read our brochure.


Fill out an Econ Alumni Update form to update your address or let us know what you've been up to for an upcoming newsletter.


Faculty in Focus

Commerce by a Frozen Sea Native Americans and the European Fur Trade CoverAnn CarlosCommerce by a Frozen Sea: Native Americans and the European Fur Trade by Professor Ann M. Carlos (and Frank D. Lewis) is both an economic history of the eighteenth-century fur trade and a cross-cultural study of a century of contact between North American native peoples and Europeans in the Hudson Bay lowlands. What emerges from this detailed exploration is a story of two equal partners involved in a mutually beneficial trade. Indeed, Commerce by a Frozen Sea shows that natives, like Europeans, were an industrious people who achieved a standard of living above that of most workers in Europe. Although they later fell behind, the eighteenth century was, for Native Americans, a golden age.

Edward Morey and his co-author Kathleen Rossmann
(PhD '99), from Birmingham-Southern College, have won the 2004 Werner Pommerehne Prize for the best paper to appear in the Journal of Cultural Economics over the two years 2002 and 2003.  The prize was for the paper “Using Stated-Preference Questions to Investigate Variations in Willingness to Pay for Preserving Marble Monuments: Classic Heterogeneity, Random Parameters, and Mixture Models”, vol. 27, 215-229, November 2003.

Solutions for the World's Biggest Problems: Costs and Benefits (Cambridge University Press, 2007) faculty contributions:

Professor Greenwood's chapter considers key issues involved in domestic and international migration of workers. He noted the substantial gains that accrue to migrant workers and the source and destination countries as well, while discussing also the costs to native workers.

Professor Maskus's chapter analyzes potential costs and benefits to developing countries of significantly reforming their intellectual property rights systems. Both chapters stressed the analytical complexities and considerable uncertainty involved in computing cost-benefit ratios. The authors also pointed to potential policy reforms that could emphasize net benefits.

Frank HsiaoCongratulations! Professor Frank Hsiao!

In May 2007, Professor Frank Hsiao was unanimously voted Professor Emeritus Hsiao by the CU Boulder Economics Department Faculty. Although Professor Hsiao is officially retired, he has over a dozen research projects underway and continues to advise graduate students. This year we celebrate over four decades of Professor Hsiao's outstanding scholarship, teaching and service, and look forward to his continuing contributions as professor emeritus.

James MarkusenCongratulations to Professor James Markusen who has been designated a University of Colorado Distinguished Professor.

This prestigious title is extended to recognize his outstanding contributions to economics and high degree of international visibility. Professor Markusen has demonstrated accomplishments in exemplary teaching, distinguished scholarship and exceptional service. He joins a select group of faculty members who are leaders in their respective fields as attested to by national or international recognition and significant public service achievements. Inside CU–News Release



Professor Keith Maskus
calls for U.S. patent reforms to spur innovations and global competition.

Click here for more information


Featured and Profiled Faculty

Yongmin Chen Yongmin Chen’s research was featured in the Colorado Arts and Sciences Magazine.
Keith Maskus Keith Maskus was profiled in the CU Faculty Staff E/Newsletter.
Terra McKinnish Terra McKinnish's research was featured in the Colorado Arts & Sciences Magazine.
Nicholas Flores Professor Nicholas Flores is featured in the Inside CU's faculty profile series. For more information, click here.
Chuck Howe Chuck Howe is among those honored by Governor Ritter. And Chuck Howe becomes an AERE Fellow. For more information, click here.

Koch Fellowship Program Seminar

The Koch Fellowship Program in Public Policy sponsored a seminar April 1, 2010 where the Koch Fellows presented the results of their research projects. The fellows included: Kayla Berg, Andrew Crowm, Mark Ernster, Magda Garbowski, Blake Harlan, Lyrana Hughes. The program was directed by Professor Barry Poulson.

50th Anniversary Celebration Photo Gallery
October 27 & 28, 2006 the 50th Anniversary Celebration was held. Check out the photo gallery for activities and the celebration.