Published: April 13, 2017

The 20th annual awards program recognizes outstanding individuals and departments who demonstrate a sincere commitment to transforming the CU-Boulder campus into a living laboratory for sustainability.  Awardees exhibit innovation that directly reduces the university's ecological footprint, enhances social cohesion and equity in the campus community, and/ or integrates sustainability into the culture of Boulder and our local communities.

This year, there are seven campus sustainability awardees:

  • Williams Village North Grey Water System, Partnerships for Sustainability
  • Recreation Center, Partnerships for Sustainability
  • Tandean Rustandy, Outstanding Alumni
  • Rosa Hernandez, Individual Achievement
  • Lisa Jetton, Individual Achievement
  • Monica Rowand, Student Leadership
  • Village Commons Dining and Community Center (VCDCC) Bio-Digester Project, Special Recognition

There are three awards for the Green Labs program:awards

  • Joe Dragavon for Individual Achievement
  • Jennifer Ryan for Individual Achievement
  • Jacqueline Richardson for Individual Achievement

And six departments have earned Green Office certification:

  • President's Leadership Class
  • Career Services
  • College of Media, Communication, and Information
  • Office of Admissions
  • Center of the American West
  • Buff OneCard Office


Provost Moore, Vice Chancellor Gonzales, and Vice Chancellor Kang will present the awards. 


The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, April 20th, 12:00-1:30pm in UMC Glenn Miller Ballroom in conjunction with the Campus Sustainability Summit (9am-12pm). You can learn more at:


To attend the awards ceremony and/or the Summit, please register by April 17th here:


To learn more about the campus sustainability awards program, please visit: