CU Upward Bound students are recruited from a Target Area comprised of six American Indian reservation communities, each of which has historical tribal ties to the state of Colorado. In order to join the CUUB program, potential CUUB students must reside within the Target Area and/or attend one of the following high schools:

Jemez Pueblo  

  • Jemez Valley HS - Jemez Pueblo, NM
  • Walatowa Charter HS - Ponderosa, NM

Navajo Reservation

  • Rock Point Community HS - Rock Point, AZ
  • Shiprock HS - Shiprock, NM
  • Tohatchi HS - Tohatchi, NM
  • San Juan HS - Blanding, UT

Pine Ridge Reservation

  • Little Wound HS - Kyle, SD
  • Oelrichs HS - Oelrichs, SD
  • Red Cloud Indian HS - Pine Ridge SD

Ramah Navajo Community

  • Pine Hill HS - Pine Hill, NM

Southern Ute Reservation

  • Ignacio HS - Ignacio, CO

Ute Mountain Ute Community

  • Montezuma-Cortez HS - Cortez, CO


Students who have never attended any of the above schools and reside outside of the Target Area definied by these communities are not eligible to apply for CU Upward Bound. See our Eligibility page for more details.