Published: April 29, 2019

The National Academy of Engineering has elected Ann and H.J. Smead Aerospace Engineering Sciences professor Penina Axelrad and alumnus Dereje Agonafer (AeroEngr’72) as new members in 2019. Axelrad is the Joseph T. Negler Professor and immediate past chair of Smead Aerospace at CU Boulder. Agonafer is the Jenkins Garrett Professor in mechanical and aerospace engineering at the University of Texas Arlington.