The Center for Media, Religion and Culture serves as the global secretariat for the biennial international conferences on Media, Religion and Culture. This series of meetings was initiated by an invitational meeting held in Uppsala, Sweden in 1994. An international public meeting in 1996 in Boulder, Colorado, launched these as a regular series. That conference, attended by over 200 scholars and interested individuals from throughout the world, was directed by Stewart Hoover and Lynn Schofield Clark and was the first major effort of what subsequently became the Center for Media, Religion and Culture. It was followed by the Third Conference on Media, Religion and Culture directed by Jolyon Mitchell at the University of Edinburgh in 1999.

The fourth to six meetings were supported by a grant from the Schichtung Porticus Foundation of Amsterdam.

Read more about the conference series in an FAQ for conference directors.

The International Society for Media, Religion, and Culture

At the 2008 meeting, strong sentiments were expressed by participants concerning the value of an ongoing scholarly organization or association for the study of media, religion and culture. The steering committee which then oversaw the conference series took this under advisement and began exploring options and taking input. A public forum on incorporation took place in Toronto. Following that, the steering committee took the advice and input of these two meetings and proceeded to form an association, formally incorporating it. Following a strong sentiment expressed at Toronto, the association is being called the International Society for Media, Religion, and Culture (ISMRC). Anyone wishing to give input to the Committee as it proceeds can be in touch with any member of the committee (now the Board of the ISMRC), listed below.

Future meetings of the biennial ISMRC series

The 11th International Conference on Media, Religion and Culture will be held at the University of Colorado Boulder August 8-11, 2018. The Call for Papers can be found here.

Past meetings

The 10th International Conference on Media, Religion and Culture was held in Seoul, Korea from Aug. 1-4, 2016.

The Ninth International Conference on Media, Religion and Culture was held in Canterbury, UK, from Aug. 4-7, 2014. Keynote speakers included Professor Jonathan Walton (Harvard), author of Watch This! The Ethics and Aesthetics of Black Televangelism, and Professor Kathryn Lofton (Yale), author of Oprah: the Gospel of an Icon, with an address also given by the inaugural president of the society, Professor Stewart Hoover (Colorado). More information is available on the conference website.

The Eighth International Conference on Media, Religion and Culture was held at Anadolou University in Eskisehir, Turkey, from July 8-12, 2012. It was directed by Dr. Nezih Orhon and featured a post-conference historic and religious sites tour.

The Seventh International Conference on Media, Religion, and Culture was held at Ryerson University, Toronto, from Aug. 12-16, 2010. It was directed by Dr. Joyce Smith, and brought together an international cohort of scholars and producers and featured a series of compelling plenaries.

The Sixth International Conference on Media, Religion, and Culture was held at the Methodist University of Sao Paulo from Aug. 11-14, 2008. It was directed by Dr. Magali de Naciemento Cunha and brought together scholars, producers, and activists from over twenty countries.

The Fifth International Conference on Media, Religion, and Culture was directed by Alf Linderman (who also directed the first conference in 1994) and Mia Löveheim) and was hosted by the Sigtuna Stiftelsen in Sigtuna, Sweden. The dates were July 6-9, 2006, and information is still online here [link]. Attending were over 100 scholars and experts on religion and religious change.

The Fourth International Conference on Media, Religion, and Culture took place Sept. 1-4, 2004 in Louisville, Kentucky. It was directed by Dr. John Ferré and co-sponsored by the University of Louisville, the International Study Commission on Media, Religion, and Culture, and the Louisville Institute.

Between the third and fourth CMRC meetings, the University of Jyväskyla, Finland held an important parallel conference titled Sacred Media (July 10-12, 2003), that fit into the goals and continuity of CMRC efforts. Directed by Dr. Johanna Sumiala-Seppänen, this meeting expanded the network of scholars of media and religion through a focus on technology and journalism.

Other international meetings have also been associated with the CMRC series. Among the most prominent was the Tehran International Conference on Religion and Media, held Nov. 8-10, 2005 and co-sponsored by Tehran University and the Islamic Republic of Iran Broadcasting University. It was co-directed by Prof. Sayyed Hosseini, Dr. Abosallam Javadi Yeganeh, and Dr. Hamid Abdollahyan.

Books and publications

Literally hundreds of books, articles, essays, and other expressions have resulted from these conferences. In addition, several of the CMRC conferences have been represented in book form. These include, from the first conference, Rethinking Media, Religion, and Culture (edited by Stewart Hoover and Knut Lundby), Sage, 1997; from the second, Practicing Religion in the Age of the Media (edited by Stewart Hoover and Lynn Schofield Clark), Columbia University Press, 2002; and from the third conference, Mediating Religion: Studies in Media, Religion, and Culture (edited by Jolyon Mitchell and Sophia Marriage), T&T Clark, 2003.

Board of Directors

New members as well as officers are elected each two years by majority vote of the Board. Terms are for four years (two conferences) and are staggered. There are nine voting members (including the President). Members may be re-elected to a second term. The Vice President serves for two years and acts as Conference Program Coordinator, assuming the Presidency for two years at its conclusion. The immediate past President serves on the board as an ex-Officio member and is in charge of nominations during that term.



Lynn Schofield Clark, President (to 2016)

Mia Lövheim, Vice President

Mara Einstein, Treasurer

(Secretary vacant)

Stewart Hoover, Past President

Serving until 2016:

Mara Einstein, Johanna Sumiala, Anne Hardy, Nezih Orhon

Serving Until 2018:

Heidi Campbell, Diane Winston, Pauline Cheong [to be elected to fulfill President’s term, 2016]

**For further information on the election process and the staggered terms of the board, review the ISMRC Election Matrix 2014