Professor Marvin Caruthers

2 CU Boulder faculty named 2017 National Academy of Inventors fellows

Jan. 9, 2018

The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) named two CU Boulder faculty members to its class of fellows for 2017. Distinguished Professor Marvin Caruthers of CU Boulder’s Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry was honored for his pioneering contributions to the chemical synthesis of DNA and RNA, making it possible to decode and encode genes and genomes.Read more »
Olester Benson

Alumnus wins prestigious national chemistry award

Dec. 4, 2017

Olester Benson has been named the recipient of the 2017 Percy Julian Award.Read more »
Professor Hubert Yin working with a student in lab

Arthritis, autoimmune disease discovery could lead to new treatments

Dec. 1, 2017

CU Boulder researchers have developed a potent, drug-like compound that could someday revolutionize treatment of such diseases by inhibiting a protein instrumental in prompting the body to start attacking its own tissue.Read more »
David Jonas

Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics

Dec. 1, 2017

Professor David Jonas has been awarded the 2018 Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics for his notable contributions to the field of molecular spectroscopy and dynamics.Read more »
Steven George

Dr. Steven George recipient of the John A. Thornton Memorial Award and Lecture

Sept. 27, 2017

Steven George was awarded the John A. Thornton Memorial Award and Lecture for seminal contributions to understanding, development and applications of atomic layer deposition.Read more »
Tarek Sammakia

The Best Should Teach

Aug. 22, 2017

The Best Should Teach Initiative strives to acknowledge excellence in teaching and academic leadership. The initiative is managed by the Graduate Teacher Program in coordination with the School of Education, the College of Arts and Sciences, and the Graduate School at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Lindley and Marguerite Stiles established the initiative in 1996 to promulgate the message that “The Best Should Teach.”Read more »

Microbe may explain evolutionary origins of DNA folding

Aug. 11, 2017

In the cells of palm trees, humans, and some single-celled microorganisms, DNA gets bent the same way. Now, by studying the 3-D structure of proteins bound to DNA in microbes called Archaea, CU Boulder and Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) researchers have turned up surprising similarities to DNA packing in more complicated organisms.Read more »
Natalie Ahn

Distinguished biochemist elected president of national society

July 18, 2017

Ahn, a professor of distinction in the department of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Colorado Boulder, was elected president of The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology last year and began her term as president-elect in July.Read more »

Biochemist, philosopher join American Academy of Arts and Sciences

July 18, 2017

CU Boulder philosopher Alison Jaggar and biochemist Karolin Luger are among 228 new members of the academy, which includes some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, business people and philanthropic leaders, the academy said in a statement.Read more »
Oana Luca has been awarded an ignition grant from the ACS Green Chemistry Institute for her cross-coupling research. Photo by Cay Leytham-Powell.

Research could zap heavy metals out of drug production

July 18, 2017

Oana Luca, an assistant professor in the Chemistry and Biochemistry Department at CU Boulder, has been awarded an ignition grant from the ACS Green Chemistry Institute for her work attempting to make the manufacture of pharmaceutical drugs both quicker and cheaper by innovating an old chemical procedure for new means.Read more »