book cover

Voices from Larung Gar: Shaping Tibetan Buddhism for the Twenty-First Century 2021.04.10

CAS Event Saturday, April 10 US Time Zones: 3-5:30pm PDT | 4-6:30pm MDT | 5-7:30pm CDT | 6-8:30pm EDT Register in advance for Zoom Webinar The 2.5 hour symposium features Anam Thubten and David Germano in dialogue about Larung Gar, one of the largest Buddhist institution on the Tibetan plateau. This will be followed by a panel of contributors to the ground-breaking anthology, Voices from Larung Gar, addressing innovative approaches...
logo

PocoDisco: On the Politics of Postcolonial Sonic Space Making 2021.05.05

CAS Event Wednesday, May 5 at 4:30pm MDT Register for the ZOOM Meeting here Part of the Sound and Noise in Asia Speaker Series. In this paper I trace a lineage of conditions generalizable as “racial melancholia” (including “diasporic melancholia” and “postcolonial melancholia”) in order to focus on the relationship between melancholia and mania. What I term “melancholic mania” describes performative, public, world-making cultural productions, those ephemeral pop-up spaces that...