

BFA **Bylaws Committee** Notice of Motion Motion to change the BFA Standing Rules Regarding At-Large Representative Membership & Eligibility BFA-M-4-112822

Whereas the Boulder Faculty Assembly Standing Rules language regarding Assembly At-Large Representatives currently reflects an apportionment between faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences and from other Colleges that is out of proportion to the actual distribution of faculty across the campus;

Whereas the current restrictions on BFA representatives from individual units and colleges prevents faculty who are willing and able to provide valuable service to the BFA from doing so;

Whereas the titles for instructors are in the process of being changed to Teaching Professor (of various ranks);

Be it Resolved that the BFA Standing Rules language in Article I. Membership, Section 1, d) be revised

From:

"Fourteen at-large representatives shall be elected by and from members of the Faculty Senate for three-year staggered terms. No more than six of these members shall be from the College of A&S and no more than six shall be from any other School, College, Institute, or the Boulder Campus Libraries. Four of the at-large seats shall be reserved for Instructors, but no more than six shall be held by Instructors."

To:

"Fourteen at-large representatives shall be elected by and from members of the Faculty Senate for three-year staggered terms. No more than nine of these members shall be from the College of A&S and no more than six shall be from any other School, College, Institute, or the Boulder Campus Libraries. Four of the at-large seats shall be reserved for Teaching/Clinical faculty, but no more than seven shall be held by Teaching/Clinical faculty. No more than three members from any type of recognized academic unit may serve at one time as at-large representatives to the Assembly.

Submitted by the Bylaws Committee: November 28, 2022 Reviewed by the BFA Executive Committee: November 28, 2022 Submitted to the BFA General Assembly: December 1, 2022 Scheduled for Assembly vote on: February 2, 2023