Photo of faculty sitting at a table discussing the honor codeDuring the 2018 spring semester a new, interim, Honor Code process was implemented to review and resolve allegations of student honor code violations. The process was formally approved by Provost Moore in July 2019 and is now housed in the Office of Student Conduct and Conflict Resolution (OSCCR). The new process utilizes an Honor Code Advisory Board (HCAB), which is comprised of the Hearing Officer from OSCCR along with four faculty and a pool of students. . A minimum of two faculty and two students are present at each hearing along with the SCCR Honor Code Hearing Officer. The faculty and students who serve on the HCAB are selected annually.

The annual process starts with BFA representatives informing their constituents each fall of the seat openings. Eligible faculty members submit a statement of interest and BFA Executive Committee members then select the final faculty members. Student members are selected by the OSCCR office with input whenever possible by CUSG and GPSG. The new process requires that a graduate student must serve on any cases involving graduate students. The new Honor Code process is more efficient, diverse, and properly representative of all potential parties involved in an Honor Code dispute.

    AY21-22 HCAB Faculty seats are now open. Please fill out the Statement of Interest and send it to: by September 13, 2021.

    These seats are open to all eligible faculty senate members and will be voted on by the BFA Executive Committee. 

    Visit the Honor Code website for more information:

    The below faculty members served for both AY19-20 and 20-21 (due to the BFA COVID additional year resolution). Please join us in thanking them for their service:

    • Terri Wilson (Education)
    • Myles Osborne (History)
    • Shivakant Mishra (Computer Science)
    • Heidi Bustamante (Integrative Physiology)