2018 BFA Nomination and Election Information

BFA Officer Election Information

April 11, 2018

Dear Members of the BFA: 
During the Assembly meeting of May 3rd, the BFA will elect three officers—Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary: nominations are open now for all three positions; nominations will close at midnight on Wednesday, April 18th.  

Who can make a nomination? Any BFA member may make a nomination, including outgoing members, continuing members, and newly-elected/appointed members.  Self-nominations are welcome. A brief statement from each nominee is requested, and will be posted at the BFA Elections page.
Officers’ Duties: Nominees must be willing to attend Executive Committee meetings. Executive Committee meetings are held every Monday during regular semesters, from 4:00 to 5:30 p.m. Special meetings are sometimes held during semester breaks.  Nominees must also be willing to perform their additional duties:

— The BFA Chair is also a member of the System-wide Faculty Council Executive Committee, and is expected to attend both the executive and regular meetings of the Faculty Council, which are held monthly at 1800 Grant Street in Denver.
— The BFA Vice Chair is also Chair of the BFA Bylaws Committee, which meets weekly.
— The BFA Secretary is also Chair of the BFA Nominations and Elections Committee and a member of the Bylaws Committee. 

The pool of potential candidates is composed of all newly elected/appointed BFA members, re-elected/re-appointed BFA members, and continuing BFA members. The list of candidates is posted below. Please submit your nominations by midnight on Wednesday, April 18th. Please also plan to attend the meeting on May 3rd: you must be present in person to cast your vote.
Feel free to contact me with questions or concerns at: vicki.grove@colorado.edu
Best Wishes,
Vicki Grove 
BFA Secretary

2018 BFA Officer Nominees (current as of 4/19/18):

BFA Chair:
Robert Ferry, History Statement

BFA Vice-Chair
Vicki Grove, Germanic & Slavic Languages and Literature Statement

BFA Secretary:
Adam Norris, Applied Math


At-Large Arts & Sciences Seats

1. Cathy Comstock, Farrand Residential Academic Program (RAP)

2. Scott Parker, Physics (PHYS)

At-Large Other Units Seats

1. Shelly Miller, Mechanical Engineering (MCEN)

2. David Hekman, Organizational Leadership and Information Analytics (BUSN)


    -At-large Seats Campus-wide nomination deadline:  midnight on Friday, March 23

    -At-large Seats Campus-wide electronic ballot delivery:  Monday, March 26

    -At-large Electronic ballot due:  midnight on Wednesday, April 4 -Nominations for BFA Officers: Due by April 18 (email bfa@colorado.edu)

    -Election of BFA officers:  May 3, 2018 - General Assembly meeting

    -Election of BFA members to BFA Committees: Fall 2018