Aerospace becomes the first named department at CU Boulder.
Department Update | Winter 2017

A major gift from passionate CU Boulder supporters Ann Smead and her husband Michael Byram will strengthen Colorado’s aerospace economy and accelerate our department's already strong academics and research.

With support totaling more than $15 million, CU Boulder is naming the Ann and H.J. Smead Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences in honor of Ann and H.J. “Joe” Smead, an engineering alumnus, industry executive and Ann’s husband prior to his passing in 2003. >> Read More

Some high school students seem to have their entire lives already mapped out. Christine Reilly was not one of them -- picking a college major was not easy. Now, as a CU Boulder Smead Aerospace junior and Norlin Scholar, she cannot imagine herself anywhere else.

In many ways, engineering was an obvious choice. She grew up in Silicon Valley and is the daughter of two software engineers. However, it took a wish, or more accurately, WISH, the Woman in STEM High School program, to put her on the aerospace track. >> Read More

Lisa Hardaway photo

Lisa Hardaway, an industry trailblazer and active CU Boulder aerospace alumna has died. She was 50 years old.

A 20-year veteran of Ball Aerospace, she played critical roles on projects that advanced our knowledge of the universe – including the first ever close up photos of Pluto, taken by NASA’s New Horizons space probe.

Her team developed ‘Ralph’, the visible and near-infrared light telescope and camera system on New Horizons. >> Read More

Scheeres Elected to National Academy
Congratulations to distinguished professor Dan Scheeres, who has been inducted into the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest honors for engineers. Scheeres is being recognized for his pioneering work on the motion of bodies in strongly perturbed environments such as near asteroids and comets. Read More
Undergrads Ace AIAA Competition
Aerospace senior design team ELSA earned first place at the AIAA International SciTech Forum. The group designed a proof-of-concept Europa lander for Ball Aerospace.  The nine-member team previously won an AIAA regional event, and was profiled in the summer alumni newsletter.

Faculty Awards

Kristine Larson has been awarded an honorary doctorate from the Chalmers University of Technology. The Gothenburg, Sweden university is recognizing Larson in for her groundbreaking research using GPS signals to measure soil moisture, snow depth, vegetation, and sea level.

Larson has also received a Humboldt Research Award in recognition of her past accomplishments in research and teaching. Honorees receive a monetary gift and an invitation to undertake prolonged research in collaboration with colleagues in Germany.

Hanspeter Schaub is the new editor-in-chief of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets. Schaub succeeds fellow CU Boulder aerospace faculty member Bobby Braun, who was recently named dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science.

Jeffrey Forbes is the 2017 International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy Shen Kuo Award recipient for Interdisciplinary Achievements. The association is recognizing Forbes for his achievements in studying “the upper atmosphere environments of Earth, Mars, and other planets; coupling of these environments to lower altitudes and to solar variability; geomagnetic storm effects on satellite drag variability; the vertical propagation of tides and planetary waves in planetary atmospheres, and their electrodynamic and chemical effects."

The Argonne Leadership Computing Facility selected a research proposal by Kenneth Jansen as one of the first ten projects for the Aurora Supercomputer. Aurora is a “massively parallel, manycore Intel-Cray” supercomputer expected to go online in 2018. Jansen’s research will use unprecedented high-resolution fluid dynamics simulations to model dynamic flow control over airfoil surfaces at realistic flight conditions and to model bubbly flow of coolant in nuclear reactors

Kurt Maute and Alireza Doostan have received a three-year, $2.4 million award from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency for "Adaptive Multi-Resolution Level-Set Topology Optimization Framework."

Jeffrey Thayer has been awarded a patent (#9,476,980) for the development of a new lidar technique to measure shallow water depths and map submerged objects at a resolution 50 times greater than traditional lidar systems.

Allie Anderson and Torin Clark were selected to attend and present at the "Forum for New Leaders in Space Science," hosted by the National Academies. The event was held in Beijing in December.

Student Awards

Hossein Honarvar, PhD student, has been selected as the winner of the Teets Family Endowed Doctoral Fellowship. This fellowship is awarded to one PhD student in the college every 1-2 years for work in “Micro/Nano Systems in Engineering and Life Sciences.”

Undergraduates Matthew Hurst and Christine Reilly have been recognized by the AIAA / Aviation Week 2017 "Tomorrow's Engineering Leaders: The 20 Twenties" awards program. This marks the fourth year in a row CU Boulder aerospace has had multiple students named to the list.

Joseph Hughes and Nicola Baresi, both PhD students, were each awarded a John V. Breakwell award to attend the 27th AAS/AIAA Space Flight Mechanics Meeting, held last month in San Antonio.

Federico Gasperini, PhD student, received the Young Scientist Award for 2017 from the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy.



Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences | University of Colorado Boulder
303-735-4900 |

429 UCB University of Colorado Boulder 80309