New aerospace building breaks ground.
Department Update | Fall 2017
Ceremonial groundbreaking for the new building.

Construction is underway on a new 144,000-square-foot aerospace engineering building, following a groundbreaking ceremony this fall brought hundreds of alumni, students, and industry representatives to campus, with even spacesuit-clad mascot, Chip, turning one of the first shovels-full of dirt for the project.

The state of Colorado is a hub of the nation’s aerospace industry, and the new facility, slated to open in... >> Read More

Jen Uchida

Jen Uchida is flying high above the Earth aboard the latest Gulfstream jet, the G600. The 2004 BS/MS aerospace graduate isn't the typical passenger for this type of plane – she is not a high-powered corporate executive or well-known public figure, but then again, this is not a typical Gulfstream.

On this trip, there are no flight attendants or plush interior accoutrements, because this is one of the first times the G600 has ever been airborne. The plane is undergoing required testing to earn its FAA airworthiness certificate. That's where Uchida comes in. >> Read More

Amber Bishop standing in front of a military trainer jet.

Amber Bishop may still be an undergraduate, but she is already working on building up the next generation of aerospace engineers. The CU Boulder aerospace senior is focused on bringing more high school students into the field and helping current college students excel.

“It’s important young kids know it’s not weird to be an engineer,” Bishop says. “I want to inspire people to pursue STEM degrees because the...>> Read More

Student Awards

Apollo Astronaut Presents Scholarship to Undergrad

Christine Reilly and Al WordenChristine Reilly has been awarded a $10,000 scholarship from the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. The organization was founded by the Mercury 7 astronauts to promote US leadership in science and technology.

Reilly was formally presented the award by Apollo 15 command module pilot Al Worden in an October ceremony on campus.

Graduate students Katya Arquilla and Christine Escobar have each received Women Forward in Technology Scholarships. The program, created by a group of startup companies, seeks to honor exceptional women and grow their ranks in STEM careers.

Joanna Fulton and Maria del Mars Col MargenetJoanna Fulton and Maria del Mars Col Margenet have each been selected as 2017 Amelia Earhart Fellows. The program, by Zonta International, is a scholarship awarded annually to 35 talented women, pursuing doctoral degrees in aerospace-related fields.

Brian BreitschPhD student Brian Breitsch and his co-authors earned a Best Paper award from the Annual Institute of Navigation GNSS+ meeting in the Atmospheric Sciences and Space Applications session. A second paper also co-authored by Breitsch received a Best Paper Award in the GNSS Resilience Technologies session.

Markus GeissMarkus Geiss received the Department Graduate Award for Professional Service.

Jordan Dixon and Margaret Rybak received the Department Graduate Teaching Assistant Award.

Dimitri Krattiger and Nicola Baresi earned the Department Graduate Research Award.


Faculty Awards

Penina Axelrad is a co-recipient of the ELP Excellence in Leadership Award. The Excellence in Leadership Program is a CU-system-wide effort to increase academic and administrative excellence. The award honors a program graduate who has shown exemplary leadership at the university.

Eric FrewEric Frew was selected as the faculty director for CU Engineering's Autonomous Systems Interdisciplinary Research Theme, which seeks to bolster excellence in this field by capitalizing on all of the talent focused on this area across the College and providing more resources for interdepartmental research.

John Evans has been named a 2017 Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researcher for being among the top 1% worldwide in computer science citations in the Web of Science.

Donna Gerren has been awarded the title of Teaching Professor in the College of Engineering and Applied Science. This honor is reserved for individuals who have held the rank of senior instructor for at least three years and have a record of distinction in teaching, service and leadership.

Mahmoud HusseinMahmoud Hussein received a Provost's Faculty Achievement Award for Tenured Faculty in recognition of his research on thermal conductivity and the discovery of the concept of a nanophononic metamaterial.

Delores Knipp Delores Knipp spoke at the Department of Defense (DoD) Science, Tech, & Innovation Exchange (STIx) conference in August. The annual event showcases projects across the DoD spectrum.

Kristine LarsonA team of researchers led by Kristine Larson have been honored with a 2017 Governor's Award for High-Impact Research for a joint NOAA/CU Boulder/UCAR effort utilizing GPS reflections to study the water cycle.

Jade MortonJade Morton was the keynote speaker at the International Technical Symposium on Navigation and Timing Conference, held in November in Toulouse, France.

Hanspeter SchaubHanspeter Schaub has been awarded the AIAA/ASEE J. Leland Atwood Award in recognition of his “innovation, elegance, dedication, enthusiasm, and impact as an aerospace educator.”

Dan ScheeresDan Scheeres and his former student, Zubin Olikara (AeroEngr PhD '16), earned the Space Flight Mechanics Best Paper award at the 2017 AAS/AIAA Space Flight Mechanics Meeting in San Antonio, Texas. 

Staff Award

Sarah MelssenSarah Melssen has been selected as winner of the Outstanding Staff Award from the College of Engineering and Applied Science. The recognition is given annually to one individual among all staff members in the college.


Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences | University of Colorado Boulder
303-735-4900 |

429 UCB University of Colorado Boulder 80309