The Geological Sciences program is a research-oriented department that offers individually designed graduate programs. As such, the department does not have a formal program of rigidly defined courses leading to the MS or PhD in geological sciences but offers the following areas of concentration: Cosmochemistry & Planetary Geology, Earth Science Education, Economic & Energy Resources, Geobiology & Astrobiology, Geochemistry, Geochronology, Thermochronology, Geologic Time, Geodynamics, Geophysics, Remote Sensing, Geomorphology & Cryosphere, Global Change, Hydrology & Hydrogeology, Natural Hazards, Paleoclimate & Paleoceanography, Paleontology & Paleobiology, Petrology & Mineralogy, Sedimentology & Stratigraphy, Structure & Tectonics.

Research is global in scope with faculty working on every continent and many ocean basins on Earth. Our department also capitalizes on the proximity of the campus to the natural laboratory of Colorado and the western U.S. A number of research centers and institutes are affiliated with the department, including the Cooperative Institute for Environmental Research (CIRES), the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics (LASP), the Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR), the Center for Astrobiology, the Energy and Minerals Applied Research Center (EMARC) and the University Museum. Related areas of study are geography, astrophysical and planetary sciences, atmospheric and oceanic sciences, physics and geophysics, ecology and evolutionary biology and environmental engineering.

Geological Sciences accepts new students in Fall semesters, only. There is no Spring admissions cycle for this program.

Geological Sciences site
GRE not required
Fall: December 1 (International), December 15 (Domestic)