The Open Educational Resources Advisory Committee was formed in April and announced on May 10, 2018. Faculty, staff and students comprise the committee, charged by CU Boulder Provost Russell Moore to find ways to reduce the financial burden on students for course materials and textbooks. The committee will make recommendations regarding how to allocate $1 million—pledged by Chancellor Phil DiStefano in his State of the Campus speech in the fall of 2017—to fund a transition toward more affordable course materials. The committee’s report will be due to the provost on Oct. 1, 2018.


Committee Members

  • Leslie Reynolds, Interim Dean of University Libraries, Chair
  • ​Troy Fossett, CUSG President of Internal Affairs / David Kidd, CUSG President of Internal Affairs (incoming), Co-chair
  • Brian Groves, Executive Director, Auxiliary Services – CU Book Store
  • Aisha Jackson, Associate Director of the Academic Technology Applications Program, Office of Information Technology
  • Mike Klymkowsky, Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Chris Koehler, Associate Faculty Director, Space Minor/College of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Catherine Milburn, Senior Instructor and Teaching Professor, Leeds School of Business
  • Pramila Patel, ICT Accessibility Program Manager, Office of Information Technology
  • Geoffrey Rubinstein, Director of Independent Learning, Continuing Education
  • Madeline Sembrat, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Budget and Fiscal Planning
  • Caroline Sinkinson, Associate Professor/Head of Teaching and Learning, University Libraries
  • Tamara Sumner, Professor/Director of the Institute of Cognitive Science, College of Engineering and Applied Science