Economics Building in Side Window

CU Environmental and Resource Economics Workshop


Continue our tradition of excellence by considering a donation to the department. For more information about the department, the CU Foundation, and the support provided, read our brochure.


Fill out an Econ Alumni Update form to update your address or let us know what you've been up to for an upcoming newsletter.


Chuck HoweProfessor Charles W. (Chuck) Howe

Chuck Howe Elected Fellow of the Association
of Environmental and Resource Economists

At the January, 2008 annual meeting of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists (AERE), it was announced that Chuck Howe had been elected Fellow of the Association. AERE is the leading professional organization of economists in the sub-field of natural resource and environmental economics. Chuck was commended for his pioneering work in the economic analysis of water development and management, both in the U.S. and in developing countries. His books on natural resource economics and benefit-cost analysis were long the standard graduate texts in those fields.

Also elected as Fellows were Daniel Bromley at Wisconsin, Gardner Brown of the University of Washington, Kenneth McConnell of the University of Maryland, Kathleen Segerson of the University of Connecticut and David Zilberman of the University of California at Berkeley.

Charles W. (Chuck) Howe stands with Allen Kneese, John Krutilla and Wally Oates among the earliest active researchers in our field. He has played a crucial role in defining the key issues in water resource economics and has been a champion of water research and policy. Under his direction, the Water Resources Program at Resources for the Future began exploring topics remarkable in breadth ranging over domestic, agricultural and industrial withdrawal use and transportation in situ use. With a distinguished career spanning over 40 years he has produced major and important works covering many topics in water resource economics including transboundary water issues, water pricing, water marketing, valuation, property rights and privatization. Howe's book Natural Resource Economics stands as the first effort to develop an integrated treatment of the literature for a graduate audience. As a mentor, his generosity and dedication is enormous. He has played a major role in encouraging young scholars in their professional development. Among his distinguished appointments, Howe has served as chair of the Committee on Privatization of Water Services in the United States for the Water Science and Technology Board of the National Research Council, 1999-2002. He was also the lead author on Water Resources for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), Working Group II, 1998-2001. An early member of AERE, Howe served on the AERE Board and as AERE president from 1989-1991.

Influential Publications:
"Water Transfers and Their Impacts: Lessons from Three Colorado Water Markets" (with Christopher Goemans), Journal of the American Water Resources Association, 39 (5), pp. 1055-1065, October 2003.

Natural Resource Economics: Issues, Analysis, and Policy. New York: John Wiley and Sons, 1979.

"The Impact of Price on Residential Water Demand and Its Relation to System Design and Price Structure" (with F.P. Linaweaver, Jr.), Water Resources Research, 3 (1), 1967.

Career Highlights:
Professor of Economics, University of Colorado-Boulder, 1970-2000; Director, Environment and Behavior Program, Institute of Behavioral Science, University of Colorado-Boulder, 1986-97; Director, Water Resources Program, Resources for the Future, 1965-70.

Selected Honors:
The Warren A. Hall Medal for distinguished contributions to the water resources field, Universities' Council on Water Resources, 2003; American Water Resources Association's Icko Iben Award for The Promotion of Interdisciplinary Water Research, 1994; Fulbright Scholar, Wageningen Agricultural University, The Netherlands, 1991; Elected Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, 1986.

Chuck Howe among those honored for work with IPCC
Governor Bill Ritter held a reception at the NCAR Mesa Lab on Monday, November 26th, to honor the 20 Colorado scientists who had participated in the activities of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change which had been a co- recipient with Al Gore of the Nobel Peace Prize. The Nobel award was to the collective efforts of the four IPCC panels that worked on the global warming analysis at five year intervals with the first in 1990. Scientists from the University of Colorado, NCAR and NOAA were in the honoree group. Chuck Howe of the Environment & Society Program in Institute of Behavioral Science and Professor Emeritus of Economics was among those honored for his role as a lead author in the Third Assessment Report (Working Group II) of five years ago. Click here for the IPCC reports.