People|PWR|University of Colorado Boulder
Environmental Design Building
1060 18th Street
ENVD Rm. 1B60
317 UCB
Boulder, CO 80309
(303) 492 8188 | pwr@colorado.edu

Meet Our People

STAFF


Name What We Do Contact
Linda Nicita, Ph.D. Director, Academic Services With 25 years of experience at CU –and previous experience as a Lecturer and an Instructor in the Program for Writing and Rhetoric – Dr. Nicita oversees operations for PWR, including budgeting, course management, faculty support, student enrollment, office logistics, and coordination with other CU units. She works closely with the Program Director and other faculty administrators to carry out the mission of the program. ENVD 1B65
(303) 735-5464
linda.nicita@colorado.edu
Melynda SlaughterAdministrative Assistant III Melynda performs office managerial duties to support the program. Such support includes managing its security operations and technology to ensure effective delivery of program services. She works closely with faculty, staff and students to resolve problems, answer questions, provide information and advise on technical and administrative issues. Additionally, Melynda advises the Program Administrator, analyzes budgetary needs and recommends solutions. ENVD 1B60
(303) 735-4906
melynda.slaughter@colorado.edu
Rachel Schmitt, MAAdministrative Assistant II Among many duties, Rachel provides clerical and technical support to PWR faculty and staff while maintaining a positive attitude in the office. She masterfully organizes events, leads survey administration, and ensures reliable communication between faculty, staff, students, and other external stakeholders. ENVD 1B60
(303) 492-8188
rachel.schmitt@colorado.edu
Annette Mitchell Writing Center Manager
Administrative Assistant III
Annette is the first person writers meet when they enter the Writing Center to ask about services, make appointments, or get help with the scheduling software. As the Writing Center Office Manager, Annette coordinates day-to-day scheduling at Norlin and satellite locations around campus. She ensures that consultants and writers have what they need for successful meetings—about 4000 annually. Annette is also responsible for compiling and formatting data to facilitate reporting and assessment needs of the Writing Center and PWR.

Norlin E111
(303) 735-6906
annette.mitchell@colorado.edu
Suzanne MapatanoStudent Assistant, Program for Writing and Rhetoric Suzanne contributes to the smooth operation of the PWR by greeting visitors to the front office, answering questions, running errands, troubleshooting problems, assembling spreadsheets, and generally helping Tommy, Mindy and Linda in any way possible. Suzanne is also a member of CU Gold Core Leadership Program, French Club and is a member of Alpha Delta Chi. ENVD 1B60

Kai ThomasStudent Assistant II, Program for Writing and Rhetoric Kai is an assistant within the program who helps out Linda, Mindy, and Rachel in any way they can! They are studying Computer Science at CU and, while at work, they manage low-level office technology including printers, copiers, computers and more. Their tasks also include answering questions, running errands, and dispensing supplies and equipment. ENVD 1B60

Ashwin AsokanWeb Developer Ashwin is a graduate student majoring in computer science who works as Web Developer with the Program for Writing and Rhetoric. He helps faculty and staff with any technical issues and maintainence tasks with the PWR website and forums. If you have any problems or any ideas to make this website cooler than it already is, he is the guy you should talk to. Apart from writing, he is passionate about making life easier for others through any technical means possible. In his spare time he likes to read history and watch movies. ENVD 1B30-A

ADMINISTRATION


Name What We Do Contact
John-Michael Rivera, Ph.D.Director John-Michael Rivera is an award winning writer of both scholarly and creative writing. In addition to working as the Director of the Program, he currently works on theories of On-Line Writing, Latino Studies, Creative Nonfiction, Archival and Information Studies, New Media Studies, and Digital and Intermedia Compositions. ENVD 1B70
(303) 735-5654
jrivera@colorado.edu
John Ackerman, Ph.D.Associate Director for Writing Across the Curriculum and Writing in the Disciplines Dr. Ackerman is a leading scholar in the areas of civic life, rhetoric in everyday, and collective memory studies. For the PWR he provides administrative leadership across program initiatives, including personnel (recruitment, retention, and reappointment), budgets, curriculum and campus and community planning. He develops programs and curricula devoted to sustainability and resiliency.

ENVD 1B61
(303) 492-8015
john.ackerman@colorado.edu
Steve Lamos, Ph.D. Associate Director for Graduate Studies Dr. Lamos continues his direction of the Writing Center, working with Associate Director Eric Klinger for the Center, including writing-across-the- curriculum workshops as well as liaison work with the graduate school, first-year writing in the PWR, Residential Academic Programs, and the professional schools. Dr. Lamos provides tenure-track faculty leadership in all personnel issues for the program, including guidelines for merit, re-appointment, salary equity and related issues. He facilitates a regional and statewide discussion of the status of contingent faculty at UCB in pursuit of consistent standards and disciplinary affiliation.

STAD 266 C
(303) 735-5693
steve.lamos@colorado.edu
Rolf Norgaard, Ph.D. Associate Director for Upper-Division Curriculum Dr. Norgaard is responsible for:
  • Assessment initiatives in the PWR, including the NSSE/WPA survey, course and syllabi review, and membership on the campus-wide Assessment Oversight Committee.
  • Curricular design at the upper-division, including participating in the establishment of a standing Curriculum Committee to develop and oversee all WRTG curriculum in collaboration with the Director, other Associate Directors and Coordinators.
  • Faculty policy, including but not limited to work on implementing, in the PWR and campus-wide, the BFA recommendations on instructors.
  • Liaising with the College of Engineering for purposes of ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) review.

ENVD 1B64
(303) 492-3605
rolf.norgaard@colorado.edu
Lonni Pearce, Ph.D. Associate Director for First-Year Writing Dr. Pearce is responsible for oversight of all first-year writing courses including curriculum and assessment and providing pedagogical resources for faculty. In addition, she works with the Library, RAPs, and Student Affairs on programmatic and policy issues related to first-year writing and the first-year experience.

ENVD 1B27D
(303) 492-4478
lonni.pearce@colorado.edu
Veronica House, Ph.D. Associate Director for Service Learning and Outreach Dr. House is responsible for directing the Writing Initiative for Service and Engagement (WISE) as well as setting the direction for and helping to write curriculum for community-engaged and public writing in the PWR, including building digital humanities curriculum into current civic engagement goals. In addition, Dr. House serves as the PWR liaison to the IECE as well as to Office of the Vice Chancellor for Outreach and Engagement, and she coordinates all city and county “community partner” contacts with the PWR. In AY 2013-14, she will spearhead the PWR’s preparations to host the first national Conference on Civic, Public, and Community Writing.

ENVD 1B78
(303) 735-4774
veronica.house@colorado.edu
Eric Klinger, MA Associate Director for the Writing Center, Peer Tutoring Eric Klinger directs operations for the CU-Boulder Writing Center housed in Norlin Library with satellite locations across campus. This popular academic support service provides over 4000 annual contact hours for CU students, faculty, and alumni. He is responsible for recruiting, hiring, training, mentoring, and assessing a staff of 20-30 writing consultants comprising adjunct faculty, graduate teaching assistants and undergraduate peer tutors. Eric guides the Writing Center’s pedagogical development and resources in consultation with CU faculty and administrators. In recent years, he has overseen the development of the Graduate Writing Support (GWS) and the Peer Writing Tutors programs. Eric is currently working with the Residential Academic Programs (RAPs) to create Writers’ Lounges that will expand access to writing support for first-year and international students. Eric is a member of the International Writing Centers Association and presents at regional and international conferences. LIBR E111
(303) 492-1690
eric.klinger@colorado.edu
Michelle Albert, MA, MFA Coordinator for Information Literacy, Norlin Research Ms. Albert is responsible for how PWR collaborates with Norlin Library to develop "information literacy" as a theme and practice across the PWR curriculum. She coordinates all necessary workshops for faculty, advises on related information on PWR websites, and works closely with the First-Year committee to evaluate how to best deliver "information literacy" to first-year students. Her project this year is to extend advanced "information literacy" to upper-division students.

ENVD 1B74
(303) 735-4385
michelle.albert@colorado.edu
Andrea Feldman, Ph.D.Coordinator for English as a Second Language Writers Andrea Feldman initiated and coordinates the Program for Writing and Rhetoric's ESL program in first-year writing and in scientific and professional writing. She holds a Ph.D. in Cognitive Linguistics, specializing in Language Acquisition. In her role as Coordinator, Andrea liaises with the Office of International Education and other departments on campus as well as in the PWR. She conducts workshops for faculty, developing resources that complement our curricular needs, and supports the teaching activities of the ESL instructors.

TB01 RM 204
(303) 492-6011
feldman@colorado.edu
Rebecca Dickson, Ph.D.Student Affairs Coordinator Dr. Dickson hears and resolves all disagreements and complaints between faculty and students in PWR classes with regard to consistency in teaching and evaluation as well as FERPA compliance. ENVD 1B76
(303) 735-4908
dicksonr@colorado.edu
Merrit Dukehart, Ph.D.Continuing Education Liaison Dr. Dukehart is responsible for Continuing Education courses offered by the Program for Writing and Rhetoric. She is the direct liaison to the CE office for our roster faculty who teach CE courses. GRDV C110B
(303) 735-4772
merrit.dukehart@colorado.edu
Christine Macdonald, Ph.D.Senior Instructor Dr. Macdonald is responsible for oversight of all professional development plans and activities for PWR faculty, including workshops and mentoring. She identifies opportunities for faculty to demonstrate multiple measures of teaching effectiveness and Chairs the PWR Professional Development Committee. ENVD 1B62-A
(303) 735-5258
christine.macdonald@colorado.edu

FACULTY


Name What We Teach Contact
Anthony Abiragi, Ph.D. Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
ENVD 1B80
(303) 735-8062
anthony.abiragi@colorado.edu
Michelle Albert, MA, MFA Senior Instructor WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B30B
(303) 735-4679
michelle.albert@colorado.edu
Justin Atwell, Ph.D. Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3030
ENVD 1B27-C
(303) 735-4776
justin.atwell@colorado.edu
Sarah Barkin, MA Lecturer WRTG 3020
ENVD 1B50-H
(303) 735-4665
sarah.barkin@colorado.edu
Shari Beck, MA Lecturer WRTG 3007
ENVD 1B27-H
(303) 735-4789
sharon.beck@colorado.edu
Leslie Blood, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3035
TB01 RM 9

leslie.blood@colorado.edu
Eric Burger, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
STAD 266 E
(303) 492-7280
burgere@colorado.edu
Sigman Byrd, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 1250, WRTG 3020
TB01 RM 4
(303) 492-4764
sigman.byrd@colorado.edu
Jennifer Campbell, MALecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
GRDV C1B85
(303) 492-6586
jennifer.campbell-1@colorado.edu
Olivia Chadha, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1250, WRTG 3020 STAD 260 A
(303) 735-4679
olivia.miller@colorado.edu
Dawn Colley, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
ENVD 1B30-B
(303) 735-6473
Colley@colorado.edu
Andrew Daigle, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-D
(303) 735-6450
Andrew.Daigle@colorado.edu
Rebecca Dickson, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3030 ENVD 1B76
(303) 735-4908
dicksonr@colorado.edu
Terrell Dionne, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-C
terrell.dionne@Colorado.edu
Damian Doyle, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 TB01 3
(303) 735-2861
damian.doyle@colorado.edu
Bailey Duhé, MAGPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-A
(303) 735-6457
bailey.duhe@colorado.edu
Merrit Dukehart, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 3020 GRDV C110B
(303) 735-4772
merrit.dukehart@colorado.edu
Jay Ellis, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3020 TB01 RM 206
(303) 492-0663
jay.ellis@colorado.edu
Maryanne Fantalis, JDLecturer WRTG 3040 TB01 208
(303) 492-2903
Maryanne.Fantalis@Colorado.EDU
Andrea Feldman, Ph.D.Senior Instructor

WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020/30/40, WRTG 3020

TB01 RM 204
(303) 492-6011
feldman@colorado.edu
Tracy Ferrell, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150,WRTG 3020 GRDV C185
(303) 492-3515
tracy.ferrell@colorado.edu
Alexander Fobes, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 TB01 RM 8
(303) 492-0779
alexander.fobes@colorado.edu
Sally Green, MA, R.S.A. Dip.Senior Instructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3030, WRTG 3040 STAD 266 B
(303) 492-7290
sally.green@colorado.edu
Laurie Gries,Ph.D.Assistant Professor WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B63
(303) 735-5693
laurie.gries@colorado.edu
Joe Hatfield, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-A

joe.hatfield@colorado.edu
Orly Hersh, MASenior Instructor WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B74
(303) 735-4679
orly.hersh@colorado.edu
Matthew Henningsen, Ph.D. Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 1250, WRTG 3035
TB01 RM 8
(303) 492-7282
matthew.henningsen@colorado.edu
Juhi Huda,MAGTPI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B50-B
(303) 735-6473
Juhi.Huda@Colorado.EDU
Veronica House, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B78
(303) 735-4774
veronica.house@colorado.edu
Jamal Khlifat, MA GPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-A

Jamal.Khlifat@Colorado.EDU
Jordan Kincaid, MA GPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B62-C-B
(303) 735-3734
jordan.kincaid@colorado.edu
Eliza Klinger, MAInstructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3040 TB01 2
(303) 492-5286
eliza.klinger@colorado.edu
Eric Klinger, MASenior Instructor WRTG 2090, WRTG 3040 LIBR E111
(303) 492-1690
eric.klinger@colorado.edu
Ginger Knowlton, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 2020 TB01 2
(303) 492-5286
ginger.knowlton@colorado.edu
Peter Kratzke, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3040 TB01 RM 8
(303) 492-7282
peter.kratzke@colorado.edu
Jarad Krywicki, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-B
(303) 735-3734
jarad.krywicki@colorado.edu
Catherine Kunce, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 TB01 RM 9
(303) 492-3821
catherine.kunce@colorado.edu
Steve Lamos, Ph.D.Associate Professor WRTG 3030 ENVD 1B63
(303) 735-5693
steve.lamos@colorado.edu
Eileen Lagman, Ph.D.Assistant Professor WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B27-B
(303) 735-4385
eileen.lagman@colorado.edu
Catherine Lasswell, MEd, R.S.A. Dip.Instructor WRTG 3020 and WRTG 3020/30/40 GRDV C153
(303) 492-1298
catherine.lasswell@colorado.edu
Gretchen Lang, MA GPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-A
(303) 735-3734
gretchen.lang@colorado.edu
Daniel Long, MAInstructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3030 GRDV C153
(303) 735-4776
dannylong449@gmail.com
Timothy Lyons, MAInstructor WRTG 1150 STAD 260 B
(303) 492-2561
tim.lyons@colorado.edu
Christine Macdonald, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B62-A
(303) 735-5258
christine.macdonald@colorado.edu
Luciana Marques GPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-C
(303) 735-6594
luciana.marques@colorado.edu
Sarah Massey–Warren, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3040 GRDV C1B85
(303) 492-6586
sarah.massey-warren@colorado.edu
Arielle Milkman, MSGPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-C
(303) 735-4671
arielle.milkman@colorado.edu
Young Kyung Min, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B80
(303) 492-4772
young.min@colorado.edu
Stephania Mitova, MSGPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-C
(303) 735-4671
Seth Myers, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B78
(303) 735-4772
seth.myers@colorado.edu
Tobin von der Nuell, MASenior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 TB01 RM 2A
(303) 492-4396
vondernu@colorado.edu
Rolf Norgaard, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3030, WRTG 3035 ENVD 1B64
(303) 492-3605
rolf.norgaard@colorado.edu
Martha Patton, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B62-A
(303) 735-5258
martha.patton@colorado.edu
Lonni Pearce, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3030 ENVD 1B27-D
(303) 492-4478
lonni.pearce@colorado.edu
Kathryn Pieplow, JD Senior Instructor Emerita   kathryn.pieplow@colorado.edu

Nathan Pieplow, M.Ed.Instructor WRTG 3040, WRTG 3090 GRDV C153
(303) 735-4776
nathan.pieplow@colorado.edu
Kerry Reilly, MFASenior Instructor WRTG 3007 GRDV C185
(303) 492-3515
kerry.reilly@colorado.edu
Petger Schaberg, MASenior Instructor WRTG 3030, WRTG 3035 ENVD 1B30-B
(303) 735-4673
petger.schaberg@colorado.edu
Melanie ShafferGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-A
(303) 735-2937
melanie.shaffer@colorado.edu
Allison Shelton, MAGPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-A
(303) 735-6457
alsh@colorado.edu
Patricia Sullivan, Ph.D.Professor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B27-A
(303) 735-5055
patricia.sullivan@colorado.edu
Levente Szentkirályi, Ph.D. Instructor WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B50-C

szentkiralyi@colorado.edu
Michael Szuberla, MSGPTI WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B50-G
(303) 735-4668
michael.szuberla@colorado.edu
Sara TabatabaieGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62-C-C
(303) 735-6594
sara.tabatabaie@colorado.edu
Mariko Turk, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B27-F
(303) 735-5165
mariko.turk@colorado.edu
Paula Wenger, MASenior Instructor WRTG 3035, WRTG 3040 STAD 266 D
(303) 735-6791
paula.wenger@colorado.edu
Don Wilkerson, MASenior Instructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3030 TB01 RM 202
(303) 492-3606
donald.wilkerson@colorado.edu
Andrew Wilson, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3040
ENVD 1B27-C
(303) 735-4776
a.d.wilson@colorado.edu
Rosalyn Zigmond, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3040 STAD 260A
(303) 492-2491
rosalyn.zigmond@colorado.edu
Michael Zizzi, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3030 ENVD 1B50-G
(303) 735-4668
michael.zizzi@colorado.edu