Secondary Menu

You are here

Distinguished Research Lecture

The 106th Distinguished Research Lectureship has been awarded to Professor Peter Molnar of the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, CIRES.  The lecture will be held on Friday, September 5th from 4 to 5 p.m. in the Old Main Chapel, followed by a reception in the Heritage Center. More information will follow as it becomes available.

See past recipients of the Distinguished Research Lectureship.

The nomination deadline for the 2014 Distinguished Research Lecture was Feb. 12, 2014.

The Distinguished Research Lectureship is among the highest honors bestowed by the faculty upon a faculty member at CU-Boulder. Each year, the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research requests nominations from faculty for this award, and a faculty review panel recommends one faculty member as a recipient.  Nominations for the 2014 Distinguished Research Lecturer are due by 5:00 p.m. on February 12, 2014.

The lectureship honors a tenured faculty member widely recognized for a distinguished body of academic or creative achievement and prominence, as well as contributions to the educational and service missions of CU-Boulder.

Normally, one Distinguished Research Lectureship is awarded each year. The recipient presents a lecture in the fall or spring following selection and receives a $2,000 honorarium.


Nominees for the Distinguished Research Lectureship must be CU-Boulder faculty members who are:

  • Tenured members of the faculty who have been at CU-Boulder for at least five years,
  • Extremely distinguished nationally/internationally for scholarship, research, and creative work,
  • Highly regarded for contributions to the University of Colorado and to its national/international reputation.

Nomination Procedure

Any faculty member may nominate another member by submitting to the Vice Chancellor for Research the appropriate supporting materials, including:

  • A statement (2-3 pages) explaining the importance of the nominee’s research or creative work in his/her field and summarizing the research record,
  • A current record of the nominee’s accomplishments;
  • A limited number of letters from experts outside CU-Boulder (as well as inside letters if appropriate),
  • If an applicant is not a recipient, the submission will be in a pool of submissions for the following year. It may be appended as necessary before the next application deadline.

Basis of Awards

The selection of the Distinguished Research Lecturer is based on the research and creative record of the nominee as presented in the nomination application and as recognized by experts in the field.  

Submit nominations to:

Vice Chancellor for Research Stein Sture
Regent 333, UCB 26

University of Colorado Boulder
© Regents of the University of Colorado
PrivacyLegal & Trademarks