CU-Boulder Launches National Search for Provost

Published: Nov. 9, 2009

University of Colorado at Boulder Chancellor Philip P. DiStefano today announced the commencement of a national search for the next provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs at CU-Boulder.

Former CU-Boulder Vice Chancellor for Research Stein Sture is serving as interim provost until a permanent hire is made for the position. He succeeded DiStefano, who was appointed chancellor in May 2009 by University of Colorado President Bruce Benson.

"The provost is at the vital center of all academic decision-making," said DiStefano. "We will be seeking a candidate of national and international distinction whose vision, experience and ingenuity will take the university to new levels of academic success."

DiStefano named CU-Boulder College of Arts and Sciences Dean Todd Gleeson chair of the 17-member search committee to select the chief academic officer for the Boulder campus. The provost position will be advertised locally and nationally through January. Applications will be reviewed in the spring, and finalists will visit the campus in April, Gleeson said.

As chief academic officer for the Boulder campus, the provost is responsible for the administration of academic policies and programs and for the direction and oversight of instruction, research and creative work, and outreach activities of the campus. Positions reporting to the provost include deans of the 10 schools and colleges, the vice chancellor for student affairs, the vice chancellor for research and the vice chancellor for diversity, equity and community engagement.

Applications submitted by Feb. 1, 2010, will receive full consideration. A full position description and information on how to apply is available at .

In addition to Gleeson, Provost Search Committee members include: Jerry Rudy, professor, Department of Psychology, and chair of the Boulder Faculty Assembly's Budget Committee; Bob Ferry, professor, Department of History, and chair of the Arts and Sciences Council; Paul Beale, professor and chair of the Department of Physics; Susan Clarke, professor, Department of Political Science; Ricardo Landeira, professor and chair of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese; Dayna Matthew, associate dean for academic affairs, School of Law; Lorrie Shepard, dean of the School of Education; Allan McMurray, distinguished professor, College of Music; Jane Menken, distinguished professor, Institute of Behavioral Science and the Department of Sociology; John Lynch, professor, Leeds School of Business; Mike Lightner, professor and chair, Department of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Applied Science; Marianne Barker, assistant vice president of development, CU Foundation; Jane Butcher, CU-Boulder alumna; Tom Higginbotham, University of Colorado Student Union tri-executive; Marshall Smith, United Government of Graduate Students representative; and Dana Kusjanovic, Staff Council representative.

An e-mail address has been established at
for nominations, comments or questions from inside or outside the CU-Boulder community.