CU-Boulder Law Students Name Wilkinson For Teaching Excellence

Published: May 1, 1997

Professor Charles Wilkinson of the University of Colorado at Boulder School of Law has been named the 1996-97 Teaching Excellence Award winner by a vote of law school students.

The award, which has been given to top teaching faculty for the past eight years, carries a $1,000 stipend from the Student Bar Association and the Dean’s Fund for Excellence.

Law students cast votes April 11, 14 and 15 for the faculty member they believe had most enhanced their educational experience inside and outside the classroom. The other top vote getters were Professors Dale Oesterle, Dennis Hynes and Curtis Bradley.

Nomination statements collected by the Student Bar Association before the voting called Wilkinson “the most passionate, inspirational person I have ever known,” and “the best teacher at CU law.” Another said, “He is extremely dedicated to ensuring that his students understand the material thoroughly and beyond what the casebook provides. Although he is very busy, he is still very accessible.”

One student described how Wilkinson organized an evening session at the Native American Rights Fund “so that the Indian students could share their unique perspectives with the rest of the class and everyone could exchange ideas and sentiments. It was a remarkable night that added a personal touch to the class.”

Wilkinson teaches natural resources, water, public lands and Indian law and has written several books on natural resources issues.

The teaching award was presented in a law school ceremony April 18 honoring Wilkinson and recipients of other law school awards. Previous teaching award winners include Professors Clifford Calhoun, Mimi Wesson and Bill Pizzi.