People

Scott Ortman (Department of Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder) is an archaeologist who works on demography and settlement patterns in the US Southwest, and on human development from an anthropological and complex systems perspective (scott.ortman@colorado.edu).

Luís M. A. Bettencourt (Santa Fe Institute) is a Professor of Complex Systems, originally trained in Theoretical Physics, who works on interdisciplinary models and theory of settlements and cities and processes of innovation and development in human societies (bettencourt@santafe.edu).

Jose Lobo (School of Sustainability, Arizona State University) is an urban economist who works on the relationship between agglomeration and innovation, and also researches the social processes behind human congregation (Jose.Lobo@asu.edu).

Michael E. Smith (School of Human Evolution and Social Change, Arizona State University) is an archaeologist who works on households and communities at Aztec sites and Teotihuacan, and on comparative urbanism (mesmith9@asu.edu).

Rudy Cesaretti (School of Human Evolution and Social Change, Arizona State University) is a graduate student in archaeology who works on Medieval European and Mesoamerican urbanism (Rudolf.Cesaretti@asu.edu).

Kaitlyn Davis (Department of Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder) is a graduate student in archaeology who works on inter-ethnic and inter-regional interaction in the Protohistoric US Southwest (Kaitlyn.E.Davis@colorado.edu).

John W. (Jack) Hanson (Department of Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder) is a historian and archaeologist specialising in the urban system and economy of the Roman Empire (john.hanson@colorado.edu).

Jessica Hedgepeth-Balkin (Department of Anthropology, University of Colorado Boulder) is a Ph.D. student in archaeology who works on agricultural ecology in southern Mesoamerica (jessica.hedgebalkin@Colorado.EDU).

Aaron Trumbo (University of Colorado Boulder) is an undergraduate anthropology major who is interested in southwestern archaeology and databases (aarontrumbo@gmail.com).