Environmental Design Building
1060 18th Street
ENVD Rm. 1B60
317 UCB
Boulder, CO 80309
(303) 492 8188 | pwr@colorado.edu

Meet Our People

STAFF


Name What We Do Contact
Linda Nicita, Ph.D. Program Administrator With 21 years of experience at CU and previous experience as a Lecturer and an Instructor in the Program for Writing and Rhetoric, Linda seamlessly administrates over 80 faculty members, 285 classes a semester, and offices in 5 buildings at CU Boulder. Since 2007 she has been, undoubtedly, the driving force of the PWR and is essential to its success. ENVD 1B70
(303) 735-5464
linda.nicita@colorado.edu
Alex Mancero, MA Administrative Assistant, Webmaster Alex provides technical support and performs office managerial duties to support the Program, including managing its security operations and technology. He works closely with faculty, staff and students to resolve problems, answer questions, provide information, and advise on technical issues and matters, to ensure timely and effective delivery of program services to the university at-large. Additionally, Alex advises the Program Administrator, analyzes needs and recommends solutions.

ENVD 1B60
(303) 735-4906
alex.mancero@colorado.edu
Rachel Schmitt, BA Administrative Assistant Among many other duties, Rachel brings good cheer to the office and masterfully organizes events, quarterbacks survey administration, and ensures constant communication between faculty, staff, and students. She also is our resident photographer.

ENVD 1B60
(303) 492-8188
rachel.schmitt@colorado.edu
Melynda SlaughterWriting Center Manager Melynda is the first person writers meet when they enter the Writing Center to ask about services, make appointments, or get help with the scheduling software. As the Writing Center Office Manager, Melynda coordinates day-to-day scheduling at Norlin and satellite locations around campus. She ensures that consultants and writers have what they need for successful meetings—about 4000 annually. Melynda is also responsible for compiling and formatting data to facilitate reporting and assessment needs of the Writing Center and PWR. Norlin E111
(303) 735-6906
melynda.slaughter@colorado.edu
Scott PledgerStudent Assistant VI Having mastered the art of web development, Scott now manages the two internal websites for the Program, and helps Alex with developing the Program's public website. ENVD 1B60
(303) 492-8188
Albert Opraseuth, BAStudent Assistant II In addition to being the Graduate Advisor to CU Independent and graduate student in Journalism & Mass Communication, Albert is the senior student assistant for the front office of the PWR. He assists students and faculty in a myriad of ways, from publishing online journals to solving technical issues. ENVD 1B60
(303) 492-8188
Aaron MertzASSET Student Assistant Aaron is a Junior in Electrical Engineering and self proclaimed IT guru. He works with faculty and staff to solve any problems computer related. In addition to solving computer problems, he also loves working with printers. ENVD 1B60
(303) 492-8188

ADMINISTRATION


Name What We Do Contact
John-Michael Rivera, Ph.D.Director John-Michael Rivera is an award winning writer of both scholarly and creative writing. In addition to working as the Director of the Program, he currently works on theories of On-Line Writing, Latino Studies, Creative Nonfiction, Archival and Information Studies, New Media Studies, and Digital and Intermedia Compositions. ENVD 1B65
(303) 735-5654
jrivera@colorado.edu
Patricia Sullivan, Ph.D. Coordinator for Graduate Teaching Excellence and WAC Dr. Sullivan is responsible for developing and guiding the PWR's graduate teaching program. In this role, she coordinates training, teaches a graduate seminar in theory and praxis in writing and rhetoric, and liaises with cognate departments to recruit outstanding graduate students to serve as PWR writing fellows.

ENVD 1B27A
(303) 735-5055
patricia.sullivan@colorado.edu
John Ackerman, Ph.D.Associate Director of Sustainability and Residential Academic Programs Dr. Ackerman fosters PWR's relationships with sustainability policy and curriculum across campus and through the program's sustainability committee. Dr. Ackerman supports the Director in all matters of administrative leadership, including personnel issues (recruitment, retention, and reappointment), budgets, curriculum, and college and campus planning.

ENVD 1B27-B
(303) 492-8015
john.ackerman@colorado.edu
Steve Lamos, Ph.D. Associate Director for Personnel, WAC, Writing Center Dr. Lamos continues his direction of the Writing Center, working with Associate Director Eric Klinger for the Center, including writing-across-the- curriculum workshops as well as liaison work with the graduate school, first-year writing in the PWR, Residential Academic Programs, and the professional schools. Dr. Lamos provides tenure-track faculty leadership in all personnel issues for the program, including guidelines for merit, re-appointment, salary equity and related issues. He facilitates a regional and statewide discussion of the status of contingent faculty at UCB in pursuit of consistent standards and disciplinary affiliation.

ENVD 1B63
(303) 735-5693
steve.lamos@colorado.edu
Rolf Norgaard, Ph.D. Associate Director for Assessment, Honors, Curriculum, CCHE Dr. Norgaard is responsible for:
  • Assessment initiatives in the PWR, including the NSSE/WPA survey, course and syllabi review, and membership on the campus-wide Assessment Oversight Committee.
  • Curricular design at the upper-division, including participating in the establishment of a standing Curriculum Committee to develop and oversee all WRTG curriculum in collaboration with the Director, other Associate Directors and Coordinators.
  • Faculty policy, including but not limited to work on implementing, in the PWR and campus-wide, the BFA recommendations on instructors.
  • Liaising with the College of Engineering for purposes of ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) review.

ENVD 1B64
(303) 492-3605
rolf.norgaard@colorado.edu
Lonni Pearce, Ph.D. Associate Director for First-Year Writing Dr. Pearce is responsible for oversight of all first-year writing courses including curriculum and assessment and providing pedagogical resources for faculty. In addition, she works with the Library, RAPs, and Student Affairs on programmatic and policy issues related to first-year writing and the first-year experience.

ENVD 1B27D
(303) 492-4478
lonni.pearce@colorado.edu
Veronica House, Ph.D. Associate Director for Service Learning and Outreach Dr. House is responsible for directing the Writing Initiative for Service and Engagement (WISE) as well as setting the direction for and helping to write curriculum for community-engaged and public writing in the PWR, including building digital humanities curriculum into current civic engagement goals. In addition, Dr. House serves as the PWR liaison to the IECE as well as to Office of the Vice Chancellor for Outreach and Engagement, and she coordinates all city and county “community partner” contacts with the PWR. In AY 2013-14, she will spearhead the PWR’s preparations to host the first national Conference on Civic, Public, and Community Writing.

ENVD 1B78
(303) 735-4774
veronica.house@colorado.edu
Eric Klinger, MA Associate Director for the Writing Center, Peer Tutoring Mr. Klinger is responsible for the day-to-day organizational and scheduling operations in the Writing Center in the Norlin Commons, which includes staffing, training, scheduling, and assessment for 4000 student contacts. Additionally, he coordinates Writing Center services to serve RAPs, graduate student writing, and international students. Mr. Klinger works with Dr. Lamos to train consultants and to conduct yearly assessments of the efficacy of the Center.

LIBR E111
(303) 492-1690
eric.klinger@colorado.edu
Kathryn Pieplow, J.D.Associate Director for Faculty Development & Curricular Oversight Ms. Pieplow is responsible for oversight of all professional development plans and activities for faculty at all ranks including, but not limited to, new faculty/lecturer training and syllabus review Ms. Pieplow offers workshops, as necessary, throughout the semester and oversees mentoring assignments. In addition, Ms. Pieplow schedules the PWR's "black bag" seminars, coordinates training with the various initiatives, and spearheads the re-design of the PWR faculty resources website.

ENVD 1B74
(303) 735-4679
kathryn.pieplow@colorado.edu
Michelle Albert, MA, MFA Coordinator for Information Literacy, Norlin Research Ms. Albert is responsible for how PWR collaborates with Norlin Library to develop "information literacy" as a theme and practice across the PWR curriculum. She coordinates all necessary workshops for faculty, advises on related information on PWR websites, and works closely with the First-Year committee to evaluate how to best deliver "information literacy" to first-year students. Her project this year is to extend advanced "information literacy" to upper-division students.

ENVD 1B30B
(303) 735-4673
michelle.albert@colorado.edu
Rebecca Dickson, Ph.D.Coordinator for Conflict Resolution Dr. Dickson hears and resolves all disagreements and complaints between faculty and students in PWR classes with regard to consistency in teaching and evaluation as well as FERPA compliance. ENVD 1B76
(303) 735-4908
dicksonr@colorado.edu
Petger Schaberg, MA Coordinator for Writing Technology, Digital Learning Mr. Schaberg is responsible for assessing where, how, and with what cost the PWR adopts the tenets of Digital Learning. In this role, Mr. Schaberg evaluates faculty skill levels vis a vis national standards and precedents for teaching writing and rhetoric through digital technology. He also liaises with the 'digital humanities initiative,' ASSETT, and other initiatives on campus and elsewhere.

ENVD 1B30B
(303) 735-4673
petger.schaberg@colorado.edu
Paula Wenger, MA Coordinator for Upper-Division and Professional Writing Ms. Wenger is responsible for coordinating all upper-division courses, including compliance with CCHE criteria and requisite faculty development, student awards, and new course proposals. In addition, she liaises with the professional schools that support the upper division and keeps PWR courses current in the area of technical and professional writing.

STAD 266D
(303) 735-6791
paula.wenger@colorado.edu
Merrit Dukehart, Ph.D.Continuing Education Liaison Dr. Dukehart is responsible for Continuing Education courses offered by the Program for Writing and Rhetoric. She is the direct liaison to the CE office for our roster faculty who teach CE courses.

merrit.dukehart@colorado.edu

FACULTY


Name What We Teach Contact
Mary Angeline, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
STAD 260-A
303-492-2491
mary.angeline@colorado.edu
Sharon Beck, MALecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
1B27-H
(303) 735-4789
sharon.beck@colorado.edu
Amy Bertken, MA Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3030
ENVD 1B27F
(303) 735-5165
amy.bertken@colorado.edu
Anne Bliss, Ph.D.Senior Instructor Emerita Retired Not Assigned
Paul Bowman, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62C-C
(303) 735-6594
paul.bowman@colorado.edu
Eric Burger, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
STAD 266E
(303) 492-7280
burgere@colorado.edu
Sigman Byrd, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 2020, WRTG 3040
TB01 4B
(303) 492-4764
sigman.byrd@colorado.edu
Steven Caldes, MFALecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020
GRVD C110-C
(303) 735-4678
stephen.caldes@colorado.edu
Jennifer Campbell, MALecturer WRTG 1150 (ESL sections)
TBD
TBD
jennifer.campbell-1@colorado.edu
Frances Charteris, MFASenior Instructor WRTG 3007, WRTG 3020 TB01, 4A
(303) 735-0283
frances.charteris@colorado.edu
John Chavez, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 1250, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B30-C
(303) 735-4663
john.chavez@colorado.edu
Kelsey Cody, MSGPTI WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B62C-B
(303) 735-3734
kelsey.cody@colorado.edu
Dawn Colley, Ph.D. Lecturer WRTG 1100, WRTG 1150
ENVD 1B62-C-A

Colley@colorado.edu
Diane DeBella, MASenior Instructor WRTG 3030
STAD 260A
(303) 492-2491
diane.debella@colorado.edu
Rebecca Dickson, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3030 ENVD 1B76
(303) 735-4908
dicksonr@colorado.edu
Lydia Dixon, MEMGPTI WRTG 1150 Office TBD
Not Assigned
lydia.dixon@colorado.edu
Damian Doyle, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1250, WRTG 3020 TB01 3
(303) 735-2861
damian.doyle@colorado.edu
Douglas Dupler, MALecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 GRDV C1B70
(303) 492-8634
douglas.dupler@colorado.edu
Christina Eisert, MALecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020, Norlin Research Center GRDV C110-A
(303) 735-4512
christina.eisert@colorado.edu
Jay Ellis, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 2090 - "Journal Twenty Twenty," WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B27C
(303) 735-4776
jay.ellis@colorado.edu
Michael Ennis, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 3030, WRTG 3040 ENVD 1B78
(303) 735-4774
michael.ennis@colorado.edu
Andrea Feldman, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1250, WRTG 3020, WRTG 3020/30/40 (ESL Sections) TB01 204
(303) 492-6011
feldman@colorado.edu
Tracy Ferrell, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 1250, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B50-H
(303) 735-4665
tracy.ferrell@colorado.edu
Alexander Fobes, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B50H
(303) 735-4665
alexander.fobes@colorado.edu
Jami Frush, MFA, MALecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B30-C
(303) 735-4663
jami.frush@colorad.edu
Gail Georgeson, J.D., MALecturer WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B50F
(303) 735-3058
gail.georgeson@colorado.edu
Amy Goodloe, MA, MEdInstructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3090 GRDV C153
(303) 492-1298
agoodloe@colorado.edu
Sally Green, MA, R.S.A. Dip.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3030 STAD 266B
(303) 492-7290
sally.green@colorado.edu
Charles Harding, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B50A
(303) 735-4793
charles.harding@colorado.edu
Stephanie Hartzell, MAGPTI WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B30D
(303) 735-4664
stephanie.hartzell@colorado.edu
Orly Hersh, MAInstructor WRTG 1150 (COMM RAP) BUCK S120
(303) 492-2171
orly.hersh@colorado.edu
Gary Hink, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 3007, WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B27C
(303) 735-4776
gary.hink@colorado.edu
Jamie Jones, MSLecturer WRTG 1100 GRDV C1B85
(303) 492-6586
jamie.jones@colorado.edu
Eliza Klinger, MAInstructor WRTG 1100 TB01 2
(303) 492-5286
eliza.klinger@colorado.edu
Ginger Knowlton, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3020 TB01 2
(303) 492-5286
ginger.knowlton@colorado.edu
Peter Kratzke, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3040 STAD 266C
(303) 492-7282
peter.kratzke@colorado.edu
Catherine Kunce, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 1150 (FARRAND), WRTG 3020 TB01 RM9
(303) 492-3821
catherine.kunce@colorado.edu
Catherine Lasswell, MEd, R.S.A. Dip.Instructor Fall 2014 Sabbatical GRDV C153
(303) 492-1298
catherine.lasswell@colorado.edu
Daniel Long, MALecturer WRTG 3030, WRTG 3040 ENVD 1B50H
(303) 735-4665
dannylong449@gmail.com
Timothy Lyons, MAInstructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 STAD 260B
(303) 492-2561
tim.lyons@colorado.edu
Christine Macdonald, Ph.D.Senior Instructor WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B62A
(303) 735-5258
christine.macdonald@colorado.edu
Sarah Massey–Warren, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 GRDV C1B85
(303) 492-6586
sarah.massey-warren@colorado.edu
Marisa McNatt, MAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62C-C
(303) 735-6594
Marisa.c.McNatt@colorado.edu
Sarah Michals, MALecturer WRTG 1150 (ESL sections) ENVD 1B27G
(303) 735-4674
sarah.michals@colorado.edu
Nils Michals, MFALecturer WRTG 1150 GRVD C1B70
(303) 492-8634
nils.michals@colorado.edu
Olivia Miller, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1250 ENVD 1B74
(303) 735-4679
olivia.miller@colorado.edu
Seth Myers, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3035 ENVD 1B80
(303) 735-4772
seth.myers@colorado.edu
Jaquelin Pelzer, MAGPTI WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B50C
(303) 735-4671
jaquelin.pelzer@colorado.edu
Nathan Pieplow, MALecturer WRTG 3030 ENVD 1B50B
(303) 735-4672
nathan.pieplow@colorado.edu
Naomi Rachel, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 3020, WRTG 3030 Not Assigned
(303)810-1124
naomi.rachel@colorado.edu
Kerry Reilly, MFASenior Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3007 GRDV C185
(303) 492-3515
kerry.reilly@colorado.edu
Maria Sclafani, MALecturer WRTG 1100 1B50F
(303) 735-3058
maria.sclafani@colorado.edu
Daniel Singer, PhD CandidateLecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3040 1B30D
(303) 492-8456
daniel.singer@colorado.edu
Patricia Sullivan, Ph.D.Professor WRTG 1250 ENVD 1B27A
(303) 735-5055
patricia.sullivan@colorado.edu
Seth B. Tucker, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 GRDV C110B
(303) 492-8188
seth.tucker@colorado.edu
Tobin von der Nuell, MAInstructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 1250, WWRTG 3040 TB01 RM 2A
(303) 492-4396
vondernu@colorado.edu
James Walker, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150, WRTG 3020 TB01 RM 202
(303) 492-3606
James.F.Walker@colorado.edu
Tara Walker, MFALecturer WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B50-E

tara.g.walker@colorado.edu
Alex Wedemeyer, MFAGPTI WRTG 1150 ENVD 1B62C-A
(303) 735-2937
alex.wedemeyer@colorado.edu
Don Wilkerson, MASenior Instructor WRTG 3020, WRTG 3030, WRTG 3040 TB01 RM 202
(303) 492-3606
donald.wilkerson@colorado.edu
David Williams, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 3020 ENVD 1B50G
(303) 735-4668
david.williams@colorado.edu
Juliet Wittman, MALecturer WRTG 3020 Office TBD
(303) 735-4788
juliet.wittman@colorado.edu
Rosalyn Zigmond, Ph.D.Instructor WRTG 1150 STAD 260A
(303) 492-2491
rosalyn.zigmond@colorado.edu
Michael Zizzi, Ph.D.Lecturer WRTG 1150, WRTG 3030 ENVD 1B50G
(303) 735-4668
michael.zizzi@colorado.edu