Department History

Written by Albert A. Bartlett and Jack J. Kraushaar


In recounting our early history, Bartlett and Kraushaar profile department events against the backdrop of the larger world. From a 1920 snowstorm that claimed a professor’s life to the 2001 Nobel Prize in Physics, A History of the Department celebrates the lives and work of men and women bound by their combined love of physics and of Colorado.

In this revised and enlarged second edition:

• Expanded to 570 pages from 400
• New appendices and index
• More photographs
• Updated list of faculty and PhDs granted
• Chapter on the 2001 Nobel Prizes in Physics awarded to Eric Cornell and Carl Wieman
• More information on the Department’s first professor, William J. Waggener

Ready to order? Please send a check or money order for $30.00 (to cover printing costs), payable to “University of Colorado” to:

Special Programs: Department History
University of Colorado
390 UCB
Boulder, CO 80309-0390

We cannot accept credit cards at this time.


ucb wordmark Home | Contact Us
© 2007 Regents of the University of Colorado