Department of Philosophy
People


categories

Faculty
Staff
Grad Students
Visitors
Affiliated Faculty
Alumni
 
Office hours Fall 2014

our MA and PhD students

Abbate, Cheryl (PhD program: entered 2015)
• MA in Philosophy 2011, Colorado State University
cheryl.abbate@colorado.edu

Aizpitarte Zabarte, Aitor (MA program: entered 2015)
• Univeristy of Barcelona 2015
aitoraizpitarte@gmail.com

Boespflug, Mark (MA program: entered 2015)
• MA in Philosophy 2013, Biola University
mkboespf@hotmail.com

Bowman, Paul (PhD program: entered 2010)
• MA in Philosophy 2010, Northern Illinois University
• Areas of interest: moral and political philosophy
pauljbowman@gmail.com

Carrick, Michael (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Vermont, 2010
michael.carrick@colorado.edu

Carter, Jasmine (PhD program: entered 2015)
• BA Psychology/Cognitive Science 2014, University of Denver
jazie.rae@gmail.com

Case, Spencer (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Idaho State University, 2009
• MA, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
spencer.case@colorado.edu

Choi, Philip (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Yonsei University, 2009
• MA, Yonsei University, 2012
philip.choi@colorado.edu

Coren, Daniel (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, McMaster University, 2011
• MA, McMaster University, 2013
daniel.coren@colorado.edu

Egner, Joshua (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, Colorado State University, 2010
joshua.egner@colorado.edu

Eyestone, Martin (PhD program: entered 2005)
• BA, Philosophy 2003; BS, Management Information Systems and Computer Information Systems, 2003; MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2008
• Areas of Interest: Philosophy of Religion, Ancient Philosophy, Logic
• Website: http://spot.colorado.edu/~eyestone/
martin.eyestone@colorado.edu

Fine, Elizabeth (PhD program: entered 2015)
• MA Philosophy 2015, University of Bristol
elizabeth.g.fine@gmail.com

Geyer, Jay (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Illinois, 2010
• MA, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
• Areas of interest:  Ethics, Decision Theory, Environmental Philosophy.
jay.geyer@colorado.edu

Gronholz, Shane (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Whitworth University, 2005, Philosophy and Religion; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2008, Thesis: Reasons, Morality and God
• Areas of Interest: Metaethics, Philosophy of Religion.
smgronholz@gmail.com

Guidry, Jules (MA program: entered 2015)
• BA Philosophy 2014, Northwestern State University
juleswillisguidry@gmail.com

Gulotta, Anthony (MA program: entered 2014)
• BA, Bard College at Simon's Rock, 2011
anthony.gulotta@colorado.edu

Huismann, Tyler (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BS Engineering 2006, MA Philosophy 2010, University of Michigan Ann Arbor
• Areas of interest: Ancient and medieval philosophy, metaphysics, explanation, philosophy of mind, and logic.
tyler.huismann@colorado.edu

Kelley, Anthony (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Columbia University, 2009
• MA, Northern Illinois University, 2011
anthony.kelley@colorado.edu

Kopeikin, Zak (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Santa Barbara, 2013
zak.kopeikin@colorado.edu

Kultgen, Benjamin (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Harvard University, 2008.
• Areas of interest: philosphy of mind, cognitive science, metaphysics
benjamin.kultgen@colorado.edu

Lee, Eric (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Philosophy, University of Colorado, 2004.
eric.lee@colorado.edu

Lloyd, Alexandra (PhD program: entered 2015)
• MA Philosophy and Public Policy 2014, London School of Economics
lloydal6@gmail.com

Lowe, Dan (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Evergreen State University; MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2011.
• Areas of interest: ethics (metaethics, axiology), political philosophy (distributive justice, self-ownership, freedom), feminist philosophy (standpoint epistemology, feminist ethics).
daniel.lowe@colorado.edu

Melnitzer, Shane (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Berkeley, 2006
• MA, Brandeis University, 2013
shane.melnitzer@colorado.edu

Nieblas, Erica (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2011)
• BA, California State University Fullerton, 2010
erica.nieblas@colorado.edu

Pagano, Emilie (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2012
emilie.pagano@colorado.edu

Pickard, Caleb (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of Nebraska at Lincoln, 2011.
caleb.pickard@colorado.edu

Pike, Matthew (PhD program: entered 2008)
• BA, University of Colorado, Denver, 2001; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder (enrolled 2007-8).
• Research interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Logic, Philosophy of Science and Mathematics.
• Personal webpage: http://matt-pike.com/philosophy.php
• Business webpage: http://www.ethicsedge.com
matthew.pike@colorado.edu

Riesen, Erich (PhD program: entered 2015)
• MA Philosophy 2015, Northern Illinois University
eriesen@sandiego.edu

Renninger, Rebecca (PhD program: entered 2009)
• BA, Davidson College, 2008.
• Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, and Action Theory.
rebecca.renninger@colorado.edu

Rohrs, Benjamin (PhD program: entered 2010)
• MA, Philosophy, Northern Illinois University, 2010; BA, Biola University, 2008.
• Interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics.
benjamin.rohrs@colorado.edu

Sechman, Michael (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Philosophy, California State University, Northridge, 2010.
• Areas of interest: Modern Philosophy (esp., Hobbes, Locke, Berkeley, and Hume); Epistemology (esp., skepticism, rationality, virtue epistemology, ameliorative epistemology); Cognitive Science (esp., inference and judgment, cognitive illusions, evolutionary psychology).
• Presentations: “Situationism and Epistemic Virtue,” presented at the North Carolina Philosophical Society annual conference, February 2012 with Mark Alfano, John Doris, Lauren Olin and Guy Axtell.
michael.sechman@colorado.edu

Smith, Topher (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, Centre College, 2012
christopher.smith-2@colorado.edu

Spelman, Jonathan (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Philosophy and Political Science, Ashland University 2008; MA, Philosophy, University of Missouri--Saint Louis, 2010
• Areas of interest: Ethics (particularly Normative Ethics), Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion.
• Presentation: "Moral Luck and Moral Counterfactual Assessment," Stephen L. Weber Graduate Conference in Ethics (San Diego State University).
jonathan.spelman@colorado.edu

Stenberg, Joseph (PhD program: entered 2011)
• MA, Philosophy (2011), University of Colorado at Boulder.
• BA, History (2006), Liberal Arts (2007), Colorado Christian University.
• Lumen Christi Institute participant, Summer 2011, "Aquinas and Contemporary Ethical Theory."
• Presentations: "Aristotle, the common good, and τὸ καλόν," presented at the Pacific APA Conference, April, 2011; "Atomism and Irreducibly Social Goods," presented at the North Carolina Philosophical Society annual conference, February, 2011; "Rule Consequentialism, Inconsistency, and the Right," presented at the Michigan State Philosophy Graduate Student Conference, March, 2010.
• Areas of interest: history of philosophy (especially medieval philosophy), philosophy of religion, ethics.
joseph.stenberg@colorado.edu

Taylor, Maggie (PhD program: entered 2015)
• MA Philosophy/Public Policy 2015, George Washington University
mstaylor@gwmail.gwu.edu

Thomas-Smith, Lisa (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of Illinois Springfield, 2010
lisa.thomassmith@colorado.edu

Vollmer, Chaz (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Colorado Denver, 2011
chaz.vollmer@colorado.edu

Wilson, Joseph (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of California Berkeley 2010.
joseph.wilson-1@colorado.edu

Wolf-Root, Alexander (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Davis, 2009
alexander.wolfroot@colorado.edu

Young, Andrew (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, Clark University, 2012
andrew.young-1@colorado.edu

Zambrano, Alexander (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, Loyola Marymount University, 2012
• Areas of Interest: metaphysics, philosophy of religion, medieval philosophy, metaethics, and applied ethics.
alexander.zambrano@colorado.edu



Please alert the webmaster to any mistakes or omissions.

  

Philosophy Department, UCB 232, Boulder, CO 80309-0232
Hellems 167  |  Phone: (303) 492-6132  |  Fax: (303) 492-8386
Home  |  Center for Values  |  CHPS  |  CU Contacts  |  Legal & Trademarks
© 2007 Regents of the University of Colorado

    University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado 80309  ·  Campus Directory Information: (303) 492-1411