Department of Philosophy
People


categories

Faculty
Staff
Grad Students
Visitors
Affiliated Faculty
Alumni
 
Office hours Fall 2014

faculty
Dominic Bailey
Assistant Professor
PhD, Cambridge, 2004.  Ancient Philosophy, History of Philosophy.

David Barnett
Associate Professor
PhD, NYU, 2003.  Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind.

David Boonin
Professor,
Associate Dean
PhD, Pittsburgh, 1992.   Applied Ethics, Ethics, History of Ethics (especially Hobbes).

Eric Chwang
Assistant Professor
PhD, Princeton, 2003; MD, Baylor, 2005.  Applied Ethics, Normative Ethics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Language.

Carol Cleland
Professor
PhD, Brown, 1981.  Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Logic.

Andrew Cowell
Professor,
Chair


Iskra Fileva
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Boston University, 2009. Ethics, Moral Psychology.

Graeme Forbes
Professor, Department Executive Officer
DPhil, Oxford, 1980.  Semantics, Metaphysics, Logic, Epistemology.

Benjamin Hale
Associate Professor
PhD, Stony Brook, 2004; MPA, Arizona, 1997.  Environmental Ethics, Bioethics, Public Policy and Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Ethical Theory.

Robert Hanna
Professor
PhD, Yale, 1989.  Kant & Kantian Themes in Contemporary Philosophy; Post-Kantian European Philosophy; Philosophy of Mind, Knowledge, & Action; Ethics.

Chris Heathwood
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
PhD, UMass, 2005. Ethics, especially well-being and metaethics; Philosophy of Religion; Metaphysics.

Adam Hosein
Assistant Professor
PhD, MIT, 2009.  Ethics, Political Philosophy.

Michael Huemer
Professor
PhD, Rutgers, 1998.  Epistemology, Ethics, Metaethics, Political Philosophy.

Alison Jaggar
College Professor of Distinction
PhD, Buffalo, 1970.  Contemporary Social, Moral and Political Philosophy, often from a feminist perspective.

Dan Kaufman
Associate Professor
PhD, UMass, 2000.  Early Modern, Metaphysics, Medieval.

Mitzi Lee
Associate Professor, Placement Director
PhD, Harvard, 1996.  Ancient Greek and Roman Philosophy.

Bradley Monton
Associate Professor
PhD, Princeton, 1999.  Philosophy of Science (especially Physics), Probabilistic Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Time.

Alastair Norcross
Associate Professor
PhD, Syracuse, 1991.  Ethics, Applied Ethics, Political Philosophy.

Graham Oddie
Professor
PhD, London, 1979.  Metaphysics, Value Theory, Metaethics, Applied Ethics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophical Logic.

Robert Pasnau
Professor
PhD, Cornell, 1994.  Mind and Knowledge, especially in the medieval and early modern periods.

Rob Rupert
Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
PhD, Illinois-Chicago, 1996.  Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Science.

Raul Saucedo
Assistant Professor
PhD, Cornell, 2009. Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Science.

Michael Tooley
College Professor of Distinction
PhD, Princeton, 1968.  Metaphysics and Epistemology, Ethics (especially Applied Ethics), Philosophy of Religion.

Ajume Wingo
Associate Professor
PhD, Wisconsin, 1997.  Social and Political Philosophy, African Philosophy, Aesthetics.

Michael E. Zimmerman
Professor
PhD, Tulane, 1974.   Environmental Philosophy, Heidegger, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Buddhism, Nietzsche.

instructors and lecturers
Garrett Bredeson Email: garrett.bredeson@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 280
 
Sheralee Brindell
Phone: (303) 492-3392
Email: brindell@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 169A
Website: http://spot.colorado.edu/~brindell
 
Martin Chamorro Email: chamorro@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 142
 
Mariella Colvin Phone: (303) 492-6132
Email: Mariella.colvin@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 186
 
Thomas Metcalf Phone: (303) 492-6132
Email: Thomas.metcalf@colorado.edu
Website: http://colorado.academia.edu/ThomasMetcalf
 
Jason Potter Phone: (303) 492-9465
Email: jason.potter@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 273
Website: http://www.colorado.edu/philosophy/potter/index.aspx
 
Dan Sturgis Phone: (303) 735-5810
Email: daniel.sturgis@colorado.edu
Office:  HLMS 170
Website: http://spot.colorado.edu/~sturgisd/
 
Katharyn Waidler Phone: (303) 492-6132
Email: katharyn.waidler@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 164B
 
Kacey Warren Phone: (303) 492-6132
Email: kacey.warren@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 164B
 
David Youkey Phone: (303) 492-6132
Email: dyoukey@yahoo.com
Office: HLMS 164B
 
Michael Zerella Phone: (303) 492-6132
Email: michael.zerella@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 282
 

emeritus
Leonard Boonin Email: boonin@colorado.edu
 
John Fisher

Email: jafisher@colorado.edu
Office: HLMS 190
Diane Mayer

Email: diane.mayer@colorado.edu
Ed L. Miller Email: edlmiller@aol.com
 
Claudia Mills Email: claudia.mills@colorado.edu
 
Wes Morriston Email: wes.morriston@colorado.edu
 
  

Philosophy Department, UCB 232, Boulder, CO 80309-0232
Hellems 167  |  Phone: (303) 492-6132  |  Fax: (303) 492-8386
Home  |  Center for Values  |  CHPS  |  CU Contacts  |  Legal & Trademarks
© 2007 Regents of the University of Colorado

    University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado 80309  ·  Campus Directory Information: (303) 492-1411