People

Faculty

Dominic Bailey

Dominic Bailey

Associate Professor
PhD, Cambridge, 2004. Ancient Philosophy, History of Philosophy.
dominic.bailey@colorado.edu     303 735-4194
David Boonin

David Boonin

Professor • Director, Center for Values and Social Policy
PhD, Pittsburgh, 1992. Applied Ethics, Ethics, History of Ethics (especially Hobbes).
david.boonin@colorado.edu     303 492-7527
Garrett Bredeson

Garrett Bredeson

Instructor
garrett.bredeson@colorado.edu     303 492-6132
Carol Cleland

Carol Cleland

Professor
PhD, Brown, 1981. Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Logic.
carol.cleland@colorado.edu     303 492-7619
Iskra Fileva

Iskra Fileva

Assistant Professor
PhD, Boston University, 2009. Ethics, Moral Psychology.
iskra.fileva@colorado.edu     303 492-7390
Graeme Forbes

Graeme Forbes

Professor
DPhil, Oxford, 1980. Semantics, Metaphysics, Logic, Epistemology.
graeme.forbes@colorado.edu     303 492-7120
Chris Heathwood

Chris Heathwood

Associate Professor • Director of Undergraduate Studies
PhD, UMass, 2005. Ethics, especially well-being and metaethics, Philosophy of Religion, Metaphysics.
heathwood@colorado.edu     303 735-0450
Adam Hosein

Adam Hosein

Associate Professor
PhD, MIT, 2009. Ethics, Political Philosophy.
adam.hosein@colorado.edu     303 492-4105
Mike Huemer

Michael Huemer

Professor
PhD, Rutgers, 1998. Epistemology, Ethics, Metaethics, Political Philosophy.
michael.huemer@colorado.edu     303 492-7276
Alison Jaggar

Alison Jaggar

Professor • College Professor of Distinction
PhD, Buffalo, 1970. Contemporary Social, Moral, and Political Philosophy, often from a feminist perspective.
jaggar@colorado.edu     303 492-8997
Dan Kaufman

Dan Kaufman

Associate Professor
PhD, UMass, 2000. Early Modern, Metaphysics, Medieval.
dan.kaufman@colorado.edu     303 735-3101
Mitzi Lee

Mitzi Lee

Associate Professor
PhD, Harvard, 1996. Ancient Greek and Roman Philosophy.
mitzi.lee@colorado.edu     303 735-0661
Alastair Norcross

Alastair Norcross

Associate Professor
PhD, Syracuse, 1991. Ethics, Applied Ethics, Political Philosophy.
alastair.norcross@colorado.edu     303 735-3034
Graham Oddie

Graham Oddie

Professor
PhD, London, 1979. Metaphysics, Value Theory, Metaethics, Applied Ethics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophical Logic.
oddie@colorado.edu     303 492-22709
Robert Pasnau

Robert Pasnau

Professor • Director, Center for Western Civilization, Thought and Policy
PhD, Cornell, 1994. Mind and Knowledge, especially in the medieval and early modern periods.
pasnau@colorado.edu     303 492-4837
Jason Potter

Jason Potter

Instructor
jason.potter@colorado.edu     303 492-7098
Rob Rupert

Robert Rupert

Professor • Director of Graduate Studies
PhD, Illinois-Chicago, 1996. Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Science.
robert.rupert@colorado.edu     303 735-0988
Raul Saucedo

Raul Saucedo

Assistant Professor
PhD, Cornell, 2009. Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Science.
raul.saucedo@colorado.edu     303 492-6977
Matthias Steup

Matthias Steup

Professor • Chair
Ph.D. Brown, 1985. Epistemology, skepticism, perceptual justification
matthias.steup@colorado.edu     303 492-8449
Dan Sturgis

Dan Sturgis

Senior Instructor
daniel.sturgis@colorado.edu     303 735-5810
Michael Tooley

Michael Tooley

Professor • College Professor of Distinction
PhD, Princeton, 1968. Metaphysics and Epistemology, Ethics (especially Applied Ethics), Philosophy of Religion.
tooley@colorado.edu     303 492-6761
Tiziana Vistarini

Tiziana Vistarini

Instructor
tiziana.vistarini@colorado.edu     303 492-6132
Ajume Wingo

Ajume Wingo

Associate Professor • Associate Director, Center for Values and Social Policy
PhD, Wisconsin, 1997. Social and Political Philosophy, African Philosophy, Aesthetics.
ajume.wingo@colorado.edu     303 492-3834
David Youkey

David Youkey

Instructor
PhD, University of Colorado Boulder. Applied ethics
david.youkey@colorado.edu     303 492-6132

Job Market Candidates

Tyler Huismann

Tyler Huismann

PhD program; BS Engineering 2006, MA Philosophy 2010, University of Michigan Ann Arbor; Areas of interest: Ancient and medieval philosophy, metaphysics, explanation, philosophy of mind, and logic
Dan Lowe

Dan Lowe

PhD program; BA, Evergreen State University; MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2011; Areas of interest: political philosophy, feminist philosophy, and their intersection with moral epistemology

Matthew Pike

PhD program; BA, University of Colorado, Denver, 2001; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder (enrolled 2007-8); Research interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Logic, Philosophy of Science and Mathematics
Jonathan Spelman

Jonathan Spelman

PhD program; BA, Philosophy and Political Science, Ashland University 2008; MA, Philosophy, University of Missouri--Saint Louis, 2010; Areas of interest: Normative and Applied Ethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Law, and Philosophy of Religion
Joseph Stenberg

Joseph Stenberg

AOS: Medieval Philosophy AOC: Ethics, Philosophy of Religion, Modern Philosophy, and Ancient Philosophy
Chad Vance

Chad Vance

PhD: 2013. Currently Visiting Assistant Professor at the College of William & Mary. Areas of interest: Metaphysics, Ethics, Early Modern Philosophy, Epistemology, and Philosophy of Religion
Alexander Zambrano

Alexander Zambrano

PhD program; BA, Loyola Marymount University, 2012; Areas of Interest: Biomedical and applied ethics, metaphysics, philosophy of religion

Tenured and Tenure-Track Philosophers in other departments

Allan Franklin

Allan Franklin

Professor
Physics
Research Interests : The history and philosophy of science, with particular emphasis on the role of experiment in physics.
Ben Hale

Benjamin Hale

Associate Professor
Environmental Studies
PhD, Stony Brook, 2004; MPA, Arizona, 1997. Environmental Ethics, Bioethics, Public Policy and Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy, Ethical Theory.
bhale@colorado.edu     303 735-1576

Lecturers

Francis Beckwith

Visiting Scholar
francis.beckwith@colorado.edu     303 492-2276
Andrew Chapman

Andrew Chapman

Lecturer
andrew.chapman@colorado.edu     303 492-6132

Hye-Ryoung Kang

AOS: Social and Political Philosophy (with special emphasis on Global Justice and Human Rights), Feminist Philosophy, Ethics
hye-ryoung.kang@colorado.edu     720-492-0143
Nathalie Morasch

Nathalie Morasch

Lecturer
nathalie.morasch@colorado.edu     303 492-6132

Benjamin Rohrs

PhD program, entered 2010; BA, Biola University, 2008; MA, Philosophy, Northern Illinois University, 2010; Interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics
benjamin.rohrs@colorado.edu     303 492-7619

Graduate Students

Cheryl Abbate

Ph.D. program; BA University of St. Thomas, MA Colorado State University
Mark Boespflug

Mark Boespflug

MA program, later PhD program; MA in Philosophy 2013, Biola University

Paul Bowman

PhD program; MA in Philosophy 2010, Northern Illinois University; Areas of interest: moral and political philosophy
paul.bowman@colorado.edu     303 492-4883
Cherie Braden

Cherie Braden

Ph.D. program; B.A. University of North Carolina at Charlotte, 2010; Areas of Interest: Epistemology, Formal Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Logic, Perception

Judith Carlisle

MA program; BA, Furman University, 2016
judith.carlisle@colorado.edu     303 492-4883
Jasmine Carter

Jasmine Carter

PhD program; BS Psychology/Cognitive Neuroscience 2014, University of Denver
Spencer Case

Spencer Case

PhD program; BA, Idaho State University, 2009; MA, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
spencer.case@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Jonathon Cavitt

MA program; BS Environmental Policy and Planning, Virginia Tech, 2000; Areas of interest: Philosophy of Science, Environmental Philosophy
Philip Choi

Philip Choi

PhD program; BA, Yonsei University, 2009; MA, Yonsei University, 2012

John Christmann

MA program; BA University of Pittsburgh, 2016

Daniel Coren

PhD program; BA, McMaster University, 2011; MA, McMaster University, 2013
daniel.coren@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Christopher Dengler

PhD program; BA, Pepperdine University, 2015
Samuel Director

Samuel Director

PhD program; BA, Whitworth University, 2015

Martin Eyestone

PhD program; BS, Management Information Systems and Computer Information Systems, 2003; MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2008; Areas of Interest: Philosophy of Religion, Ancient Philosophy, Logic
Jay Geyer

Jay Geyer

PhD program; BA, University of Illinois, 2010; MA, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012; Areas of interest: Ethics, Decision Theory, Environmental Philosophy
jay.geyer@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Jules Guidry

MA program; BA Philosophy 2014, Northwestern State University
Tyler Huismann

Tyler Huismann

PhD program; BS Engineering 2006, MA Philosophy 2010, University of Michigan Ann Arbor; Areas of interest: Ancient and medieval philosophy, metaphysics, explanation, philosophy of mind, and logic

Anthony Kelley

PhD program; BA, Columbia University, 2009; MA, Northern Illinois University, 2011
anthony.kelley@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Zak Kopeikin

MA program, later PhD program; BA, University of California Santa Barbara, 2013
zak.kopeikin@colorado.edu     303 492-4883
Benjamin Kultgen

Benjamin Kultgen

PhD program; BA, Harvard University, 2008; Areas of interest: Vagueness, Metaethics, Epistemology, Cognitive Science
benjamin.kultgen@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Eric Lee

PhD program; BA, Philosophy, University of Colorado, 2004
eric.lee@colorado.edu     303 492-6132
Alexandra Lloyd

Alexandra Lloyd

PhD program; BA, University of Toronto; MSc, Philosophy and Public Policy, London School of Economics, 2014
Dan Lowe

Dan Lowe

PhD program; BA, Evergreen State University; MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2011; Areas of interest: political philosophy, feminist philosophy, and their intersection with moral epistemology

Shane Melnitzer

PhD program; BA, University of California Berkeley, 2006; MA, Brandeis University, 2013
shane.melnitzer@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Erica Nieblas

MA program, later PhD program; BA, California State University Fullerton, 2010
erica.nieblas@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Caleb Pickard

PhD program; BS, Philosophy and Economics, University of Nebraska - Lincoln 2011; Areas of interest: Applied Ethics (particularly Consumer Ethics), Value Theory, History of Philosophy - Ancient, Logic
caleb.pickard@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Matthew Pike

PhD program; BA, University of Colorado, Denver, 2001; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder (enrolled 2007-8); Research interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Logic, Philosophy of Science and Mathematics

Erich Riesen

PhD program; MA Philosophy 2015, Northern Illinois University
erich.riesen@colorado.edu     303 492-4883
Ajene Robinson-Burris

Ajene Robinson-Burris

PhD program; BA, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, 2016
Gagan Sapkota

Gagan Sapkota

PhD program; BS Mathematics/Philosophy St. Peters College, 2012; MA Philosophy, Georgia State University, 2016

Michael Sechman

PhD program; BA, Philosophy, California State University, Northridge, 2010; Areas of interest: Modern Philosophy (esp., Hobbes, Locke, Berkeley, and Hume); Epistemology (esp., skepticism, rationality, virtue epistemology, ameliorative epistemology); Cognitive Science (esp., inference and judgment, cognitive illusions, evolutionary psychology)
Jonathan Spelman

Jonathan Spelman

PhD program; BA, Philosophy and Political Science, Ashland University 2008; MA, Philosophy, University of Missouri--Saint Louis, 2010; Areas of interest: Normative and Applied Ethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Law, and Philosophy of Religion
jonathan.spelman@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Lenhardt Stevens

MA program; BA English and Religious Studies, University of Leeds, 2013; MA Philosophy, University of Edinburgh, 2014. AOS Philosophy of Mind, Language, and Logic

Heather Stewart

MA program; BA University of Louisville, 2016
Maggie Taylor

Maggie Taylor

PhD program; MA Philosophy/Public Policy 2015, George Washington University

Lisa Thomas-Smith

MA program, later PhD program; BA, University of Illinois Springfield, 2010
Andrew Waldeck-Young

Andrew Waldeck-Young

MA program, later PhD program; BA, Clark University, 2012
andrew.young-1@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Joseph Wilson

PhD program; BA, University of California Berkeley 2010

Alexander Wolf-Root

MA program, later PhD program; BA, University of California Davis, 2009
Alexander Zambrano

Alexander Zambrano

PhD program; BA, Loyola Marymount University, 2012; Areas of Interest: Biomedical and applied ethics, metaphysics, philosophy of religion
alexander.zambrano@colorado.edu     303 492-4883

Staff

Terri Baldridge

Program Assistant
terri.baldridge@colorado.edu     303-735-3760

Kyle Clabaugh

Administrative Assistant
kyle.clabaugh@colorado.edu     303-492-3173
Karen Sites

Karen Sites

Graduate Administrator
karen.sites@colorado.edu     303-492-3172

University Faculty Affiliates

Marc Bekoff

Professor Emeritus
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Research Interests : Ethology, animal behavior, behavioral ecology, development and evolution of behavior, social communication and organization, animal protection, cognitive ethology, animal cognition.
Christopher Braider

Christopher Braider

Professor
French and Italian
Research Interests : 17th-century French literature, modern philosophy, literary theory.
Andrew Calabrese

Andrew Calabrese

Professor
Media Studies
Research Interests : The relationship between communications media and citizenship, with an emphasis on theoretical and practical issues of media and globalization.
andrew.calabrese@colorado.edu     303-492-5374
Michaele Ferguson

Michaele Ferguson

Associate Professor
Political Science
Research Interests : Contemporary Political Theory, Democratic Theory, Politics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language, Feminist Theory.
David Mapel

David Mapel

Associate Professor
Political Science
Research Interests : Contemporary moral and political theory (theories of social justice, political obligation and authority, democratic theory, First Amendment issues), ethical issues in international relations (military intervention, secession, just war theory, global distributive justice, international law and society).
Laura Michaelis

Laura Michaelis

Professor
Linguistics
Research Interests : Tense and aspect, corpus syntax, spoken-language syntax, discourse pragmatics, prosody, Construction Grammar, simulation semantics, Latin syntax and semantics.
Don Monk

Don Monk

Professor
Mathematics
Research Interests : Logic, Boolean Algebras.
Michael Mozer

Michael Mozer

Professor
Computer Science
Research Interests : Computational modeling, machine learning architectures and algorithms, integrated symbolic and subsymbolic computation, speech recognition, data mining, neural networks, cognitive science, cognitive neuroscience.
Jan Mycielski

Jan Mycielski

Professor Emeritus
Mathematics
Research Interests : Philosophy of Mathematics, Mathematical Logic, Set Theory, Theory of Knowledge.
Martha Palmer

Martha Palmer

Professor
Linguistics • Computer Science
Research Interests: Computational Linguistics, with a special emphasis on Semantics and its use in natural language processing applications such as Machine Translation, Information Extraction and Question Answering.

Steve Vanderheiden

Associate Professor
Political Science
Research Interests : normative political theory, environmental politics, environmental ethics, democratic theory.

Emeriti

Leonard Boonin

Leonard Boonin

Professor Emeritus
From 1970 to 1996, Leonard Boonin was a Professor of Philosophy at the University of Colorado Boulder where he also served at various points as the Chair of the Department and the Director of the Center for Values and Social Policy. He retired in 1996 as Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, having previously held positions at the University of Missouri, the State University of New York at Oswego, and Hunter College...

Sheralee Brindell

Senior Instructor Emerita
John Fisher

John Fisher

Professor Emeritus
Prof. John Fisher was a professor of philosophy here from 1968 to 2011 when he retired as Emeritus Professor of Philosophy. He received a BS in Physics from the University of Minnesota Twin Cities, Institute of Technology, and a PhD in philosophy from the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. He has published widely in areas including ethics, metaphysics and philosophy of language, but his area of specialty is aesthetics and...
Diane Mayer

Diane Mayer

Senior Instructor Emerita
Diane Mayer taught as an Instructor in the department from 1983 until 2011, when she retired as a Senior Instructor Emerita. She did her BA in Religion and Biblical Studies at Smith College (1968), and her PhD here at CU-Boulder in the 1970s, writing a dissertation on Kant, directed by Berel Lang. She put herself through grad school as a dispatcher for the CU police department, calmly handling emergency calls...

Ed Miller

Professor Emeritus
Claudia Mills

Claudia Mills

Associate Professor Emerita
Prof. Claudia Mills was a beloved philosophy professor here at CU-Boulder from 1991 to 2014, when she retired as Emeritus Associate Professor of Philosophy. She was born in New York City on August 21, 1954. She received her B.A. degree from Wellesley College in 1976, her M.A. degree from Princeton University in 1979, and a Ph.D. in philosophy from Princeton University in 1991. She also received an M.L.S. degree from...
Wes Morriston

Wes Morriston

Professor Emeritus
Prof. Wes Morriston was a professor of philosophy at CU-Boulder from 1972-2014 when he retired as Emeritus Professor of Philosophy. He received a BA in philosophy from Queen’s University in Belfast in 1967, then earned an MA and PhD in philosophy from Northwestern University in 1969 and 1972. Prof. Morriston specialized in the philosophy of religion, and published many papers in this area during his career, many of which are...
Michael Zimmerman

Michael Zimmerman

Professor Emeritus
Michael Zimmerman was Professor of Philosophy at Tulane University for 26 years, from 1975-2006, and then came to Boulder, where he was Director of the Center for Humanities and the Arts from 2006-2010. In 2010 he returned to teaching, and retired as Emeritus Professor of philosophy in 2015. He had an extraordinarily productive and successful scholarly career, writing in environmental philosophy, integral theory, Heidegger and Nietzsche, and Buddhism. He’s written...