Department of Philosophy
People


info

Program Description
Requirements
Other Funding
PhD Placement
MA Placement
Admissions

Graduate Students
Courses
RMPC
Grad Theses

Internal Policies
Handbook (pdf)
Living in Boulder (pdf)

our MA and PhD students
Aizpitarte Zabarte, Aitor (MA program: entered 2015)
• Univeristy of Barcelona 2015
aitoraizpitarte@gmail.com

Boespflug, Mark (MA program: entered 2015)
• MA in Philosophy 2013, Biola University
mkboespf@hotmail.com

Bowman, Paul (PhD program: entered 2010)
• MA in Philosophy 2010, Northern Illinois University
• Areas of interest: moral and political philosophy
pauljbowman@gmail.com

Carrick, Michael (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Vermont, 2010
michael.carrick@colorado.edu

Carter, Jasmine (PhD program: entered 2015)
• BS Psychology/Cognitive Neuroscience 2014, University of Denver
jasmine.carter@colorado.edu

Case, Spencer (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Idaho State University, 2009
• MA, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
spencer.case@colorado.edu

Cavitt, Jonathon (MA program: entered 2015)
• BS Environmental Policy and Planning, Virginia Tech, 2000
• Areas of interest: Philosophy of Science, Environmental Philosophy
jonathon.cavitt@colorado.edu

Choi, Philip (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Yonsei University, 2009
• MA, Yonsei University, 2012
philip.choi@colorado.edu

Coren, Daniel (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, McMaster University, 2011
• MA, McMaster University, 2013
daniel.coren@colorado.edu

Egner, Joshua (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, Colorado State University, 2010
joshua.egner@colorado.edu

Eyestone, Martin (PhD program: entered 2005)
• BA, Philosophy 2003; BS, Management Information Systems and Computer Information Systems, 2003; MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2008
• Areas of Interest: Philosophy of Religion, Ancient Philosophy, Logic
• Website: http://spot.colorado.edu/~eyestone/
martin.eyestone@colorado.edu

Geyer, Jay (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Illinois, 2010
• MA, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
• Areas of interest:  Ethics, Decision Theory, Environmental Philosophy.
jay.geyer@colorado.edu

Gronholz, Shane (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Whitworth University, 2005, Philosophy and Religion; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2008, Thesis: Reasons, Morality and God
• Areas of Interest: Metaethics, Philosophy of Religion.
smgronholz@gmail.com

Guidry, Jules (MA program: entered 2015)
• BA Philosophy 2014, Northwestern State University
juleswillisguidry@gmail.com

Huismann, Tyler (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BS Engineering 2006, MA Philosophy 2010, University of Michigan Ann Arbor
• Areas of interest: Ancient and medieval philosophy, metaphysics, explanation, philosophy of mind, and logic.
tyler.huismann@colorado.edu

Kelley, Anthony (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Columbia University, 2009
• MA, Northern Illinois University, 2011
anthony.kelley@colorado.edu

Kopeikin, Zak (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Santa Barbara, 2013
zak.kopeikin@colorado.edu

Kultgen, Benjamin (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Harvard University, 2008.
• Areas of interest: philosphy of mind, cognitive science, metaphysics
benjamin.kultgen@colorado.edu

Lee, Eric (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Philosophy, University of Colorado, 2004.
eric.lee@colorado.edu

Lloyd, Alexandra (PhD program: entered 2015)
• BA, University of Toronto
• MSc, Philosophy and Public Policy, London School of Economics, 2014
alexandra.lloyd@colorado.edu

Lowe, Dan (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Evergreen State University
• MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2011.
• Areas of interest: ethics (metaethics, axiology), political philosophy (distributive justice, self-ownership, freedom), feminist philosophy (standpoint epistemology, feminist ethics).
daniel.lowe@colorado.edu

Melnitzer, Shane (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Berkeley, 2006
• MA, Brandeis University, 2013
shane.melnitzer@colorado.edu

Nieblas, Erica (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2011)
• BA, California State University Fullerton, 2010
erica.nieblas@colorado.edu

Pagano, Emilie (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2012
emilie.pagano@colorado.edu

Pickard, Caleb (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of Nebraska at Lincoln, 2011.
caleb.pickard@colorado.edu

Pike, Matthew (PhD program: entered 2008)
• BA, University of Colorado, Denver, 2001; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder (enrolled 2007-8).
• Research interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Logic, Philosophy of Science and Mathematics.
• Personal webpage: http://matt-pike.com/philosophy.php
• Business webpage: http://www.ethicsedge.com
matthew.pike@colorado.edu

Renninger, Rebecca (PhD program: entered 2009)
• BA, Davidson College, 2008.
• Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, and Action Theory.
rebecca.renninger@colorado.edu

Riesen, Erich (PhD program: entered 2015)
• MA Philosophy 2015, Northern Illinois University
eriesen@sandiego.edu

Rohrs, Benjamin (PhD program: entered 2010)
• MA, Philosophy, Northern Illinois University, 2010; BA, Biola University, 2008.
• Interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics.
benjamin.rohrs@colorado.edu

Sechman, Michael (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Philosophy, California State University, Northridge, 2010.
• Areas of interest: Modern Philosophy (esp., Hobbes, Locke, Berkeley, and Hume); Epistemology (esp., skepticism, rationality, virtue epistemology, ameliorative epistemology); Cognitive Science (esp., inference and judgment, cognitive illusions, evolutionary psychology).
• Presentations: “Situationism and Epistemic Virtue,” presented at the North Carolina Philosophical Society annual conference, February 2012 with Mark Alfano, John Doris, Lauren Olin and Guy Axtell.
michael.sechman@colorado.edu

Smith, Topher (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, Centre College, 2012
christopher.smith-2@colorado.edu

Spelman, Jonathan (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Philosophy and Political Science, Ashland University 2008; MA, Philosophy, University of Missouri--Saint Louis, 2010
• Areas of interest: Ethics (particularly Normative Ethics), Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion.
• Presentation: "Moral Luck and Moral Counterfactual Assessment," Stephen L. Weber Graduate Conference in Ethics (San Diego State University).
jonathan.spelman@colorado.edu

Stenberg, Joseph (PhD program: entered 2011)
• MA, Philosophy (2011), University of Colorado at Boulder.
• BA, History (2006), Liberal Arts (2007), Colorado Christian University.
• Publications: "Considerandum quid sit beatitudo: Aquinas on what happiness really is." Res Philosophica. Forthcoming, January 2016; "Divine properties, parts, and parity." International Journal of Philosophy and Theology. Vol. 75, No. 5 (2014), p. 388-405; Review of Grand Theories and Everyday Beliefs by Wallace Matson, with Robert Pasnau. Summer, 2012.
• Selected Presentations: "Thomas Aquinas on the relationship between happiness and virtue." Fifth International Congress on the Virtuous Life. Tilburg University, The Netherlands (December 2015); "Aquinas on the relationship between vision and delight in perfect happiness." Medieval Philosophy in the United Kingdom Meeting (November 2015); "Solving Aristotle's puzzle: Aquinas on the relationship between perfect and imperfect happiness." Dutch Seminar in Medieval Philosophy. University of Groningen (October 2015); "Considerandum best quid sit beatitudo": Aquinas on what happiness really is. University of Uppsala (October 2015); "Happiness on earth (kind of) as it is in heaven: Aquinas on imperfect happiness." University of Wyoming Colloquium Talk (November 2014); "Locke on individuation and kinds." Locke Workshop, CUNY (March 2014); Invited Talk: "Aquinas on what makes us happy." Toronto Colloquium in Medieval Philosophy (September 2013); "The case of <p> and <p&p>." Central Division APA (February 2013); "Aristotle, the common good, and το καλόν." Pacific APA (April 2011).
• Areas of interest: history of philosophy (especially medieval philosophy), philosophy of religion, ethics (especially wellbeing).
joseph.stenberg@colorado.edu

Taylor, Maggie (PhD program: entered 2015)
• MA Philosophy/Public Policy 2015, George Washington University
mstaylor@gwmail.gwu.edu

Thomas-Smith, Lisa (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of Illinois Springfield, 2010
lisa.thomassmith@colorado.edu

Waldeck-Young, Andrew (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, Clark University, 2012
andrew.young-1@colorado.edu

Wilson, Joseph (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of California Berkeley 2010.
joseph.wilson-1@colorado.edu

Wolf-Root, Alexander (PhD program: entered 2014; MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Davis, 2009
alexander.wolfroot@colorado.edu

Zambrano, Alexander (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, Loyola Marymount University, 2012
• Areas of Interest: Biomedical and applied ethics, metaphysics, philosophy of religion
alexander.zambrano@colorado.edu



Please alert the webmaster to any mistakes or omissions.

  

Philosophy Department, UCB 232, Boulder, CO 80309-0232
Hellems 167  |  Phone: (303) 492-6132  |  Fax: (303) 492-8386
Home  |  Center for Values  |  CHPS  |  CU Contacts  |  Legal & Trademarks
© 2007 Regents of the University of Colorado

    University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado 80309  ·  Campus Directory Information: (303) 492-1411