Department of Philosophy
People


info

Program Description
Requirements
Other Funding
PhD Placement
MA Placement
Admissions

Graduate Students
Courses
RMPC
Grad Theses

Internal Policies
Handbook (pdf)
Living in Boulder (pdf)

our MA and PhD students
Bowman, Paul (PhD program: entered 2010)
• MA in Philosophy 2010, Northern Illinois University
• Areas of interest: moral and political philosophy
pauljbowman@gmail.com

Brockman, Amanda (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Colgate University
• Areas of interest: ethics, especially medical ethics and metaethics
amanda.brockman@colorado.edu

Byrd, Nicholas (MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, Palm Beach Atlantic University, 2009
• Website: http://www.byrdnick.com
nicholas.byrd@colorado.edu

Carrick, Michael (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Vermont, 2010
michael.carrick@colorado.edu

Casalbore, Nick (MA program: entered 2011)
• BA, Depauw University
• Areas of interest: metaphysics and epistemology, quite generally
nicholas.casalbore@colorado.edu

Case, Spencer (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Idaho State University, 2009
• MA, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
spencer.case@colorado.edu

Cesare, Nicolas (MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, Boise State University, 2012
nicolas.cesare@colorado.edu

Chan, Rebecca (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Boston University 2007
• JD, University of Colorado at Boulder 2010
• MA in Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2011
• Areas of interest: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion
rebecca.chan@colorado.edu

Chapman, Andrew (PhD program: entered 2009)
• BA, Ithaca College, 2007; BM, Ithaca College, 2007; MA, Northern Illinois University, 2009.
• Research Interests: Epistemology (especially the nature of justification and non-conceptualism), metaethics (especially the nature of normativity), and the history of philosophy (especially Kant and the 20th Century Anglophone and Phenomenological traditions)
• Publications: In Defense of Intuitions: A New Rationalist Manifesto (2013, Palgrave), co-authored with Addison Ellis, Robert Hanna, Tyler Hildebrand, and Henry Pickford
• Service: Organizer, Philosophy and Inclusion Colloquium (2013); Graduate Student Co-President (2012-13); Member, Graduate Curriculum Committee (2011-13); Member, Graduate Student Recruitment Committee (2010-13); Co-Organizer, 14th Annual Rocky Mountain Philosophy Conference (2012)
andrew.chapman@colorado.edu

Choi, Philip (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Yonsei University, 2009
• MA, Yonsei University, 2012
philip.choi@colorado.edu

Coren, Daniel (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, McMaster University, 2011
• MA, McMaster University, 2013
daniel.coren@colorado.edu

Dang, Jonathan (MA program: entered 2009)
• BA, Philosophy, University of Hawaii at Manoa, 2009.
• Interests: normative ethics, bioethics (especially clinical ethics, pediatric ethics, reproductive ethics, palliative care, end-of-life care, issues dealing with autonomy), applied ethics.
jonathan.dang@colorado.edu

Dingman, Kylie (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Nevada Reno, 2013
kylie.dingman@colorado.edu

Egner, Joshua (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, Colorado State University, 2010
joshua.egner@colorado.edu

Etxeberria Altuna, Erlantz (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA Philosophy, Autonomous University of Madrid, 2012
• BA Social and Cultural Anthropology, University of the Basque Country, 2013
• BE University of the Basque Country, 2008
erlantz.etxeberriaaltuna@colorado.edu

Eyestone, Martin (PhD program: entered 2005)
• BA, Philosophy 2003; BS, Management Information Systems and Computer Information Systems, 2003; MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2008
• Main Areas of Interest: Philosophy of Religion, Ancient Philosophy, Logic
• Website: http://spot.colorado.edu/~eyestone/
martin.eyestone@colorado.edu

Fraley, Joseph (MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, Western Washington University, 2011
joseph.fraley@colorado.edu

Geyer, Jay (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Illinois, 2010
• MA, University of Colorado Boulder, 2012
• Areas of interest:  Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion.
jay.geyer@colorado.edu

Gronholz, Shane (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Whitworth University, 2005, Philosophy and Religion; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2008, Thesis: Reasons, Morality and God
• Areas of Interest: Metaethics, Philosophy of Religion.
smgronholz@gmail.com

Growden, Michael (PhD program: entered 2011)
• MA in Philosophy, University of Illinois-Urbana Champaign
• Areas of interest: just war theory
michael.growden@colorado.edu

Hall, James (MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, Arizona State University, 2011
james.hall@colorado.edu

Haramia, Chelsea (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2005; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2010.
• Research Areas: Procreative Ethics, Population Ethics, Environmental Ethics, Feminist Philosophy, Bioethics, Animal Ethics.
• Publications: "Our Responsibility to the Non-existent" in Southwest Philosophy Review (vol. 29, no. 1, Jan. 2013); "PGD and Parental Obligations: What Parents Owe to Communities That Do Not Yet Exist" in The American Journal of Bioethics (vol. 13, no. 10, Oct. 2013); "Fictional Objects, Future Objectives: Why Existence Matters Less Than You Think" (co-authored with Eva Dadlez) in Philosophy and Literature (forthcoming).
• Awards: Florence Husted Lowe and F. Rex Lowe Fellowship (2013-2014); President's Prize at the Southwest Philosophical Society Conference (2012).
• Service: Graduate Student Co-president (2013-2014), Diversity Outreach Program Coordinator (2013-2014), Climate Committee Representative (2012-2013), Co-organizer of the Rocky Mountain Philosophy Conference (2013).
• Website: https://sites.google.com/site/chelseaharamia
• Academia.edu webpage: http://colorado.academia.edu/ChelseaHaramia
chelsea.haramia@colorado.edu

Helsel, John (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BS Physics 2011, Furman University
• Interests: History of Philosophy, Ethics (particularly metaethics), Epistemology, Philosophy of Physics.
john.helsel@colorado.edu

Huerter, Sofia (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Minnesota Twin Cities, 2012
• Publications: University of Minnesota's Conservatory: "An Analysis of a General Moral Obligation to Obey the Law," and Gadfly Literary Magazine: "We Shall Overcome: The Problem of Self-Infatuation in Western Ideology and Conflict Resolution," and "Reality is Indifferent as to Whether or Not We Believe: The Ethical Dimensions of Found Footage in Werner Herzog's Grizzly Man."
sofia.huerter@colorado.edu

Huismann, Tyler (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BS Engineering 2006, MA Philosophy 2010, University of Michigan Ann Arbor
• Areas of interest: Ancient and medieval philosophy, metaphysics, explanation, philosophy of mind, and logic.
tyler.huismann@colorado.edu

Jenkins, Ryan (PhD program: entered 2009)
• BA, Florida State University, summa cum laude, 2008.
• Publications: "Cyberwarfare as ideal war". Forthcoming. Invited, peer-reviewed book chapter. Binary Bullets: The Ethics of Cyberwarfare, Oxford University Press. (eds. Bradley Strawser, Adam Henschke, and Fritz Allhoff.); "Is Stuxnet Physical? Does It Matter?", Journal of Military Ethics, Vol. 12, No. 1, April 2013 (2011).
• Presentations: "A rule-consequentialist in bello moral code." Inaugural Conference on the Ethics of War in the 21st Century, Stockholm Centre for the Ethics of War and Peace, Stockholm, Sweden. May, 2014; "Rule-consequentialism and two forms of moral relativism." 17th Oxford Philosophy Graduate Conference, Oxford, England. November, 2013.
• Service: Graduate student president 2012-2013; assistant organizer, Rocky Mountain Ethics Congress (RoME) IV; co-managing editor, Ethics, Policy & Environment; department representative, United Government of Graduate Students.
• Interests: normative ethics (consequentialism), military ethics, emerging technologies.
• Website: http://colorado.academia.edu/RyanJenkins
ryan.r.jenkins@colorado.edu

Kelley, Anthony (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, Columbia University, 2009
• MA, Northern Illinois University, 2011
anthony.kelley@colorado.edu

Kopeikin, Zak (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Santa Barbara, 2013
zak.kopeikin@colorado.edu

Kultgen, Benjamin (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Harvard University, 2008.
• Areas of interest: philosphy of mind, cognitive science, metaphysics
benjamin.kultgen@colorado.edu

Lee, Eric (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Philosophy, University of Colorado, 2004.
eric.lee@colorado.edu

Lowe, Dan (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Evergreen State University; MA, Philosophy, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2011.
• Areas of interest: ethics (metaethics, axiology), political philosophy (distributive justice, self-ownership, freedom), feminist philosophy (standpoint epistemology, feminist ethics).
daniel.lowe@colorado.edu

Marks, Tucker (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, Colgate University, 2013
tucker.marks@colorado.edu

Melnitzer, Shane (PhD program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Berkeley, 2006
• MA, Brandeis University, 2013
shane.melnitzer@colorado.edu

Nieblas, Erica (MA program: entered 2011)
• BA, California State University Fullerton, 2010
erica.nieblas@colorado.edu

Pagano, Emilie (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2012
emilie.pagano@colorado.edu

Peterson, Aaron (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, Montana State University, 2007; MA, Brandeis University, 2012.
aaron.peterson-1@colorado.edu

Pickard, Caleb (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of Nebraska at Lincoln, 2011.
caleb.pickard@colorado.edu

Pike, Matthew (PhD program: entered 2008)
• BA, University of Colorado, Denver, 2001; MA, University of Colorado at Boulder (enrolled 2007-8).
• Research interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Logic, Philosophy of Science and Mathematics.
• Personal webpage: http://matt-pike.com/philosophy.php
• Business webpage: http://www.ethicsedge.com
matthew.pike@colorado.edu

Renninger, Rebecca (PhD program: entered 2009)
• BA, Davidson College, 2008.
• Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, and Action Theory.
rebecca.renninger@colorado.edu

Rohrs, Benjamin (PhD program: entered 2010)
• MA, Philosophy, Northern Illinois University, 2010; BA, Biola University, 2008.
• Interests: Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics.
benjamin.rohrs@colorado.edu

Saenz, Noel (PhD program: entered 2009)
• BA, Biola University.
• MA in Philosophy, Western Michigan University.
https://sites.google.com/site/noelblassaenz/
noel.saenz@colorado.edu

Sechman, Michael (PhD program: entered 2011)
• BA, Philosophy, California State University, Northridge, 2010.
• Areas of interest: Modern Philosophy (esp., Hobbes, Locke, Berkeley, and Hume); Epistemology (esp., skepticism, rationality, virtue epistemology, ameliorative epistemology); Cognitive Science (esp., inference and judgment, cognitive illusions, evolutionary psychology).
• Presentations: “Situationism and Epistemic Virtue,” presented at the North Carolina Philosophical Society annual conference, February 2012 with Mark Alfano, John Doris, Lauren Olin and Guy Axtell.
michael.sechman@colorado.edu

Smith, Christopher (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, Centre College, 2012
christopher.smith-2@colorado.edu

Spelman, Jonathan (PhD program: entered 2010)
• BA, Philosophy and Political Science, Ashland University 2008; MA, Philosophy, University of Missouri--Saint Louis, 2010
• Areas of interest: Ethics (particularly Normative Ethics), Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion.
• Presentation: "Moral Luck and Moral Counterfactual Assessment," Stephen L. Weber Graduate Conference in Ethics (San Diego State University).
jonathan.spelman@colorado.edu

Stenberg, Joseph (PhD program: entered 2011)
• MA, Philosophy (2011), University of Colorado at Boulder.
• BA, History (2006), Liberal Arts (2007), Colorado Christian University.
• Lumen Christi Institute participant, Summer 2011, "Aquinas and Contemporary Ethical Theory."
• Presentations: "Aristotle, the common good, and τὸ καλόν," presented at the Pacific APA Conference, April, 2011; "Atomism and Irreducibly Social Goods," presented at the North Carolina Philosophical Society annual conference, February, 2011; "Rule Consequentialism, Inconsistency, and the Right," presented at the Michigan State Philosophy Graduate Student Conference, March, 2010.
• Areas of interest: history of philosophy (especially medieval philosophy), philosophy of religion, ethics.
joseph.stenberg@colorado.edu

Thomas-Smith, Lisa (MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of Illinois Springfield, 2010
lisa.thomassmith@colorado.edu

Vollmer, Chaz (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of Colorado Denver, 2011
chaz.vollmer@colorado.edu

Weirich, Kelly (PhD program: entered 2009)
• BA, Philosophy and English, Whitworth University, 2009.
• Awards: Thomas Edwin Devaney Fellowship (AY 2009-2011), Lilly Graduate Fellowship Program (AY 2009-2012), Katherine Lamont Scholarship (2011).
• Areas of Interest: metaphysics, philosophy of language, and philosophy of religion
• Presentations: "Backwards Explanation: What's Wrong with Weak Ground" at the Rutgers-Princeton Graduate Philosophy Conference, Rutgers University (March 2011); "The Paradox of Commitments" at the Stephen L. Weber Graduate Conference in Ethics, San Diego State University (April 2011).
• Participated in the three-week St. Thomas Summer Seminar in Philosophy of Religion at the University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, MN (June-July 2011).
• Areas of Interest: philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, free will, modality, philosophy of religion.
kelly.vincent@colorado.edu

Wilson, Joseph (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, University of California Berkeley 2010.
joseph.wilson-1@colorado.edu

Wolf-Root, Alexander (MA program: entered 2013)
• BA, University of California Davis, 2009
alexander.wolfroot@colorado.edu

Young, Andrew (MA program: entered 2012)
• BA, Clark University, 2012
andrew.young-1@colorado.edu

Zambrano, Alexander (PhD program: entered 2012)
• BA, Loyola Marymount University, 2012
• Areas of Interest: metaphysics, philosophy of religion, medieval philosophy, metaethics, and applied ethics.
alexander.zambrano@colorado.edu



Please alert the webmaster to any mistakes or omissions.

  

Philosophy Department, UCB 232, Boulder, CO 80309-0232
Hellems 167  |  Phone: (303) 492-6132  |  Fax: (303) 492-8386
Home  |  Center for Values  |  CHPS  |  CU Contacts  |  Legal & Trademarks
© 2007 Regents of the University of Colorado

    University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado 80309  ·  Campus Directory Information: (303) 492-1411