|Title||Start Date & Time||End Date & Time|
|Service Restored: Network Service at Denison (due to power work)||Wednesday, November 26, 2014 - 11:26am||Wednesday, November 26, 2014 - 4:13pm|
Managers of lists must be sure to send commands in plain text email format, rather than HTML format. Look below to see how to switch this setting using different email clients.
With the advent of the identity management (IdM) system, lists now have owners in two different places. First, owners exist on the list server (there can be multiple owners on the list server for each list) and second, a secondary account for the list must be owned by an individual in idM (IdM only allows one owner).
Lists are not administered in IdM, nor do they need to be activated or claimed. They appear in IdM for correct routing of emails to and from the list. They must be owned by an individual (they cannot be owned by a group email account in IdM, though a group email account can own and administer lists on the list server).
As an owner, if you put the word quiet before an add or delete command, the subscriber being added or removed will NOT be notified of the action being taken. This can come in handy if you're removing a subscriber address that is no longer functioning. If you opt for the list server to notify them, you as list owner, will receive another undeliverable bounce back.
e.g. quiet delete bungee b0oingg Chip.Buffalo@colorado.edu
If you have changed your Campus Published Email Address and/or your Outgoing Email Address in IdM, since becoming an owner or subscriber of a list, you will no longer be able to administer your list, or send to lists that are open for subscribers to send to them. The list server will no longer recognize you as an owner or subscriber.
The list server is set up to not allow duplicate emails so as to avoid email loops. If an owner or subscriber needs to resend an email that was previously sent, you need to change the body of the email. Adding an extra blank line after your signature is sufficient.
If a duplicate email is sent to a list, the list owner(s) will receive an error that refers to 'checksum'. Checksum refers to the list servers process of adding up the binary characters in the body of the email, storing that value and then comparing that summation to previous submissions. If there is a match, it is a duplicate message that will not be allowed to be sent to the list.
Emails sent to the list must be 1.5 MB in size or less. This includes both attachments and the body of the email. Because of the number of lists on the server and the number of subscribers, we cannot increase this limit, or we risk the integrity of multiple campus-wide computing services.
If a subscriber has their UCB email account forwarded to a non-UCB email account and that account becomes disabled (no longer exists, over quota, etc.) their forwarded address will bounce back to the list server. The non-UCB address may not be the address that is subscribed to the list.
While a list can be setup to automatically remove an undeliverable subscriber address, if the bouce back is from a non-UCB forwarded address (a person abandoned their yahoo account, or their gmail account is over quota), the list server will not find it subscribed to the list and will not be able to remove it.
To set up automatic subscriber address removal, send a plain text email to firstname.lastname@example.org, leave the subject line blank and put the following line in the body of the email (replacing listname with your lists' name and listpasswd with your lists' admin password):
config listname listpasswd auto-delete-subscribers
Remember that this option will remove subscribers who's email accounts have gone over quota, but who should remain on your list.