CU-Boulder Nobel laureates

CU-Boulder faculty have been awarded five Nobel prizes, four in physics and one in chemistry, and they have contributed valuable data to the international climate change report that shared in the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize.

2012 Nobel Prize in physics: David J. Wineland

David Wineland, a lecturer in CU-Boulder’s physics department and a researcher at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, won the 2012 Nobel Prize in physics for his work using laser cooling to trap individual ions, allowing researchers to manipulate and measure individual quantum systems. He shared the prize with France’s Serge Haroche.

Related links:

Nobel Prize-winner David Wineland praised as mentor to CU-Boulder graduate students

NIST's David J. Wineland Wins 2012 Nobel Prize in Physics

Nobel Prize in Physics 2012: Nobel website

2007 Nobel Peace Prize: CU-Boulder faculty

Several CU-Boulder research faculty shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with former Vice President Al Gore for their contributions to the international report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. They include faculty from the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, the Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research, the ecology and evolutionary biology department and the economics department.  

Related links:

Researchers at CU-Boulder's Snow and Ice Data Center Share In 2007 Nobel Peace Prize Recognition of IPCC

Nobel Peace Prize Honors Climate Change Experts: NSIDC Scientists Contribute to Winning Effort

Nobel Peace Prize 2007: Nobel Web Site

2005 Nobel Prize in physics: John L. Hall

Adjoint Professor John "Jan" Hall won the 2005 Nobel Prize in physics for his contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique. 

Related links:

John Hall of CU-Boulder and NIST Awarded Nobel Prize in Physics

Long-time NIST Physicist Wins Nobel Prize: National Institute of Standards and Technology

Nobel Prize in Physics 2005: Nobel Web Site 

2001 Nobel Prize in physics: Carl E. Wieman and Eric A. Cornell

Distinguished Professor Carl Wieman of the University of Colorado at Boulder and Senior Scientist Eric Cornell of the National Institute of Standards and Technology won the 2001 Nobel Prize in physics for creating a new form of matter called Bose-Einstein condensate, which may lead to the creation of precise measuring devices and lasers that could dispense beams of atoms for micro-assembly purposes.

Related links:

Wieman and Cornell Win 2001 Nobel Prize In Physics

Bose-Einstein Condensate Web site

Nobel Prize in Physics 2001: Nobel Web Site 

1989 Nobel Prize in chemistry: Thomas R. Cech

Distinguished Professor Thomas Cech won the 1989 Nobel Prize in chemistry for his discovery that RNA in living cells is not only a molecule of heredity but also can function as a biocatalyst.

Related links: