CU profs can comment on Supreme Court’s affirmative action decision

June 24, 2013

The U.S. Supreme Court today announced its decision in Fisher v. University of Texas, a case that reconsidered affirmative action in university admissions. The following University of Colorado Boulder professors are available to comment on the court’s decision:

Melissa Hart, associate professor and director of the Byron R. White Center for the Study of American Constitutional Law at the CU-Boulder Law School, is an expert on the U.S. Supreme Court and affirmative action law and can comment on the university affirmative action case. Hart can be reached by cell phone at 303-229-5323 or melissa.hart@colorado.edu.

Michele Moses, professor of education and associate dean for graduate studies in the CU-Boulder School of Education, does research centering on education policy issues related to equality of educational opportunity and social justice, such as affirmative action. Her work has appeared in the American Educational Research Journal, Educational Researcher, Harvard Educational Review, the Journal of Social Philosophy, the Journal of Philosophy of Education and Educational Policy. She is best reached by email at michele.moses@colorado.edu. She also can be reached by cell phone at 303-350-0024.

Scott Moss, associate professor at the CU-Boulder Law School, is an expert in federal and appellate litigation, constitutional law, higher education admissions and the U.S. Supreme Court. He is well-versed on affirmative action and university admissions. Moss lives in Denver and is best reached by cell phone at 720-839-2920. His email address is scott.moss@colorado.edu.

Robert Nagel, Ira C. Rothgerber Jr. Professor of Constitutional Law at the CU-Boulder Law School, is an expert on the U.S. Supreme Court and can comment on the university affirmative action case. He is the author of a number of works on the relationship between the state and the national government including “The Implosion of American Federalism.” Nagel can be reached at 303-492-8428 or robert.nagel@colorado.edu.

For further assistance contact Keri Ungemah, director of communications for the CU-Boulder Law School at 720-984-0457 or keri.ungemah@colorado.edu or Peter Caughey in the CU-Boulder Office of Media Relations and News Services at 303-492-4007 or caughey@colorado.edu.

Give FeedbackSee More Photos View Photo