CU Board of Regents expands in-state tuition status for military families

CU System news release

The University of Colorado Board of Regents today authorized a new systemwide program that will offer in-state tuition to dependents of military veterans, students who have attended at least two years of high school in Colorado while their families lived in the state.

The pilot program expands on 2009’s Colorado House Bill 1039, which established in-state tuition status at state higher education institutions for honorably discharged veterans, but did not require the same status be granted to dependents of those veterans. The state law also did not allow for students whose families are transferred out of state for military service before completing the final year of high school.

The resolution passed unanimously at today’s board meeting at the University of Colorado Colorado Springs also asks university leadership to pursue state legislation that would expand in-state tuition status to include students in similar situations who are dependents of active duty service members.

Regent Sue Sharkey said she proposed the action because the transitory nature of military service makes it difficult for Colorado military families to establish resident status during their time living here.

“The University of Colorado demonstrates strong support of our nation’s military through various programs within the university campuses,” Sharkey said. “CU, as well as the citizens of Colorado, recognize and appreciate the sacrifice of our military personnel and their families, and the significant contributions they bring to our state and nation.”

CU campuses in Boulder, Colorado Springs and Denver all ranked on the 2012 list of Military Friendly Schools compiled by GI Jobs magazine, which recognizes the top 20 percent of colleges, universities and trade schools that do the most for service members and veterans.

The Board of Regents consists of nine members serving staggered six-year terms, one elected from each of Colorado's seven congressional districts and two from the state at-large. The board is charged constitutionally with the general supervision of the university and the exclusive control and direction of all funds of and appropriations to the university, unless otherwise provided by law.

The University of Colorado is a premier public research university with four campuses: the University of Colorado Boulder, the University of Colorado Colorado Springs, the University of Colorado Denver and the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus. Some 60,000 students are pursuing academic degrees at CU. Academic prestige is marked by the university’s four Nobel laureates, seven MacArthur “genius” Fellows, 18 alumni astronauts and 19 Rhodes Scholars. For more information about the CU system and to access campus resources, go to

Media contact: Jay Dedrick, 303-860-5707,