CU Sources on Earmarks, Health Care Law, Wal-Mart Lawsuit and Other Issues

December 15, 2010 •

NEWS TIP SHEET

CU Sources on Earmarks, Health Care Law, Wal-Mart Lawsuit and Other Issues

Earmark Spending and Congressional Politics. Kenneth Bickers, professor and chair of the political science department and co-author of "Perpetuating the Pork Barrel," can comment on the types of earmarks or "pork" preferred by representatives of the two major parties in the U.S. House and Senate, the impact on earmarks when Congress experiences a change in party control, and the impact of pork -- and claiming credit for pork -- on elections. He can be reached at 303-492-2363 or bickers@colorado.edu.

Federal Health Legislation Ruled Unconstitutional. Harold Bruff, the Charles Inglis Thomson Professor of Law, can talk about constitutional and administrative law. He can be reached at 303-735-3536 or harold.bruff@colorado.edu.

Robert Nagel, the Rothgerber Professor of Constitutional Law, is an expert in constitutional law. His research has focused on the relationship between the judiciary and its interpretation of the Constitution and the wider context of American political culture. He can be reached at 303-492-8428 or robert.nagel@colorado.edu.

Richard Collins, professor of law, can talk about constitutional law. He can be reached at 303-492-5493 or richard.collins@colorado.edu.

Wal-Mart Gender Discrimination Lawsuit. Melissa Hart is an associate professor of law and director of the Byron R. White Center for the Study of American Constitutional Law. Her research has focused on civil procedure, employment discrimination, legal ethics and professionalism. Her recent work has focused on the nationwide sex discrimination lawsuit against Wal-Mart and the potential for attacking the "glass ceiling" through litigation and through employer-initiated compliance efforts. She can be reached at 303-735-6344 or melissa.hart@colorado.edu.

Scott Moss, associate professor of law, can talk about class action discrimination and harassment law. As an attorney in New York City he litigated individual and class action cases of discrimination, harassment and minimum-overtime wage violations. He can be reached at 303-735-5374 or scott.moss@colorado.edu.

Helen Norton, associate professor of law, can talk about constitutional law, civil rights and employment discrimination law. She can be reached at 303-492-5751 or helen.norton@colorado.edu.

Computer Security. Paul Ohm, associate professor of law, writes on information privacy, computer crime law, intellectual property and criminal procedure. He can be reached at 303-492-0384 or paul.ohm@colorado.edu.

Health Care Coverage and Disparities. Dayna Matthew, professor of law and associate dean of academic affairs at the CU Law School, teaches evidence and health law, medical malpractice litigation and ethics. She can be reached at 303-735-5717 or dayna.matthew@colorado.edu.

Give FeedbackSee More Photos View Photo