CU-Boulder Names Argrow, Bowman Associate Deans Of Engineering

August 24, 2007

University of Colorado at Boulder Professors Brian Argrow and Christopher Bowman have been appointed associate deans in the College of Engineering and Applied Science.

Argrow will serve as associate dean for education, and Bowman as associate dean for research. The appointments, announced by engineering Dean Robert Davis, were effective Aug. 1.

"I am delighted to have two of our top faculty, who excel in both research and teaching, bring their experience and vision to these leadership positions," Davis said.

Argrow is the Look Professor of Aerospace Engineering Sciences and directs the Research and Engineering Center for Unmanned Vehicles.

He has been a President's Teaching Scholar since 2000. The President's Teaching Scholars are a group of faculty from all three CU campuses chosen not only for skill in their own classrooms, but for their promise of improving education and enlarging its possibilities across the university.

Argrow also has won teaching awards from the College of Engineering and Applied Science, the Boulder Faculty Assembly, the CU Parents Association and the W.M. Keck Foundation.

He received his doctorate in aerospace engineering from the University of Oklahoma in 1989 and was an assistant professor there until 1992 when he joined the faculty at CU-Boulder. He served as associate chair of the aerospace engineering sciences department from 2001 to 2004.

Bowman is the James and Catherine Patten Endowed Chair of Chemical and Biological Engineering, and he served as department chair from 2003 to 2007. He has a joint appointment at the CU School of Dentistry and co-directs the National Science Foundation Industry/University Cooperative Research Center for Fundamentals and Applications and Photopolymerizations.

He received his doctorate in chemical engineering from Purdue University in 1991 and has received numerous awards for teaching, research and service since joining the CU-Boulder faculty in 1992.

Among these recognitions are the American Society for Engineering Education's McGraw Research Award, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers' Colburn and Wilhelm awards, and the American Chemical Society's Cooperative Research Award in Polymer Science and Engineering. He was named Physical Sciences Inventor of the Year by the CU Technology Transfer Office in 2003.