College of Music

University of Colorado Boulder

Flatirons Brass

The Flatirons Brass is the graduate brass quintet in residence at the University of Colorado Boulder. The quintet consists of Master and Doctoral students pursuing degrees in performance and pedagogy. In 2009 The Flatirons Brass Quintet were prize winners at the internationally recognized Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition.

The 2010-2011 members are Derek McDonald and Sarah Stoneback, trumpets, Kevin Lam, horn, Daniel Mueller, trombone and Daniel Castillo, tuba.  The Flatirons Brass Quintet is coached by the CU Boulder brass faculty: Mike Dunn (tuba/euph), Bill Stanley (trombone), Mike Thornton (horn) and Terry Sawchuk (trumpet).  Each individual brings unique experience and accomplishments in solo, chamber, and orchestral settings to the ensemble.  The Flatirons Brass performs an expansive and diverse range of repertoire from Johann Sebastian Bach to Jan Bach and beyond. The quintet performs regularly at the University of Colorado Boulder in masterclasses and recitals as well as in educational outreach concerts in the surrounding area.

Please email for any additional questions or requests for performances.