College of Music

University of Colorado Boulder

Music Theory News

October 25, 2013

Thanks to Daphne Leong for providing these recent highlights from the CU-Boulder Music Theory program:

  • Our three most recent graduates of the masters program in music theory entered prestigious doctoral programs with top fellowships and assistantships: John Peterson (MM, 2011) received a Legacy Fellowship at Florida State University; Landon Morrison (MM, 2012) received a teaching assistantship and scholarship at McGill University; and Alan Reese (MM, 2013) received a teaching assistantship and award at the Eastman School of Music.
  • Daphne Leong received the University of Colorado Boulder Faculty Assembly’s 2013 Excellence in Teaching Award. According to the citation, Leong “has a marvelous rapport with her students, and she brings out the best in them with a remarkably dynamic, engaging, and challenging teaching style.”
  • Kris Shaffer (Ph.D., Yale) joins our faculty in 2013. Kris is a pedagogical leader, pioneering applications of the inverted classroom and innovative technologies in music theory teaching, and he is a contributing editor to Hybrid Pedagogy. His research interests include the music of 20th- and 21st-century composers (Ligeti in particular), computational analysis of harmonic and formal structures, schema theory, popular music analysis, and the pedagogy of music theory and musicianship.

Composition, Theory, Faculty-Staff, Students