College of Music

University of Colorado Boulder

Faculty Series

Tuesday 10/16

Scenes from the Faculty Series September 18, 2012 featuring Nicolò Spera, guitar with Paul Erhard, double bass; Gary Lewis, conductor; Patrick Mason, narrator; Daniel Silver, clarinet & saxophone; Douglas Walter, percussion; and Garrett Aman, accordion.

The concert marked the US première of Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s incidental music to Morning in Iowa, the narrative poem by Robert Nathan. In thirty-six pictures, music and poetry gracefully and colorfully portray a love story, taking us on a journey through immense America, its dreams and its legends. We’ll travel from New England to Iowa and on to Colorado, where the infinite Western skies unite the musical traditions of jazz, blues, Native Americans… and Italy!

Morning in Iowa Op.158-V
Morning in Iowa Op.158-XI
Morning in Iowa Op. 158-XII & XIII
Morning in Iowa Op.158-XVII
Morning in Iowa Op.158-XXV