Previous Talks

Fall 2013

Monday, September 23

Orin Hargraves

Independent Lexicographer and CU Department of Linguistics

Clichés Considered Computationally

 

Thursday, October 10, 11-12:15

VAC 1B90

Gary Miller

University of Florida

External Influences on English Morphology and Syntax

NOTE SPECIAL TIME, DAY AND PLACE FOR THE MILLER TALK.

Wednesday, October 23

Recruiting Event: English Language Fellow and English Language Specialist programs, Georgetown University and US Department of State

Margarita McAuliffe

Office of English Language Programs, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, US Department of State

Monday, November 11

Amy H. Liu

CU Department of Political Science and Center for Asian Studies

The Politics of Gendered Languages: Third-Person Pronouns and Women's Rights

Wednesday, November 13

Career Advising Session

Monday, November 18

Verónica Muñoz Ledo

Linguistic doctoral candidate, UC Santa Barbara

Problems of Categorization: The 'Middle Voice' in SLP Huasteco


Spring 2013

Monday, Feb 3, 4:30

HLMS 241

Ewan Dunbar

Laboratoire de Sciences Cognitives et Psycholinguistique, Ecole Normale Supérieure/Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris.

Computational Approaches to Theoretical Problems in Phonology

Friday, February 7, 4:00

HLMS 241

Philip Roberts

University of Oxford

Theoretical Computational Phonology in Practice

Monday, February 10, 4:00

HLMS 241

Gaja Jarosz

Yale University

Learning Probabilistic Phonology: Integrating Theoretical, Computational, and Developmental
Perspectives

Friday, February 14, 4:00

HLMS 241

Kevin Cohen

University of Colorado

Phonology meets Computation meets Fieldwork

Monday, February 17, 4:00

HLMS 241

Mans Hulden

University of Helsinki

Where's the Leak? Formal Verification in Phonology

Friday, February 21, 3:00

HLMS 241

Arturas Ratkus

University of Vilnius, Lithuania

Gothic Modifiers in -ata and Inflectional Variation in the 'Strong' Paradigm

Wednesday, March 5

Proseminar: Grant Writing and Networking

 

Martha Palmer

Monday, March 10, 4:00

HLMS 241

Dr. Anna Marie Tre\ ster

Georgetown University

Life after a Linguistics Degree: Career Paths and Prof\ essional Development

Monday, April 21, 4:00

HLMS 141

David Peterson, MA

Game of Thrones Language Design

The Man I Saw: External Constraints on Relative Clause Construction in Created Languages for the Big and Small Screen

Monday, April 28

HLMS 241

Linguistics Circle Capstone Speaker:

 

Johan Van der Auwera

University of Antwerp

Modality and Mood: A Pair Apart

University of Colorado at Boulder Search A to Z Campus Map