Contact Us

Department of Linguistics
Hellems 290
295UCB
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309-0295

Fax: (303) 492-4416
Main office phone: (303) 492-8456
Email: linguist@colorado.edu



Name Position Office Email
Laura Michaelis-Cummings Chair Hellems 292 Laura.Michaelis@colorado.edu
Paula Dufour
Program Assistant Hellems 290 Paula.Dufour@colorado.edu
Cynthia Clark Administrative Assistant Hellems 290 Cynthia.Clark@colorado.edu
Name Position Office Email
General Information Hellems 290 linguist@colorado.edu
Deanna Fierman Undergraduate Advisor Hellems 164A fierman@colorado.edu
Paula Dufour
Program Assistant Hellems 290 Paula.Dufour@colorado.edu
Cynthia Clark Administrative Assistant Hellems 290 Cynthia.Clark@colorado.edu
Name Position Office Email
Information and Application Guidance Hellems 290 linguist@colorado.edu
Laura A. Michaelis Graduate Advisor Hellems 292 Laura.Michaelis@colorado.edu
David Rood Graduate Admissions Director Hellems 293 David.Rood@colorado.edu
Cynthia Clark Administrative Assistant Hellems 290 Cynthia.Clark@colorado.edu
Name Position Office Email
Alan Bell Associate Professor Emeritus Alan.Bell@colorado.edu
Kevin Cohen Adjunct Assistant Professor   Kevin.Cohen@gmail.com
J. Andrew Cowell Professor Hellems 164B James.Cowell@colorado.edu
Barbara Fox Professor Hellems 297 Barbara.Fox@colorado.edu
Zygmunt Frajzyngier Professor Hellems 296 Zygmunt.Frajzyngier@colorado.edu
Kira Hall Associate Professor Hellems 284 Kira.Hall@colorado.edu
Lise Menn Professor Emerita   Lise.Menn@colorado.edu
Laura Michaelis-Cummings Associate Professor Hellems 292 Laura.Michaelis@colorado.edu
Bhuvana Narasimhan Associate Professor Hellems 294 Bhuvana.Narasimhan@mpi.nl.edu
Martha Palmer Professor Hellems 295 Martha.Palmer@colorado.Edu
David Rood Professor Hellems 293 David.Rood@colorado.edu
Erin Shay Research Assistant Professor  Hellems 296
Erin.Shay@colorado.edu
Rebecca Scarborough Assistant Professor Hellems 287A Rebecca.Scarborough@colorado.edu
Allan Taylor Professor Emeritus   Allan.Taylor@colorado.edu
Maria Thomas-Ruzic Senior Instructor and Director, MA for TESOL Professionals Fleming Maria.Thomas-Ruzic@colorado.edu
Hellems 291 (Sociolinguistics lab) (303) 492-3464
Conference room (Hellems 285) (303) 492-0352 
Hellems 160/162 (303) 492-0816
Hellems 2 (Verb annotation lab) (303) 492-3483
Hellems 4 (303) 492-0938

Center for the Study of Indigenous Languages of the West (CSILW)

Name Position Office Email
Andrew Cowell Co-Director Hellems 164B James.Cowell@colorado.edu
Violet Catches Research Assistant
napsha51@aol.com
John Koontz Research Associate   John.Koontz@colorado.edu
Armik Mirzayan Research Assistant
Armik.Mirzayan@colorado.edu
David Rood Co-Director Hellems 293 David.Rood@colorado.edu
Allan Taylor Research Associate
Allan.Taylor@colorado.ed

The Center for Language and Education Research (CLEAR)

1777 Exposition Drive, Suite #171
Boulder, CO 80301
(303) 735-5276

CU Lakhota Project

Hellems 293
(303) 492-8456
Cynthia.Clark@colorado.edu

Institute Of Cognitive Science (ICS)

Muenzinger D414
(303) 492-2914
Jean.Bowen@colorado.edu
Name Position Office Email
Richard Sandoval Instructor, LING 1000 Hellems 4 richard.sandoval@colorado.edu
Niloofar Khalili Instructor, LING 1020 Hellems 4 niloofar.khalili@colorado.edu
Nick Williams Instructor, LING 2000 Hellems 4 nicholas.j.williams@colorado.edu
Marcus Avelar Instructor, LING 2400 Hellems 4 marcus.avelar@colorado.edu
Kate Phelps Instructor, LING 3100 Hellems 160/162 katherine.phelps@colorado.edu
Jessica Holman Instructor, LING 3545 Hellems 4 jessica.holman@colorado.edu


By Car

By Airplane

Fly to Denver International Airport (DIA), which is about 50 miles south east of Boulder. The following are transportation options from the airport to Boulder.

Boulder Supershuttle
RTD Bus Service
Boulder Yellow Cab
Rental Car

The most convenient place to park when visiting the Department is in the Euclid Avenue AutoPark, which is immediately east of the main entrance to the University Memorial Center (UMC) on Euclid Avenue. The UMC itself is at the northeast corner of Broadway and Euclid. From the UMC, walk in a northwesterly direction to the Hellems building, where the Linguistics department is located. Enter Hellems through the southeast door, walk up three flights and make a left at the top of the stairs into the Linguistics corridor. The Department office is the first office on the right, room 290.

University of Colorado at Boulder Search A to Z Campus Map