Colorado by the Numbers:
Child Passenger Protection Laws as of December 1995

 
                    Restraint
        Effective  Requirement    Safety Seat
State     Date         Age          Required      May Substitute Safety Belts   Penalty(3)
 
AZ        8/83     Through 4(2)   Through 4(2)    No                             $50
CO        1/84     Under 15(2)    Under 4(2)      No                             $25
ID        1/85     Under 4(2)     Under 4(2)      No                            $100 maximum
MT(1)     1/84     Under 4(2)     Under 2         Between 2 and 4                $10-$25
NV        7/83     Under 5        Under 5         Under 5 in rear seat           $35-$100 
NM        6/83     Under 11       Under 5         Between 1 and 5 in rear seat   $25
UT        7/84     Under 8        Under 2         Between 2 and 8                $20
WY        4/85     Under 3(2)     Under 3(2)      No                             $25
 
(1) Law applies only to parents and legal guardians.
(2) Or less than 40 pounds.  
(3) Most states waive fines upon proof of safety seat acquisition.  
 


Source: Traffic Safety Facts 1995: State Traffic Data, a National Center for Statistics and Analysis Fact Sheet, prepared for the U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Back to Colorado by the Numbers: Traffic Safety Data.

University of Colorado at Boulder Government Publications Library
Colorado by the Numbers What's New Access Colorado Library and Information Network (ACLIN) Citing Electronic Information Government Publications Library University of Colorado at Boulder
Date last modified: 23 May 2005. Send comments to Government Publications