Tuition and Residency

Colorado Law is Affordable

A quality legal education is a sizeable investment in your future and Colorado Law's Office of Admissions & Financial Aid is committed to helping you find resources to make it affordable including scholarships, fellowships, and federal and private student loans.

Colorado residents pay less at Colorado Law compared to other public or private schools in the region. Non-resident students may establish residency after one year.

  • More than 93% of Colorado Law students receive some form of financial aid, including scholarships and loans.
  • The average law school loan amount for 2012 graduates was $86,237.

Cost of Attendance 2013-14*

 

Resident

Non-Resident

Rent, Utilities, and Food

$12,770

$12,770

Books and Supplies

$1,800

$1,800

Medical Insurance

$2,232

$2,232

Personal Expenses

$1,314

$1,314

Transportation

$936

$1,618

 

 

 

Tuition and Fees: JD

$31,548

$38,334

Total: JD

$50,600

$58,068

 

 

 

Tuition and Fees: LLM

$32,232

$38,424

Total: LLM

$51,284

$58,158

*Does not include car expenses, other debt, and rent/utilities more than $838 per month. Student fees are allocated by the CU-Boulder Student Government (CUSG) and payment entitles students to use the Student Recreation CenterCUSG Legal Services, and other services and activities. The CU Board of Regents approves mandatory fees and sets tuition annually, and reserves the right to change the costs for tuition and fees at any time.

Residency Classification for Tuition Purposes

State statute governs residency classification. The admission staff and the CU Tuition Classification Office classify new students as residents or nonresidents for tuition purposes based on admission application information and other documents. Applicants may have to submit evidence substantiating their claim of resident eligibility.

The Admissions Application is for U.S. citizens, permanent residents, refugees or asylees, and certain noncitizens with temporary visas who wish to be considered for in-state (Colorado) tuition and who will be Colorado residents for one year as of the first day of class. Exceptions to the one-year requirement are granted for honorably discharged members of the Armed Forces, active-duty military, Colorado National Guard members, Olympic athletes, faculty members at state-supported colleges, and employees of companies moving to Colorado with State economic incentives. Married applicants under the age of 22 and applicants who are not Colorado residents but who are married to active-duty military personnel who are Colorado residents or who will be stationed in Colorado should seek further information as indicated above. Find details on residency regulations and exceptions at CU-Boulder Office of the Registrar.

Nonresident students may establish Colorado residency by maintaining a legal residence in Colorado for 12 consecutive months. Once they have established Colorado residency, they qualify for the lower resident tuition rates, except for LLM students.

Students who think their classification is incorrect or who have become eligible for a change to resident status must submit a petition with documentation to apply for a change to in-state status. The petition forms, brochure, and an explanation of the Colorado tuition classification statute are available from the Tuition Classification Office.

Tuition Payment

Students must pay their tuition and fees by the date indicated on their bill, approximately ten days after the beginning of classes.

Students may elect to pay tuition and fees in two installments. Payments are due approximately the second and sixth weeks of classes. To defer partial payment of tuition and fees, log in to MyCUInfo, click on the Student Tab and scroll down to the center Financial Section. Under Billing, select Two-Payment Plan and follow the instructions. You can find these instructions with screenshots here. Any deferred balances are subject to a finance charge of 1% per month on the unpaid balance, beginning on the first day of classes. All checks containing restrictive endorsements are null and void and nonbinding on the university. Find information and regulations concerning failure to make timely tuition and fees payments at the Bursar's Office.

Refunds of tuition and fees are available to students who officially withdraw from CU-Boulder. Refer to the Refund Schedule for exact dates and refund amounts.

Updated 3/20/2014