Language Educator Book Club: August/September book selection

Aug. 9, 2017

I am pleased to announce the next book we will be reading with the Language Educator Book Club members: Social LEADia: Moving Students from Digital Citizenship to Digital Leadership by Jennifer Casa- Todd. "When people think of kids and their devices, it is often with dismay. But technology is here... Read more »

Fall 2017 general information webinar

Aug. 9, 2017

Join us live on Friday, August 25, 3:30pm Pacific, 4:30pm Mountain, 5:30pm Central and 6:30pm Eastern (30 minutes) Find out about the curriculum, the upcoming courses, look at student projects and sample assignments, and ask any questions you have to the program Director or to certificate students directly. Sign up... Read more »

Join the Language Educator Book Club

July 26, 2017

The Language Educator Book Club is an informal group composed of educators interested in reading and discussing various books related to language teaching or education in general. Members of the group select a new book every 6 weeks or so. The discussions are conducted via various platforms: - A private... Read more »

Master's in Language Teaching with Technology: Interest meeting

June 13, 2017

Master's Discussion We are currently in the very early stages of investigating the creation of a fully online professionnal Master's program. In its current state, the certificate offers 21 graduate credits. Most professional Master's program require between 30 and 36 credits. Over the next few months, we will hold various... Read more »

Tell me a story: Digital Storytelling in the World Language Classroom (free webinar)

May 15, 2017

Free webinar by certificate student Heidi Trude, French teacher at Skyline high school, VA. June 14, 10am Pacific, 11am Mountain, 12 Central, and 1pm Eastern. Discover creative ways for your language students to share meaningful stories in the target language. In this webinar, Heidi Trude, certificate student and French teacher... Read more »

Diego Rivera’s Detroit Industry Murals: A technology-enhanced AP unit on the theme of Beauty & Aesthetics (free webinar)

April 21, 2017

Free webinar by certificate students Alandra Giron, Spanish Professor at ‎Thomas Nelson Community College, VA. and Margot Riemer, Spanish teacher and former World Languages Department Chair, Harvard-Westlake School, California. May 26th, 8am Pacific, 9am Mountain, 10 Central, and 11am. Eastern. In this webinar, Alandra and Margot will present on the... Read more »

Virtual Reality in the Language Classroom (Free webinar)

April 12, 2017

Join us for this free webinar by Trent Hoy, student in the certificate in language teaching with technology and French adjunct professor at Broward college (FL). May 4th, 10am Pacific, 11am Mountain, noon Central, and 1pm. Eastern. In this webinar, Trent will present a classroom project where his students will... Read more »

Teaching French through STEM: live webinar

March 28, 2017

Join us on April 14th, 3pm Pacific, 4pm Mountain, 5pm Central, 6pm Eastern for this free webinar on how to infuse your French lessons with STEM topics. Peggy Veal, French and Spanish teacher at STEM School & Academy (Colorado) will present a unit that she designed to meet her school's... Read more »

Social media and language learning: What are the opportunities? What are the risks?

March 9, 2017

This week in LGTC 5030, we are exploring the challenges and opportunities of integrating social media in the language classroom. How can we safely leverage the language learning potential of tools such as Instagram or Twitter? What features of social media are conducive to language learning? Do students need to... Read more »

Augmented and Virtual Reality unit in LGTC 5030

Feb. 28, 2017

This week in LGTC 5030, we are exploring the language learning potential of Augmented and Virtual Reality. What kind of classroom activities can we design with Google Cardboard glasses? Can we teach pragmatics using virtual worlds such as Second Life? Is Second Life still a thing? In order to provide... Read more »

Pages

Pages