University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, May 18, 2010 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


Blumenthal elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences
Molecular biologist Tom Blumenthal has been elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Blumenthal, professor and chair of CU’s Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, is among 229 leaders in the fields of sciences, social sciences, the humanities, the arts, business and public affairs named as fellows this year. He joins a group of 2010 luminaries that includes astrophysicist Geoffrey Marcy, geneticist Timothy Ley, Pulitzer-winning historian Daniel Howe and Oscar-winning film director Francis Ford Coppola. The 230-year-old academy is one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious honorary societies.

CU-Boulder Alumni Association 80th Anniversary Annual Awards
The tradition of honoring the University of Colorado’s best began in 1930 and continues today as the CU-Boulder Alumni Association announces 21 outstanding members of the university community who were recognized at public ceremony on Wednesday, May 5.

Recipients of the 2010 George Norlin Award that honors outstanding alumni for their careers and service to society are: Julianne Mattingly Steinhauer (Mus’60), Hank Brown (Acct’61, Law’69), Richard Knowlton (Geog’54), and Laurence Boxer (Hist’61).

Three professors and one top administrator received the Robert L. Stearns Award in recognition of extraordinary contributions to the university: John Cumalat, physics; Richard Noble, chemical and biological engineering; Senior Vice Cancellor and CFO Ric Porreca (MPolSci ex’83); and Robert Schulzinger, history

Four alumni received the Alumni Recognition Award: Joanne Easley Arnold (Engl’52, MJour’65, PhDComm’71), Woody Eaton (DistSt’62) and Leslie Bernstein Eaton (Art’63), and Clancy Herbst Jr. (ChemEngr’50,HonDocSci’95).

Mary Allen Judd (PolSci’80) received the Leanne Skupa-Lee Award as a faithful National Alumni Admissions Assistance Program volunteer for more than 20 years.

The Kalpana Chawla Outstanding Recent Graduate Award went to Nick Sowden (Mgmt’07).

Eight students were recognized as recipients of the Public Interest Internship Experience awards: Wynne Adams (junior environmental studies and art double major), Mindy Bridges (junior anthropology major), Denise Justice (senior international affairs major), Melissa Khat (senior international affairs major), Bryant Mason (junior economics and environmental studies double major), Heidi Meyer (sophomore education and English double major), Austin Rempel (senior ecology and economics double major), and Mercedes Ruiz (senior Spanish major).

Based in the Koenig Alumni Center at the corner of Broadway and University Avenue, the CU-Boulder Alumni Association administers scholarships, awards, online networking opportunities, alumni clubs, and a museum, and publishes the monthly electronic newsletter "Buffalum Notes" and the quarterly alumni magazine, "The Coloradan."

CU GOLD 2010 Annual Leadership Award Recipients
Congratulation to the 2010 CU GOLD Leadership Award Recipients! Please visit the CU GOLD website for award descriptions and to find out how to nominate someone next year.
Rising Star: Larkin Poynton
Outstanding Student Voice: Hillary Montague-Asp
Student Organization of the Year: Architecture and Planning Student Government
Supportive Staff Member: Lynda Smith (ROTC)
Honor Code Integrity Award: Matt Krebs (Student), John O’Loughlin (Faculty, geography)
Lasting Legacy: Alexis Smith
Cultural Events Board Best Cultural Event: “Women of Juarez”, Pi Lambda Chi
Dennis Small Cultural Center Ripple Award: Kate Hubka & Amanda Taylor (UMC Events Planning and Catering)

2010 Chancellor’s Employee of the Year Awards
The 2010 Chancellor’s Employee of the Year awardees are Megan Bell, director of student activities at the UMC; Jeanne Meyer-Brown of School of Journalism and Mass Communication; Genevieve Borst of the Graduate School; Linda Finfrock of art and art history; and Jonathan Roberts of psychology and neuroscience. Each received an award of $1,500 and a commemorative slate plaque. A private reception was held in the Aspen Rooms to honor these special employees.

National Academies Grant Winners
Hubert Yin and Rob Knight of chemistry and biochemistry have received highly coveted National Academies Keck Futures grants, awarded to support interdisciplinary research. The 13 projects chosen represent a wide range of approaches to research in synthetic biology. The Futures grants allow researchers to recruit students and postdoctoral fellows, purchase equipment, and acquire preliminary data, all of which can position the researchers to compete for larger awards from other public and private sources.

Campus Construction Providing Much Needed Buildings for CU-Boulder

CU-Boulder Bridges Digital Divide with Computers To Youth

Muller-Sievers Named Director of the Center for Humanities and the Arts

Student Graduate Launches Project to Fight Child Malnutrition in Nepal


From the Chancellor

Commencement Address, May 7, 2010

News Center

CU Engineers Make First 'Supercell' Storm Intercept With Unmanned Aircraft System

New Inhalable Measles Vaccine May Lead to Vaccines for Other Diseases

Three Payloads Built By CU-Boulder Set For Launch On Space Shuttle Atlantis

Multimedia: New Graduates Reflect On Their Time At CU-Boulder

More News >>

Newsletter Archives

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map