University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, Jan. 26, 2010 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


Biographies of site team members

Re-accreditation site team members have varied and specialized backgrounds. They will be on campus Feb. 22-24 asking lots of questions.

CU-Boulder is up for its 10-year re-accreditation this year from the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) of the North Central Association (NCA) and the 14-member site team will be on campus Feb. 22-24 conducting interviews, collecting evidence, and asking lots of questions of the campus community.

The site team members, headed by co-chairs, Dr. Nancy Ellen Talburt, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, and Dr. Mark S. Wrighton, the Chancellor of Washington University, St. Louis, have been assigned to one of five HLC criteria for evaluating CU-Boulder:

  1. Mission and Integrity
  2. Preparing for the Future
  3. Student Learning and Effective Teaching
  4. Acquisition, Discovery, Application of Knowledge
  5. Engagement and Service

Following is a very brief biography of the site team members.


Dr. Nancy Ellen Talburt, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville
Dr. Talburt’s areas of oversight and activity at Arkansas include academic policy, campus governance and the faculty handbook, teaching support, curricular change and catalogs, program review, accreditation and assessment, and student academic issues. She earned her PhD in English at Arkansas and did post-doc work at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard. She has chaired many site teams for the HLC.

Dr. Mark S. Wrighton, Chancellor, Washington University, St. Louis
Dr. Wrighton is a chemist with research interests in photochemistry and metal catalysts. He received his PhD from the California Institute of Technology and served on the faculty and as provost at MIT. Washington University is a private member of the American Association of Universities (AAU).

Criterion 1: Mission and Integrity

Dr. W. Randy Smith, Vice Provost for Academic Programs, Ohio State University (AAU)
Dr. Smith is responsible for academic learning outcomes, program review, curriculum development and review, and accreditation at Ohio State and he is liaison to the Ohio State Council on Academic Affairs. His PhD is in geography from York University in Toronto.

Dr. Lon Kaufman, Vice Provost, University of Illinois, Chicago
Dr. Kaufman has responsibilities for graduate programs, undergraduate honors, undergraduate research, academic program approval and assessment.

Criterion 2: Preparing for the Future

Dr. David C. Bosserman, Vice president for Administration and Finance, Oklahoma State University
Dr. Bosserman has a national reputation in higher education financial management. He earned his PhD from the University of Idaho.

Natalie Krawitz, Vice President Finance and Administration, University of Missouri System (AAU)
Ms. Krawitz is responsible for the university’s treasury, accounting, procurement, facilities planning and design, internal audit, and institutional research functions. She is active with the National Association of College and University Business Officers and the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities.

Dr. Morteza A. Rahimi, Vice President Information Technology and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Northwestern University (AAU)
Dr. Rahimi focuses on the use of information technology in advancing strategic goals for instruction, research, and administration and oversees an award-winning information technology organization. He earned his PhD in computer science from the University of Iowa.

Criterion 3: Student Learning and Effective Teaching

Dr. Elaine M. Klein, Assistant Dean and Director of Academic Planning, Program Review and Assessment, College of Letters and Sciences, University of Wisconsin at Madison (AAU)
Dr. Klein oversees college assessment processes and academic program review in the College of Letters and Sciences. She also serves as liaison to the curriculum committee. She earned her PhD in English from Wisconsin.

Dr. Ben A. van der Pluijm, Professor and Senior Counselor to the Provost, University of Michigan (AAU)
Dr. van der Pluijm is also a professor of geology and professor of the environment. He is heading Michigan’s upcoming re-accreditation and he chairs the campus interdisciplinarity initiative.

Criterion 4: Acquisition, Discovery and Application of Knowledge

Dr. George E. Walker, Vice President of Research and Graduate Studies, Cleveland State University
Dr. Walker is a theoretical physicist with a specialty in graduate education and research. He began work at Cleveland State on Jan. 1, arriving from Florida International University where he was senior vice-president for research and dean of the graduate school. Formerly the vice president of research and the dean of the graduate school at the University of Indiana, Dr. Walker was the chair of the 2000 re-accreditation site team visit to CU-Boulder.

Dr. Peggy F. Harrel is Director of Graduate Studies and Sponsored Research at the University of Southern Indiana

Dr. Rex D. Ramsier, Associate Provost of Policies, Procedures and Reviews; Professor of Physics and Chemistry, University of Akron
Dr. Ramsier is responsible for accreditation, program review, and assessment at Akron. He is a leader in bridging K-12 in science and technology and focuses on improving graduate courses and programs. He received his PhD in physics from the University of Pittsburgh.

Criterion 5: Engagement and Service

Dr. Kenneth J. Moore, Professor of Agronomy, Iowa State University (AAU)
Dr. Moore directs Iowa State’s MS in agronomy distance education program and is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He earned his PhD from Purdue.

Dr. Thomas L. McPhail, Professor Media Studies, University of Missouri, St. Louis
Dr. McPhail is a Center for International Studies fellow and developer of the theory of international communication called the Theory of Electronic Colonialism. He appears as a media, communication and telecom critic in various international and national outlets and on numerous web sites. He earned his PhD at Purdue.

'Tweet' approach streamlines online communications during Haiti disaster

Professor Adam Bradley helps bring Ralph Ellison’s unfinished second novel to fruition

College of Engineering wins award for innovation in international education

Alumna makes a gift to Classics Department


Biographies of Site Team Members

News Center

Howard Dean and Karl Rove to Debate Current Events at CU-Boulder Feb. 15

Four CU-Boulder Professors Win $750,000 Department of Energy Early Career Research Awards

Study Links Springtime Ozone Increases Above Western North America to Emissions From Abroad

More News >>

Newsletter Archives

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map