University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, Jan. 12, 2010 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


Margaret Murnane, Henry Kapteyn receive prestigious award
Professors Margaret Murnane and Henry Kapteyn have won the 2010 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science from the American Physical Society for groundbreaking strides in laser science. The award recognizes Murnane and Kapteyn for “pioneering work in the area of ultra-fast laser science, including development of ultra-fast optical and coherent soft X-ray sources.” Murnane and Kapteyn lead an interdisciplinary research group at CU’s Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics, where they develop new ultrafast laser and X-ray sources for experiments in physics, chemistry, materials science and engineering.

Three CU-Boulder faculty elected AAAS fellows
Three University of Colorado at Boulder faculty members have been elected fellows of the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science for 2009. Professor John Cumalat of physics, Professor Thomas Johnson of integrative physiology and Professor Diane McKnight of civil, environmental and architectural engineering are among 531 AAAS fellows elected by their peers for efforts to advance science or foster applications deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. For more information, read the press release.

CU Opera wins National Opera Scenes competition
CU Opera won first place in the National Opera Association opera scenes competition, Jan. 7 in Atlanta, GA. CU-Boulder graduate voice students Bo Yang and Jennifer Braun performed under the direction of CU Opera Director Leigh Holman, with Emily Martin as assistant director. The performers participated in a master class of the scene with Richard Crittenden and John Douglas Jan. 8 and were honored at a celebratory brunch on Jan. 10. Eight university opera programs competed in the final round of the NOA opera scenes competition at the national convention in Atlanta.

College of Engineering and Applied Science recognized by Institute of International Education
The College of Engineering and Applied Science (CEAS) has received an honorable mention from the Institute of International Education in the 2010 Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education. As part of the award, CEAS will be featured by the IIENetwork as a 2010 "best practice" in international education.

Call for nominations, Alumni Awards
Nominations are being accepted for the 80th Annual CU-Boulder Alumni Association Awards that recognize and honor faculty, staff and alumni from the Boulder campus. These include the Robert L. Stearns Award, George Norlin Award, Alumni Recognition Award and Kalpana Chawla Outstanding Recent Alumni Award. Descriptions of the awards and the nominating process are posted on the Alumni Association website. Completed nominations are due by 5 p.m. on Jan. 22. The awards ceremony and reception will be held May 5, 2010. For additional information, please email Clark Oldroyd, phone 303-492-5640, or email Ryan Lecky, phone 303-492-0635.

Chancellor’s Committee on Women seeks award nominations
The Chancellor’s Committee on Women (CCW) will recognize advocates of women on campus during International Women’s Day on March 8, 2010. The CCW requests nominations from across the Boulder campus for these awards, which recognize people or units that have made significant contributions to improving the climate for women on campus and/or recognize people or units on campus that show a clear commitment to supporting women and women’s issues. Selection criteria is available on the website. submissions are due Wednesday, Feb. 3. Nominators should submit an original and four copies of their nomination to: CCW Awards Committee c/o Alyssa Willet 204 UCB Boulder, CO 80309 or in person to UMC 444.

Call for applications, CU Biomedical Research grant opportunity
Applications are now being accepted for the Boettcher Foundation's new Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards Program, which will support the work of early-career investigators whose work has a direct impact on human health. The goal is to increase understanding, treatment and prevention of human disease while advancing promising investigators into independent research. Grant application deadline is March 15. Awards will be announced in June. General information and application materials can be found on the CU System website.

Chancellor DiStefano visits the White House to pledge an increase in math and science teachers

Happy 70th birthday Norlin Library!

CU cheerleaders return from trip to Iraq, Kuwait

Worlds apart but on common ground

ALTEC acquires new language programs, expands technologies

From the Chancellor

Go out and teach! Winter Commencement address

News Center

Seven CU-Boulder Research Efforts Cited in Discover's Top 100 Science Stories

European Space Observatory With CU-Boulder Connection Looks Back to Early Galaxies

New Executive Director Named for CU's Presidents Leadership Institute

More News >>

Newsletter Archives

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map