University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, Date IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


CCW awardees announced

The Chancellor’s Committee on Women (CCW) recognized its 2009 award recipients at its annual tea in March. The committee honored both the Women’s Resource Center and Beth Osnes, assistant professor of theatre & dance. The CCW awards recognize people or units that have made significant contributions to improving the climate for women on campus and/or people or units on campus that show a clear commitment to supporting women and women’s issues.

CU-Boulder Scientists receive Howard Hughes Medical Institute awards

Two CU-Boulder researchers are among 50 scientists who will receive coveted Howard Hughes Medical Institute Early Career Scientist awards in 2009. Joaquin Espinosa, an assistant professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology, and Rob Knight, an assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry as well as computer science, are the two recipients from CU-Boulder. The honors come with a six-year appointment to the institute and, along with it, the freedom to explore ideas and the funding to do so. HHMI's awards allow the researchers to concentrate on making discoveries in the laboratory and for training the next generation of scientists. For more information see the press release.

Kambiz Khalili named executive director of Housing & Dining Services

Kambiz Khalili was recently appointed as the new executive director of Housing & Dining Services. The position opened after Deb Coffin assumed the position of associate vice chancellor and dean of students last fall. Khalili’s extensive background in housing operations, dining services and student development include serving as the university’s director of Dining Services, as well as the deputy director and most recently the interim executive director of Housing & Dining Services. Housing & Dining Services currently comprises more than 450 full-time staff members and has an operating budget of $84 million.

2009-2010 Puksta Scholars named

The Institute for Ethical and Civic Engagement recently named five 2009-2010 Puksta Scholars. Incoming Freshman Lamya’a Dawud, incoming Freshman Samantha Kobbe, Sophomore Elizabeth Fryberger, and Juniors Caroline Clark and Paige Bennett were chosen from a pool of almost 100 applicants, double the number of 2008 applications. The five new scholars are high achieving students with a deep commitment to civic engagement and serving the common good. They join 12 2009-2010 continuing scholars. Puksta Scholars is a nonpartisan CU-Boulder program funded by the Puksta Foundation and the CU Parent Fund. Scholars develop civic engagement projects and are supported by a team of faculty and staff and a full program of speakers, seminars and retreats.


Inside CU Spring 2009 Survey

Conference on World Affairs: everything under the sun and then some

Greening the Black and Gold

Preparing new graduates for an uncertain job market

Student Perspective: Senior class gives back

People Behind the Scenes

From the Chancellor

Spring Semester Campus Update

News Center

CU Heritage Center to Host Smithsonian Photography Exhibit on China

New Satellite Data Shows Arctic Literally on Thin Ice

CU Engineering Students Build, Test High-Mileage Concept Car

Vodcast: Nobel Laureate Tom Cech to Return to University of Colorado in April

More News >>

Newsletter Archives

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map