University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, February 10, 2009 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


Chancellor's Committee on Women award nominations

Nomination materials for the 2009 Chancellor’s Committee on Women (CCW) awards must be submitted by Friday, Feb. 13. The awards will recognize people or units that have made significant contributions to improving the campus climate for women or that show a clear commitment to supporting women and women’s issues. Visit the CCW awards webpage for more information, including selection criteria and a list of past recipients.

Nominations sought for Alumni Association Awards

Submit your nominations to honor Boulder faculty, staff and alumni with the 79th Annual CU Alumni Association Awards. Nominations are due by 5 p.m. Feb. 13. These are some of the university's most prestigious awards and include the Robert L. Stearns Award, George Norlin Award, Alumni Recognition Award and Kalpana Chawla Outstanding Recent Alumni Award. Visit for guidelines on submitting a nomination packet and for nomination forms. Email Clark Oldroyd with questions.

BFA Faculty Excellence award nominations

Nomination materials for the 2009 Boulder Faculty Assembly Awards for Excellence must be submitted by Monday, Feb. 16. The BFA is pleased to announce that up to 12 awards in the amount of $3,000 each for faculty excellence will be granted. For award details and nomination instructions, visit the awards webpage. For more information, email Maureen Ryan or call 303-492-6271.

Hazel Barnes Prize – call for nominations

The Hazel Barnes Prize is one of the most prestigious awards at CU-Boulder and focuses on the enriching relationship that occurs between teaching and research. The award includes $20,000 and an engraved university medal. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 23. For guidelines on preparing a nomination packet, please visit the awards guidelines website.

2009 Chancellor's Employee of the Year Award

Please nominate deserving staff for the 2009 Chancellor's Employee of the Year Award. The deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday, March 6. To nominate a staff member, simply forward a letter of nomination and a minimum of two letters supporting the nomination to: Chancellor's Office, 17 UCB. For more details call Alice Clark at 492-8908.

Professor Vijay Gupta awarded American Geophysical Union medal

Professor Vijay Gupta received the 2008 Robert E. Horton Medal of the American Geophysical Union in recognition of his innovative and influential research in hydrology. Gupta, a professor of civil engineering and a fellow of the university's CIRES program, was honored for understanding and modeling hydrologic processes from the molecular to the planetary scale. The Horton Medal is the highest international award for outstanding contributions to the geophysical aspects of hydrology presented by the AGU.

Jose Jimenez receives Kenneth T. Whitby Award

Associate Professor Jose Jimenez of the Department of Chemistry and the CIRES program has received the 2008 Kenneth T. Whitby Award from the American Association for Aerosol Research. The award recognizes outstanding technical contributions in aerosol science and technology by a young scientist. Jimenez developed a new method for quantifying the contributions of primary and secondary sources to atmospheric organic aerosol composition.

Steven Bethard recognized with OIE award

Steven Bethard, who earned his doctorate in computer science and cognitive science from CU-Boulder in 2007, recently received the Office of International Education’s prestigious Daniel Henkel Service Award. Bethard earned the award, which honors candidates who rise to an extraordinary level of merit, for demonstrating excellent service and leadership to the campus’ international community. Bethard actively served as CU International's leader for nearly two years.

CU Book Store contributes to retail organization’s achievement

The National Consortium for Continuous Improvement in Higher Education recently honored the Retail Alliance, an organization of which the CU Book Store is a founding member. The Retail Alliance, which aims to share and deploy the best business practices in collegiate retailing, won a 2009 Leveraging Excellence Award. The achievement recognizes the contributions of store employees who have implemented and helped enhance the retail organization’s store management software.

University Communications earns CASE awards

Staff in University Communications recently received four awards from the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). CASE District VI gave a silver award in Excellence News or Feature Photography for “Koelbel Building at Sunset," and bronze awards for the following entries: “Redesign for Photo Database” (Excellence in Multimedia Web Sub-site or Special Section); “Climate/Energy Brochure” (Excellence in Graphic Design); and “Research News Program” (Excellence in Institutional Relations, Media Placements on a Single Topic). Award-winning staff members include Casey A. Cass, Kevin Crafts, Bryan Shelton, Michael Campbell, Jon Leslie, Kim Warner, and Jim Scott.


Diversity Summit provides foundation for inclusive community

Graduate students speak out: a personal perspective

Cheyenne Arapaho Residence Hall renaming marks 20 years

Dennis Small Cultural Center unites through activities, celebration

Student Perspective: social justice is a skill

People Behind the Scenes

From the Chancellor

Seize the possibilities at our diversity summit

News Center

Peterson Named Finalist for Presidency of Georgia Institute of Technology

CU Black Heritage Month Events Focus on History, Future of African-Americans in the United States

Three-Time Pulitzer Prize-winning NYT Columnist Thomas Friedman to Speak at CU-Boulder Feb. 16

Podcast: CU-Boulder Rises to No. 2 on Peace Corps' Annual Top Colleges List

More News >>

Newsletter Archives

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map