University of Colorado at Boulder CU: Home
Inside CU    Also inside this issue: (navigation) In the Spotlight
 Tuesday, May 13, 2008 IssueFaculty/Staff E-Newsletter


Graduates of 2007-2008 University Perspective program honored
Eighteen staff members graduated from the 2007-2008 University Perspective Program May 8: Steve Bailey, ITS; Justin Crawford, University Information Systems; Jennifer Davis, University Libraries; Lulu Davis, ATLAS Administration; Robert Drybread, Office of Financial Aid; Jennifer Green, Intercollegiate Athletics; Brian Groves, CU Book Store; Michelle Jackson, International English Center; Casey Jones, Public Safety; Jose Martinez, Leeds School of Business; Roberta Martinez, Public Safety; Elizabeth McVeigh, Admissions; John Morris, Facilities Management; Stephanie Morris, Computer Science; Jason Shelton, Office of Labor Relations; Greg Stauffer, ITS; Demetria Ross, Accounting & Business Support; and Deborah Viles, Office of Undergraduate Education. The program is a nine-month leadership development opportunity for CU-Boulder staff members to become better acquainted with the inner workings of the campus, as well as with UCCS, UC Denver and UCD/CHSC.

Employee of the Year award winners
Chancellor G.P. "Bud" Peterson presented six awards to outstanding employees at a reception held in their honor, Thursday, April 24. Corlin Ambler of environmental studies, Paula Bland of Housing and Dining Services, Melinda Canino of the Ombuds Office, Susan Hutton of Information Technology Services, Francisco "Tito" Salas of Fiske Planetarium and Dawna "Bunny" Swenson of CU Recreation Services each received an engraved slate plaque and a $1,500 award.

2007-2008 BFA Excellence Awards
The Boulder Faculty Assembly congratulates recipients of the 2007-2008 BFA Excellence Awards for:

Larry Carlson, mechanical engineering
Diane Conlin, classics and art history
Paul Gordon, comparative literature
Nii Armah Sowah, theatre and dance

Alan Greenberg, mechanical engineering
Martha Hanna, history
Alphonse Keasley, Minority Arts and Sciences Program
Michael Radelet, sociology

Research, Scholarly and Creative Work:
John Bally, astrophysical and planetary sciences
Victor Bright, mechanical engineering
Dan Schwartz, chemical and biological engineering
Phillip Solomon, film studies

2008 President's Diversity Awards recipients
CU President Bruce Benson held a reception in honor of the University of Colorado President's Diversity awardees on May 5. This year in addition to the President's Diversity Award a President's Diversity Commendation was given to individuals and units whose contributions to diversity are significant and worthy of recognition. CU-Boulder recipients of the President's Diversity Commendation are Jane Elvins, faculty in communications; Mark Hernandez, faculty in the Department of Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering; Francisco Salas, Fiske Planetarium and Science Center; the Center for Asian Studies; and the CU Hispanic Alumni Association. Duke Austin, a graduate student of sociology and Frederick Peterbark, a graduate student in the College of Music won Student President's Diversity Awards. The University of Colorado President's Diversity Awards are an annual recognition of faculty, staff, students and units for excellence in the area of diversity.

CU GOLD Spring 2008 Leadership awards
Members of the CU-Boulder community were recognized for their leadership May 1 at a reception hosted by CU GOLD. Award recipients include Rising Star: Rachel Strobel, Outstanding Student Voice: Peter Vielehr, Lasting Legacy: Amy Harris, Outstanding Student Organization: Student Emergency Medical Services, Supportive Staff Member: Abby Redwine, CU Foundation. The Honor Code Integrity Award went to student Ben Ryan and to Ron Stump, vice chancellor of Student Affairs. The International Festival 2007 won CEB's Best Cultural Event, and Barbara Kulton of the Women's Resource Center received the Dennis Small Cultural Center Ripple Award.

Integrative Physiology faculty receive grants
The National Institutes of Health awarded Associate Professor and Senior Research Associate Chris Link with a $319,868 grant for his studies. He will collaborate with colleagues Gretchen Stein and Jordi Magrane to examine amyloidal disease processes using C. elegans worms.

Associate Professor Pei Tsai received two grants for her research on reproductive endocrinology: the National Science Foundation awarded $300,000 for a three-year project and the Endocrine Society gave $50,000 for a one-year project, each involving a gonadotropin-releasing hormone.

For more information, visit the Department of Integrative Physiology website.

Cordell, Hynes elected as fellows of the Academy of Arts & Sciences
The American Academy of Arts & Sciences elected two CU-Boulder faculty members as fellows of the academy. Linda Cordell, professor emeritus of anthropology and James Hynes, professor of chemistry and biochemistry will be formally welcomed at an induction ceremony in Cambridge, Massachusetts, Oct. 11, 2008. The 2008 class includes 190 new fellows and 22 new foreign honorary members. The 212 scholars, scientists, artists, civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders represent 20 states and 15 countries.

Department celebrates five decades of political science at CU-Boulder

Buffs set to host Big 12 Track & Field Championship

Passages: In Memoriam 2007-08

People Behind the Scenes

From the Chancellor

Letter to the Campus Community

News Center
Chile's Erupting Chaiten Volcano One Of Scores Of Active Volcanoes In Region, Says CU-Boulder Prof

CU-Boulder Wins $1.5 Million Contract To Aid In Cooling Of Electronic Devices

CU Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman Elected To Prestigious National Academy Of Education

Podcast: Scientists Call for More Regional CO2 monitoring observatories

More News>>

Featured Newsletter

Awards and Kudos

Did You Know

Photo Gallery

University of Colorado at Boulder Wordmark

CU Home CU Search CU A to Z CU Map